October 2019 Book Haul (I was really, really bad this month.)

 

To be fair, I was pre-pared to buy a lot in October because I was going to a YA Lit Conference put on by Anderson’s Bookshop.  I buy a lot there to get signed after the event.  Plus, this was a big release month.

 

I’ll start with ebooks since there aren’t too many of those.

 

Edelweiss:

Continue reading “October 2019 Book Haul (I was really, really bad this month.)”

Wrap Up for TBR and Beyond’s October 2019 Challenge

 

I thought I would do horribly with this one.  But some graphic novels and a bit of “cheating” helped me finish.  The only one I sort of took liberties with was Song of the Crimson Flower.  It has royalty throughout the book.  But the pirates/smuggers were part of the background more.  They were still mentioned, so I counted it.

 

I was a bit too busy preparing for vacation to color this time.

 

Scan0054

Continue reading “Wrap Up for TBR and Beyond’s October 2019 Challenge”

October 2019 Wrap Up

 

As predicted, I read a bit less in October.  I barely read on vacation, but I’m hoping to read more in November.  I still did pretty well though.

 

 

The Caged Queen  5 stars

A Thousand Fires  4 stars

Triston Strong Punches A Hole In The Sky  4 stars

Continue reading “October 2019 Wrap Up”

Review of Tunnel of Bones by Victoria Schwab (hardcover)

 

 

39352771._SY475_

 

Tunnel of Bones by Victoria Schwab

Trouble is haunting Cassidy Blake . . . even more than usual.

She (plus her ghost best friend, Jacob, of course) are in Paris, where Cass’s parents are filming their TV show about the world’s most haunted cities. Sure, it’s fun eating croissants and seeing the Eiffel Tower, but there’s true ghostly danger lurking beneath Paris, in the creepy underground Catacombs.

When Cass accidentally awakens a frighteningly strong spirit, she must rely on her still-growing skills as a ghosthunter — and turn to friends both old and new to help her unravel a mystery. But time is running out, and the spirit is only growing stronger.

And if Cass fails, the force she’s unleashed could haunt the city forever.

Continue reading “Review of Tunnel of Bones by Victoria Schwab (hardcover)”

Goodreads Monday 10/28/19

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.  It will happen.

 

10893214._SX318_SY475_.jpg

The Cavendish Home For Boys And Girls by Claire Legrand

At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. An atmospheric, heartfelt, and delightfully spooky novel for fans of CoralineSplendors and Glooms, and The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her best friend Lawrence. He is a disaster, lazy and dreamy, shirt always untucked, obsessed with his silly piano. Victoria often wonders why she ever bothered being his friend. (Lawrence does, too.)

But then Lawrence goes missing. And he is not the only one. Victoria soon discovers that The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is not what it appears to be. Kids go in but come out different. Or they don’t come out at all.

If anyone can sort this out, it’s Victoria, even if it means getting a little messy.

 

I was lucky to meet Claire recently and she was wonderful.  I thought it only fitting to pick one of her books for this week’s book.  Have you read this one yet?

 

Signature

 

 

Blog Tour for Triston Strong Punches A Hole In The Sky by Kwame Mbalia (review and giveaway)

 

TRISTAN STRONG

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Triston Strong Punches A Hole In The Sky by Kwame Mbalia.  This tour is being hosted by Rock Star Book Tours.  I’ll be sharing my review and there will be a giveaway.

 

Title: TRISTAN STRONG PUNCHES A HOLE IN THE SKY

Author: Kwame Mbalia

Pub. Date: October 1, 2019

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion, Rick Riordan Presents

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Pages: 496

Find it: GoodreadsAmazonKindle, Audible, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Triston Strong Punches A Hole In The Sky by Kwame Mbalia (review and giveaway)”

Goodreads Monday 10/14/19

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.

 

16088359.jpg

 

Keeper of the Lost Cities by Shannon Messenger

 

New York Times bestselling series
USA TODAY bestselling series
A California Young Reader Medal–winning series

In this riveting series opener, a telepathic girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world before the wrong person finds the answer first.

Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really connect with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. The reason? Sophie’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. No one knows her secret—at least, that’s what she thinks…

But the day Sophie meets Fitz, a mysterious (and adorable) boy, she learns she’s not alone. He’s a Telepath too, and it turns out the reason she has never felt at home is that, well…she isn’t. Fitz opens Sophie’s eyes to a shocking truth, and she is forced to leave behind her family for a new life in a place that is vastly different from what she has ever known.

But Sophie still has secrets, and they’re buried deep in her memory for good reason: The answers are dangerous and in high-demand. What is her true identity, and why was she hidden among humans? The truth could mean life or death—and time is running out.

 

I’ve heard great things about this middle grade series.  Have you read the first book yet?  Have you read the whole series?

 

Signature