Goodreads Monday 8/19/19

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.

This is a book two, so there are spoilers for book one in the synopsis. 

 

38880852

 

Soul of Stars by Ashley Poston

 

The highly awaited sequel to Heart of Iron, Soul of Stars is a thrilling sci-fi adventure packed with romance, shocking twists, and witty banter, perfect for fans of Six of Crows and Cinder.

Once, Ana was an orphaned space outlaw. Then she was the Empress of the Iron Kingdom. Now, thought dead by most of the galaxy after she escaped from the dark AI program called the HIVE, Ana is desperate for a way to save Di from the HIVE’s evil clutches and take back her kingdom.

Ana’s only option is to find Starbright, the one person who has hacked into the HIVE and lived to tell the tale. But when Ana’s desperation costs the crew of the Dossier a terrible price, Ana and her friends are sent spiraling through the most perilous reaches of the Iron Kingdom to stop the true arbiter of evil in her world: an ancient world-ending deity called the Great Dark.

Their journey will take the sharp-witted pilot, Jax, to the home he never wanted to return to, and the dangerous fate he left behind. And when Robb finds out who Jax really is, he must contend with his own feelings for the boy he barely knows, and whether he truly belongs with this group of outcasts.

When facing the worst odds, can Ana and her crew of misfits find a way to stop the Great Dark once and for all?

 

Have you read Soul of Stars yet?  Did you enjoy Heart of Iron?

 

Signature

 

 

Down the TBR Hole #95

 

Down The TBR Hole is a meme created by lost in a story that revolves around cleansing your TBR of all those books you’re never going to read and sort through it all to know what’s actually on there.

Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when youre scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well thats going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 (or even more!) if youre feeling adventurous) books. Of course, if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go

 

I’m going to start doing these a little differently to save picture space/time.  I’ll still list all 15-20 books, but I’m only going to add a few pictures.  It will likely be the books I’m keeping unless there are none for the week.  Then I’ll add a few random ones so it’s not super boring.

Continue reading “Down the TBR Hole #95”

Can’t Wait Wednesday 8/14/19

 

 

cant-wait-wednesday

 

Can’t Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Wishful Endings and was previously hosted by Breaking the Spine.   It was created to show off a future release that you are excited for.

I apologize if there are any repeats.

Continue reading “Can’t Wait Wednesday 8/14/19”

Goodreads Monday 8/12/19

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.

 

33803157._SX318_.jpg

 

Don’t Call Me Crazy edited by Kelly Jensen

Who’s Crazy?

What does it mean to be crazy? Is using the word crazy offensive? What happens when such a label gets attached to your everyday experiences?

In order to understand mental health, we need to talk openly about it. Because there’s no single definition of crazy, there’s no single experience that embodies it, and the word itself means different things—wild? extreme? disturbed? passionate?—to different people.

(Don’t) Call Me Crazy is a conversation starter and guide to better understanding how our mental health affects us every day. Thirty-three writers, athletes, and artists offer essays, lists, comics, and illustrations that explore their personal experiences with mental illness, how we do and do not talk about mental health, help for better understanding how every person’s brain is wired differently, and what, exactly, might make someone crazy.

If you’ve ever struggled with your mental health, or know someone who has, come on in, turn the pages, and let’s get talking.

 

I really need to pick this one up soon.  I’ve had it for awhile and it sounds so good.  Have you read this yet?

 

Signature

 

 

 

Goodreads Monday 8/5/19

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.

 

After our recent TBR and Beyond chat with Margaret, I decided that I really need to read this one.  (Are you happy Melanie?  You win.) 

 

42201395

 

Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson

 

All sorcerers are evil. Elisabeth has known that as long as she has known anything. Raised as a foundling in one of Austermeer’s Great Libraries, Elisabeth has grown up among the tools of sorcery—magical grimoires that whisper on shelves and rattle beneath iron chains. If provoked, they transform into grotesque monsters of ink and leather. She hopes to become a warden, charged with protecting the kingdom from their power.

Then an act of sabotage releases the library’s most dangerous grimoire. Elisabeth’s desperate intervention implicates her in the crime, and she is torn from her home to face justice in the capital. With no one to turn to but her sworn enemy, the sorcerer Nathaniel Thorn, and his mysterious demonic servant, she finds herself entangled in a centuries-old conspiracy. Not only could the Great Libraries go up in flames, but the world along with them.

As her alliance with Nathaniel grows stronger, Elisabeth starts to question everything she’s been taught—about sorcerers, about the libraries she loves, even about herself. For Elisabeth has a power she has never guessed, and a future she could never have imagined.

 

Have you read Sorcery of Thorns?  How did it compare to An Enchantment of Ravens for you?  If you’ve read both, which book did you prefer?

 

Signature

 

 

 

July 2019 Wrap Up

 

I had quite a few things going on in July, so I’m kind of surprised I finished as many books as I did.  I definitely found some new favorites, too.

 

 

House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig  (earc)  4 stars

Some Places More Than Others by Renee Watson (physical arc)  5 stars

Mooncakes by Wendy Xu and Suzanne Walker (earc)  5 stars

Continue reading “July 2019 Wrap Up”

Top Ten Tuesday 7/30/19

 

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.   You can find each week’s topic on her site.

 

This week was a freebie and I didn’t plan anything out.  But I decided to try something at the last minute.  I won’t have details for the books because I didn’t schedule this ahead of time.

 

I’m going with Top Ten ARCs I still need to read.  These are ones I already have even though I’ll get more before the year is over.

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday 7/30/19”