Top Ten Tuesday 4/20/21

 

TTT-NEW

 

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.   You can find each week’s topic on her site.

This week’s topic is colorful covers.

 

I’m going to do my top ten with books that are on my TBR.  These books are in no particular order.

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday 4/20/21”

Anticipated May 2021 Young Adult Book Releases

 

May looks like another month of great book releases.  This won’t be all the releases for May, but ones I’m excited for or ones that I think others are excited for.

$purchased

*read

%arc to read

Continue reading “Anticipated May 2021 Young Adult Book Releases”

Friday Face Off 4/16/21

 

I saw this on Lynn’s Book Blog and thought it would be fun to do.  I may not do every week, but I’m going to try to do as many as I can.

 

The Friday Face Off meme was created by Books by Proxy .  This is a great opportunity to feature some of your favorite book covers.  The rules are fairly simple each week, following a predetermined theme, choose a book, compare a couple of the different covers available for that particular book and choose your favorite.

 

This week’s topic is I have to have it.

Continue reading “Friday Face Off 4/16/21”

Blog Tour for These Feathered Flames by Alexandra Overy (excerpt)

 

600-03-HTP-Winter-Reads-Blog-Tour---YA-&-Inkyard-Press-2021---640x247 (1)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for These Feathered Flames by Alexandra Overy.  This tour is being hosted by Inkyard Press.

 

THESE FEATHERED FLAMES

By Alexandra Overy

On Sale: April 20, 2021

INKYARD PRESS

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Fantasy/ Epic/Fairy Tales & Folklore/ Adaptations/Family/Siblings/Romance/LGBTQ+

9781335147967; 1335147969

$19.99 USD

496 pages

Continue reading “Blog Tour for These Feathered Flames by Alexandra Overy (excerpt)”

Review of Better Than the Movies by Lynn Painter (physical arc)

 

55712719._SY475_

Better Than The Movies by Lynn Painter

In this rom-com about rom-coms, in the spirit of Kasie West and Jenn Bennett, a hopeless romantic teen attempts to secure a happily-ever-after moment with her forever crush, but finds herself reluctantly drawn to the boy next door.

Perpetual daydreamer Liz Buxbaum gave her heart to Michael a long time ago. But her cool, aloof forever crush never really saw her before he moved away. Now that he’s back in town, Liz will do whatever it takes to get on his radar—and maybe snag him as a prom date—even befriend Wes Bennet.

The annoyingly attractive next-door neighbor might seem like a prime candidate for romantic comedy fantasies, but Wes has only been a pain in Liz’s butt since they were kids. Pranks involving frogs and decapitated lawn gnomes do not a potential boyfriend make. Yet, somehow, Wes and Michael are hitting it off, which means Wes is Liz’s in.

But as Liz and Wes scheme to get Liz noticed by Michael so she can have her magical prom moment, she’s shocked to discover that she likes being around Wes. And as they continue to grow closer, she must reexamine everything she thought she knew about love—and rethink her own ideas of what Happily Ever After should look like.

Expected publication: May 4th 2021 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Continue reading “Review of Better Than the Movies by Lynn Painter (physical arc)”

Blog Tour for Pride and Premeditation by Tirzah Price (review and giveaway)

 

Pride and Pemeditation tour banner

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Pride and Premeditation by Tirzah Price.  This tour is being hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours.

 

Pride and Premeditation (Jane Austen Murder Mystery #1) by Tirzah Price

Genre: Young Adult Historical Fiction Mystery

Publishing Date: April 6, 2021

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Pride and Premeditation by Tirzah Price (review and giveaway)”

Review of Havoc by Mary Lindsey (earc)

 

37638246._SY475_

Havoc by Mary Lindsey

For the first time in his life, Rain Ryland belongs. He’s found a home with the wolf shifters of New Wurzburg and is no-holds-barred in love with Friederike Burkhart, their soon-to-be alpha. But the ascension to power is never easy for a new alpha, and challengers will come from an unlikely source—and bring into jeopardy not just Freddie’s position as alpha but her blooming relationship with Rain. Rain has never shied away from a challenge—or a fight. And he’s ready to fight like hell for the woman he loves. But then a vision shows him that the biggest challenge of all to Freddie isn’t to her alpha status but against her life…and he’s the one who delivers the killing blow.

 

 

Continue reading “Review of Havoc by Mary Lindsey (earc)”

Review of Our Last Echoes by Kate Alice Marshall (hardcover)

 

54313045

 

Our Last Echoes by Kate Alice Marshall

 

Kara Thomas meets Twin Peaks in this supernatural thriller about one girl’s hunt for the truth about her mother’s disappearance.

Sophia’s first memory is of drowning. She remembers the darkness of the water and the briny taste as it fills her throat. She remembers the cold shock of going under. She remembers her mother pulling her to safety before disappearing forever. But Sophia has never been in the ocean. And her mother died years ago in a hospital. Or so she has been told her whole life.

A series of clues have led Sophia to the island of Bitter Rock, Alaska, where she talked her way into a summer internship at the Landon Avian Research Center, the same center her mother worked at right before she died. There, she meets the disarmingly clever Liam, whose own mother runs the LARC, as well as Abby, who’s following a mystery of her own: a series of unexplained disappearances. People have been vanishing from Bitter Rock for decades, leaving only their ghostly echoes behind. When it looks like their two mysteries might be one and the same, Sophia vows to dig up the truth, no matter how many lies she has to tell along the way. Even if it leads her to a truth she may not want to face.

Our Last Echoes is an eerie collection of found documents and written confessionals, in the style of Rules for Vanishing, with supernatural twists that keep you questioning what is true and what is an illusion.

Continue reading “Review of Our Last Echoes by Kate Alice Marshall (hardcover)”

Review of As the Shadow Rises by Katy Rose Pool (ebook)

 

43473596._SY475_

As the Shadow Rises by Katy Rose Pool

Six of Crows meets Graceling with a dash of Winter is Coming in this second installment of the action-packed and swoon-worthy Age of Darkness series!

The Last Prophet has been found, yet he sees destruction ahead.

In this sequel to the critically-acclaimed There Will Come a Darkness, kingdoms have begun to fall to a doomsday cult, the magical Graced are being persecuted, and an ancient power threatens to break free. But with the world hurtling toward its prophesized end, Anton’s haunting vision reveals the dangerous beginnings of a plan to stop the Age of Darkness.

As Jude, Keeper of the Order of the Last Light, returns home in disgrace, his quest to aid the Prophet is complicated by his growing feelings for Anton. Meanwhile, the assassin known as the Pale Hand will stop at nothing to find her undead sister before she dies for good, even if it means letting the world burn. And in Nazirah, Hassan, the kingdom-less Prince, forms a risky pact to try to regain his throne. When the forces of light and darkness collide in the City of Mercy, old wounds are reopened, new alliances are tested, and the end of the world begins.

The Age of Darkness trilogy, which the Amazon Book Review called “the next big fantasy series,” is perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Children of Blood and Bone, and An Ember in the Ashes.

Continue reading “Review of As the Shadow Rises by Katy Rose Pool (ebook)”