Blog Tour for Killer Content by Kiley Roache (earc review)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Killer Content by Kiley Roache.  This tour is being hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours.

 

Killer Content by Kiley Roache

Genre: Young Adult Mystery Thriller

Publishing Date: November 20, 2021

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Killer Content by Kiley Roache (earc review)”

Review of The Monarchs by Kass Morgan and Danielle Paige (earc)

 

The Monarchs by Kass Morgan and Danielle Paige

In this thrilling conclusion to New York Times best-selling authors Kass Morgan and Danielle Paige’s The Ravens, the sorority witches are tested when a rival threatens to usurp their place on campus and the forces of hell come knocking on their door.

The sorority girls at Kappa Rho Nu—the Ravens—are determined to restore balance to the world. After destroying an ancient talisman and barely saving their sorority in the process, they’ll go to any lengths to keep their secret as Westerly’s most powerful coven of witches.

Scarlett Winter, a legacy Raven, has finally gotten what she’s always wanted: the Kappa Rho Nu presidency. After the disaster that killed the sorority’s last president, Scarlett is determined that no sister will fall under the sway of wicked magic ever again. But the powers of the presidency have their own pitfalls—and Scarlett has big shoes to fill.

Vivi Devereaux, a freshman, finally knows what it feels like to belong. For the first time ever, she’s got it all: her Kappa Rho Nu sisters and a sweet (and hot) boyfriend. When Scarlett assigns Vivi the coveted role of social chair, Vivi is determined to live up to her Big’s expectations—even if that means dabbling in a new form of magic.

Unbeknownst to the Ravens, new rivals and ancient evils lurk on Westerly’s campus. With Kappa Rho Nu’s future on their shoulders and their pasts still haunting them, will Scarlett and Vivi be able to save their sisterhood once again?

Continue reading “Review of The Monarchs by Kass Morgan and Danielle Paige (earc)”

Goodreads Monday 11/29/21

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.  It will happen.  Probably a lot.

Continue reading “Goodreads Monday 11/29/21”

Review of Come Out and Play by Amber Lynn Natusch (earc)

 

Come Out and Play by Amber Lyann Natusch

GAMES AREN’T FOR KIDS—THEY’RE FOR KILLERS.

For Kylene Danners, there’s only one fate worse than death: entering a beauty pageant. So when her friends (and a shot at a twenty-thousand dollar college scholarship) push her into one, she assumes she’s found hell on earth—until girls start dropping out under suspicious circumstances, and Ky finds herself smack dab in the middle of another dangerous mystery—a twisted web of duplicity and deceit far more deadly than she expected.

COME OUT AND PLAY, the third young adult mystery novel in the Hometown Antihero series by Amber Lynn Natusch.

Continue reading “Review of Come Out and Play by Amber Lynn Natusch (earc)”

Review of Vespertine by Margaret Rogerson (hardcover)

 

Vespertine by Margaret Rogerson

The dead of Loraille do not rest.

Artemisia is training to be a Gray Sister, a nun who cleanses the bodies of the deceased so that their souls can pass on; otherwise, they will rise as spirits with a ravenous hunger for the living. She would rather deal with the dead than the living, who trade whispers about her scarred hands and troubled past.

When her convent is attacked by possessed soldiers, Artemisia defends it by awakening an ancient spirit bound to a saint’s relic. It is a revenant, a malevolent being that threatens to possess her the moment she drops her guard. Wielding its extraordinary power almost consumes her—but death has come to Loraille, and only a vespertine, a priestess trained to wield a high relic, has any chance of stopping it. With all knowledge of vespertines lost to time, Artemisia turns to the last remaining expert for help: the revenant itself.

As she unravels a sinister mystery of saints, secrets, and dark magic, her bond with the revenant grows. And when a hidden evil begins to surface, she discovers that facing this enemy might require her to betray everything she has been taught to believe—if the revenant doesn’t betray her first.

Continue reading “Review of Vespertine by Margaret Rogerson (hardcover)”

Review of Heart of the Impaler by Alexander Delacroix (earc)

 

Heart of the Impaler by Alexander Delacroix

In this dark, historical YA debut, two young men—one scarred and dutiful, the other wickedly magnetic—fall for the same young woman. But is it safe for her to love either of them back?

Ilona Csáki has no desire to marry the voivode’s eldest son, but love and marriage are the least of her worries.

The royal family’s enemies have already tried to put an arrow through her back—and if anyone discovers her blossoming feelings for her betrothed’s cousin Andrei, and younger brother, Vlad, she may just wish they’d succeeded.

Beneath the shadow of impending war, the only battle that will be deadlier than the one for Ilona’s life will be the one for her heart.

Alexander Delacroix’s darkly romantic debut is perfect for fans of Kiersten White’s And I Darken and Emily A. Duncan’s Wicked Saints.

Expected publication: December 7th 2021 by Swoon Reads

Continue reading “Review of Heart of the Impaler by Alexander Delacroix (earc)”

Anticipated December 2021 Young Adult Books

 

There aren’t too many books coming out in December.  I tried to find the ones I think most readers are looking forward to.

$purchased

* read

%arc to read

Continue reading “Anticipated December 2021 Young Adult Books”

Blog Tour for Our Violent Ends by Chloe Gong (review and giveaway)

 

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Our Violent Ends by Chloe Gong.  This tour is being hosted by Turn the Page Tours.

 

TITLE: Our Violent Ends (These Violent Delights, #2)

AUTHOR: Chloe Gong
PUBLISHER: Margaret K. McElderry Books
RELEASE DATE: November 16th, 2021

GENRES: YOUNG ADULT FICTION—Historical, Fantasy, Romance
BUY LINK: https://bookshop.org/a/11727/9781534457720

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Our Violent Ends by Chloe Gong (review and giveaway)”

Rise Up!: How You Can Join the Fight Against White Supremacy by Crystal M. Fleming (promo post)

 

Rise Up! by Crystal M. Fleming

Where did racism come from? Why hasn’t it disappeared? And what can young people do about it?

Through vivid narratives and contemporary examples ripped from the headlines, Rise Up! provides young readers with a first-of-its-kind resource for understanding racial injustice and its continued impact on the US today, addressing questions like: Why are white supremacists still openly marching in America? And why are undocumented children of color separated from their families and housed in cages?

Sociologist and critically-acclaimed author Crystal Fleming delivers an in-depth overview of the roots and legacies of racism in the US and offers young people ways in which they can help foster a more just society. With her honest, direct tone, Crystal imparts the knowledge and values that unite all antiracists who wish to join the struggle for equality in the hopes of building a more inclusive world: empathy, respect, and tolerance.

Continue reading “Rise Up!: How You Can Join the Fight Against White Supremacy by Crystal M. Fleming (promo post)”

October 2021 Book Haul

 

I bought a lot of books in October.  Most were preorders, but I also bought some during a Target sale and in person at Barnes & Noble.  There were definitely more than I planned on.

 

Physical:

 

From Publishers:

Continue reading “October 2021 Book Haul”