Review of The Archer At Dawn by Swati Teerdhala (physical arc)

 

This is a book two.

 

40304179._SY475_

The Archer At Dawn by Swati Teerdhala

The Sun Mela is many things: a call for peace, a cause for celebration, and, above all, a deadly competition. For Kunal and Esha, finally working together as rebel spies, it provides the perfect guise to infiltrate King Vardaan’s vicious court.

Kunal will return to his role as dedicated Senap soldier, at the Sun Mela to provide extra security for the palace during the peace summit for the divided nations of Jansa and Dharka. Meanwhile, Esha will use her new role as adviser to Prince Harun to keep a pulse on shifting political parties and seek out allies for their rebel cause. A radical plan is underfoot to rescue Jansa’s long-lost Princess Reha—the key to the stolen throne.

But amid the Mela games and glittering festivities, much more dangerous forces lie in wait. With the rebel Blades’ entry into Vardaan’s court, a match has been lit, and long-held secrets will force Kunal and Esha to reconsider their loyalties—to their country and to each other. Getting into the palace was the easy task; coming out together will be a battle for their lives.

Expected publication: May 26th 2020 by Katherine Tegen Books

Continue reading “Review of The Archer At Dawn by Swati Teerdhala (physical arc)”

Unboxing of The Claires by CL Gaber plus quiz and promo

 

Wunderkind PR was nice enough to send me a special box to share with you all today.  I’ll start with the unboxing and then there will be a lot of information below that.

 

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

Continue reading “Unboxing of The Claires by CL Gaber plus quiz and promo”

December 2019 Book Haul

 

I was really good with my buying in December (had to prepare for January).  I purchased one hardcover that was a pre-order and one ebook from a kindle sale.  Everything else came from publishers.  I was so very lucky in December and I’m so grateful for everything sent.

 

Purchased (one physical, one ebook):

 

Continue reading “December 2019 Book Haul”

Review of The Sky Weaver by Kristen Ciccarelli (hardcover)

 

35843942._SX318_

 

The Sky Weaver by Kristen Ciccarelli

At the end of one world, there always lies another.

Safire, a soldier, knows her role in this world is to serve the King of Firgaard—helping to maintain the peace in her oft-troubled nation.

Eris, a deadly pirate, has no such conviction. Known as the Death Dancer for her ability to evade even the most determined of pursuers, she possesses a superhuman power to move between worlds.

When one can roam from dimension to dimension, can one ever be home? Can love and loyalty truly exist?

Now Safire and Eris—sworn enemies—find themselves on a common mission: to find Asha, the last Namsara. From the port city of Darmoor to the fabled faraway Star Isles, their search and their stories become woven ever more tightly together as they discover the uncertain fate they’re hurtling towards may just be a shared one. In this world—and the next.

Continue reading “Review of The Sky Weaver by Kristen Ciccarelli (hardcover)”

Ogre Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine (promo with giveaway)

 

Today I’m excited to share a bit about Ogre Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine.  Wunderkind PR was kind enough to offer a giveaway for one reader, too. 🙂

 

31428970

Ogre Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on its own, young healer Evie is transformed into an ogre by the meddling fairy Lucinda. She’ll turn back only if someone proposes and she accepts!

Returning to the land and many of the characters from her beloved Newbery Honor–winning Ella Enchanted, Gail Carson Levine has written a delightful tale about a clever and endearing heroine who is determined to defy expectations.

Evie is happiest when she is healing people, diagnosing symptoms, and prescribing medications, with the help of her devoted friend (and test subject) Wormy. So when Wormy unexpectedly proposes to her, she kindly turns him down; she has far too much to do to be marrying anyone. And besides, she simply isn’t in love with him.

But a certain meddling fairy named Lucinda has been listening in, and she doesn’t approve of Evie’s rejection. Suddenly, Evie finds herself transformed from a girl into a hideous, hungry ogre. Evie now has only sixty-two days to accept another proposal—or else be stuck as an ogre forever.

Continue reading “Ogre Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine (promo with giveaway)”

Thank you Macmillan/Fierce Reads, Entangled Teen, Harper Teen, Bloomsbury, Wunderkind, Disney, Simon & Schuster, Inkyard Press, and Beyond Words!

 

I’ve been super lucky again and I’ve received quite a few books from publishers lately.  Some arcs and some finished.  I am so very thankful for everything sent to me.

 

Macmillan/Fierce Reads:

 

DSC_0002

DSC_0024

Continue reading “Thank you Macmillan/Fierce Reads, Entangled Teen, Harper Teen, Bloomsbury, Wunderkind, Disney, Simon & Schuster, Inkyard Press, and Beyond Words!”

Review of The Other, Better Me by Antony John (physical HC)

 

43453706._SY475_.jpg

 

The Other, Better Me by Antony John

From the critically acclaimed author of Mascot comes this heartfelt novel, perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Cammie McGovern, about a girl searching for the meaning of family.

Lola and Momma have always been a team of two. It hasn’t always been easy for Lola, being one of the only kids she knows with just one parent around. And lately she’s been feeling incomplete, like there’s a part of herself that she can’t know until she knows her dad.

But what will happen—to Lola, to Momma, to their team of two—if she finds him?

Continue reading “Review of The Other, Better Me by Antony John (physical HC)”