Review of The Hawthorne Legacy by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (ebook)

 

The Hawthorne Legacy by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Intrigue, riches, and romance abound in this thrilling sequel to the New York Times bestselling The Inheritance Games perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

The Inheritance Games ended with a bombshell, and now heiress Avery Grambs has to pick up the pieces and find the man who might hold the answers to all of her questions – including why Tobias Hawthorne left his entire fortune to Avery, a virtual stranger, rather than to his own daughters or grandsons.

Thanks to a DNA test, Avery knows that she’s not a Hawthorne by blood, but clues pile up hinting at a deeper connection to the family than she had ever imagined. As the mystery grows and the plot thickens, Grayson and Jameson, the enigmatic and magnetic Hawthorne grandsons, continue to pull Avery in different directions. And there are threats lurking around every corner, as adversaries emerge who will stop at nothing to see Avery out of the picture – by any means necessary.

With nonstop action, aspirational jet-setting, family intrigue, swoonworthy romance, and billions of dollars hanging in the balance, The Hawthorne Legacy will thrill Jennifer Lynn Barnes fans and new readers alike.

Continue reading “Review of The Hawthorne Legacy by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (ebook)”

5 Star Predictions for the 1st Quarter of 2022 (January, February, March)

At the time of writing this, I haven’t read these books, but I might have read some before the post goes up.   These are books I’m hoping to read that I think might be 5 star reads.  They are not in any order.

Continue reading “5 Star Predictions for the 1st Quarter of 2022 (January, February, March)”

Review of The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (ebook)

 

The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

A Cinderella story with deadly stakes and thrilling twists.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why–or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man’s touch–and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes.

Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a con-woman, and he’s determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather’s last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.

Continue reading “Review of The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (ebook)”

Review of One For All by Lillie Lainoff (earc)

 

One For All by Lillie Lainoff

An OwnVoices, gender-bent retelling of The Three Musketeers, in which a girl with a chronic illness trains as a Musketeer and uncovers secrets, sisterhood, and self-love.

Tania de Batz is most herself with a sword in her hand. Everyone in town thinks her near-constant dizziness makes her weak, nothing but “a sick girl”; even her mother is desperate to marry her off for security. But Tania wants to be strong, independent, a fencer like her father—a former Musketeer and her greatest champion.

Then Papa is brutally, mysteriously murdered. His dying wish? For Tania to attend finishing school. But L’Académie des Mariées, Tania realizes, is no finishing school. It’s a secret training ground for a new kind of Musketeer: women who are socialites on the surface, but strap daggers under their skirts, seduce men into giving up dangerous secrets, and protect France from downfall. And they don’t shy away from a swordfight.

With her newfound sisters at her side, Tania feels for the first time like she has a purpose, like she belongs. But then she meets Étienne, her first target in uncovering a potential assassination plot. He’s kind, charming, and breathlessly attractive—and he might have information about what really happened to her father. Torn between duty and dizzying emotion, Tania will have to lean on her friends, listen to her own body, and decide where her loyalties lie…or risk losing everything she’s ever wanted.

This debut novel is a fierce, whirlwind adventure about the depth of found family, the strength that goes beyond the body, and the determination it takes to fight for what you love.

Continue reading “Review of One For All by Lillie Lainoff (earc)”

Books I Meant To Read In 2021

 

To be honest, there are a ton of books I wanted to read last year that I didn’t get to.  But I thought I would post ten of those here.  Some were highly anticipated, too.  There’s just not enough time in the day.

Continue reading “Books I Meant To Read In 2021”

Goodreads Monday 1/10/22

 

draft-title-page.png

 

Goodreads Monday was hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.   It’s now hosted by Budget Tales Book Blog.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.  It will happen.  Probably a lot.

Continue reading “Goodreads Monday 1/10/22”

Blog Tour for The Kindred by Alechia Dow (excerpt)

 

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Kindred by Alechia Dow.  This tour is being hosted by Inkyard Press.

 

THE KINDRED by Alechia Dow

On sale: January 4, 2022

ISBN: 978-1335418616

Inkyard Press

Teen & Young Adult; Sci-Fi; Dystopian Romance

$18.99 / $23.99 CAN

400 Pages

Continue reading “Blog Tour for The Kindred by Alechia Dow (excerpt)”

December 2021 Book Haul

 

I’m going to blame Barnes & Noble for my big haul this month.  I couldn’t resist their half price hardcover book sale at the end of the month.   I also got quite a few good kindle deals in December.

Continue reading “December 2021 Book Haul”

Favorite Books I Read in 2021

 

Every year, TBR and Beyond mods pick our favorite books of the year.  But we have to have the graphic made by the end of November.  This December, I read 4 books that might have made my list.  So I’m going to add those below my graphic.

Only the first few are in order.  After that, it’s actually random.  I struggle to put numbers on books for some reason.

Continue reading “Favorite Books I Read in 2021”

Most Anticipated 2022 YA Book Releases

 

Every year, the mods and admin for TBR and Beyond pick our most anticipated books to share.  My list will likely change as more books are announced, but this is my current list of books that have covers.

 

I didn’t include any books that I’ve already read an ARC of.  There have been a lot of good ones though.

Continue reading “Most Anticipated 2022 YA Book Releases”