Top Ten Tuesday 9/10/19

 

TTT-NEW

 

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.   You can find each week’s topic on her site.

 

This week’s theme is 10 books I’ve been avoiding (and why).  I’m not going to post covers, so sorry this will be a bit plain.

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday 9/10/19”

Blog Tour for Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron (review and quotes)

 

tour banner (22)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron.  This tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.  I’ll be sharing my review, favorite quotes, info about the book, author, and characters, and there will be a giveaway.

 

You can see all the tour dates here on the Tour Schedule.

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron (review and quotes)”

August 2019 Yearly Challenge Update

 

I’m doing surprisingly well with all these challenges.  If you saw my early posts, you’ll know that I hardly ever signed up for yearly challenges.   It overwhelms me and I always forget to go back and update on each one.  But I wanted to push myself a bit this year and signed up for a few.

 

yarc-2019-header-brown

In August, I read 1 book by an Asian author.  My total is 12/11.  So I’ve met this goal already and hope to get some more read before the end of the year.

Continue reading “August 2019 Yearly Challenge Update”

Blog Tour for Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan (review and quotes)

 

TigerQueen-TourBanner

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan.  This tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.

 

TigerQueen-Cover

Tiger Queen

by Annie Sullivan

Publisher: BLINK

Release date: September 10, 2019

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling, Romance

 

From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan (review and quotes)”

August 2019 Book Haul

 

My August haul is pretty big.  Yes, I know.  When isn’t my haul big?  I’m really scared because I feel like September’s will be worse.  At least for purchased books.

 

Physical

 

From Publishers/Etc

Continue reading “August 2019 Book Haul”

Friday Face Off 9/6/19

 

I saw this on Lynn’s Book Blog and thought it would be fun to do.  I may not do every week, but I’m going to try to do as many as I can.

 

The Friday Face Off meme was created by Books by Proxy .  This is a great opportunity to feature some of your favorite book covers.  The rules are fairly simple each week, following a predetermined theme, choose a book, compare a couple of the different covers available for that particular book and choose your favorite.

Continue reading “Friday Face Off 9/6/19”