Review of In Myrtle Peril by Elizabeth C. Bunce (hardcover)

 

In Myrtle Peril by Elizabeth C. Bunce

Myrtle Hardcastle—twelve-year-old Victorian Amateur Detective—returns to investigate the case of a missing heiress lost at sea, an inquiry that runs aground when a murder in plain sight has no apparent victim.

When a mysterious girl attempts to stake her claim to the Snowcroft family fortune, Myrtle Hardcastle’s father, a lawyer, is asked to help prove—or disprove—the girl’s identity. Is this truly Ethel Snowcroft, believed to be lost at sea with her parents, or a con artist chasing a windfall? Mr. Hardcastle’s pursuit of the case takes a detour when he’s hospitalized for a tonsillectomy—only to witness a murder. Or does he? With no body at the scene, Myrtle and her governess, Miss Judson, fear the so-called murder was a feverish delusion—until a critical piece of evidence appears.

But where’s the victim? And who at the hospital could be harboring murderous intent? Myrtle is determined to find out before the killer comes after her father.
With stakes this high, her sleuthing has put Myrtle, her family, and the patients and staff at the Royal Swinburne Hospital In Myrtle Peril.

Continue reading “Review of In Myrtle Peril by Elizabeth C. Bunce (hardcover)”

Blog Tour for Omega Morales and the Legend of La Lechuza by Laekan Zea Kemp (promo)

 

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Omega Morales and the Legend of La Lechuza by Laekan Zea Kemp.  This tour is being hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours. 

 

Omega Morales and the Legend of La Lechuza by Laekan Zea Kemp

Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy

Publishing Date: September 27, 2022

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Omega Morales and the Legend of La Lechuza by Laekan Zea Kemp (promo)”

Blog Tour for Amira & Hamza: The Quest for the Ring of Power by Samira Ahmed (promo)

 

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Amira & Hamza:  The Quest for the Ring of Power by Samira Ahmed.  This tour is being hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours.

Amira & Hamza: The Quest for the Ring of Power (Amira & Hamza #2) by Samira Ahmed

Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy

Publishing Date: September 20, 2022

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Amira & Hamza: The Quest for the Ring of Power by Samira Ahmed (promo)”

Blog Tour for Serwa Boateng’s Guide to Vampire Hunting by Roseanne A. Brown (review and giveaway)

 

 

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the SERWA BOATENG’S GUIDE TO VAMPIRE HUNTING by Roseanne A. Brown Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway! 

 

About The Book:

Title: SERWA BOATENG’S GUIDE TO VAMPIRE HUNTING (Serwa Boateng #1)

Author: Roseanne A. Brown

Pub. Date: September 6, 2022

Publisher: Rick Riordan Presents

Formats: Hardcover, eBook

Pages: 400

Find it: GoodreadsAmazon, Kindle, B&NiBooks, KoboTBD, Bookshop.org

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Serwa Boateng’s Guide to Vampire Hunting by Roseanne A. Brown (review and giveaway)”

Review of What We Saw by Mary Downing Hahn (physical arc)

 

What We Saw by Mary Downing Hahn

A chilling murder mystery lies at the heart of this page-turning thriller about a missing teacher, small town secrets, and turbulent tween friendships from master of middle grade horror Mary Downing Hahn.

When best friends Abbi and Skylar witness a clandestine meeting between a mysterious woman and someone in a dark van, they’re thrilled. Finally, a mystery to spice up the summer!

Who could these people be? Why are they meeting? Are they spies? Criminals? The two girls are determined to find out. But then a local woman goes missing and is found dead in the woods. And Abbi and Skylar realize that their detective work could hold the keys to solving her murder. Suddenly, sleuthing isn’t so fun anymore.

As tensions rise and their friendship frays, the girls find themselves in increasing danger, and must choose between keeping a secret or exposing a life-altering truth.

Continue reading “Review of What We Saw by Mary Downing Hahn (physical arc)”

Blog Tour for Ghostlight by Kenneth Oppel (promo)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Ghostlight by Kenneth Oppel.  This tour is being hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours. 

 

Ghostlight by Kenneth Oppel

Genre: Middle Grade Ghost Story

Publishing Date: September 6, 2022

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Ghostlight by Kenneth Oppel (promo)”

Review of Amari and the Great Game by B.B. Alston (earc)

 

Amari and the Great Game by B. B. Alston

Sequel to the New York Times bestseller Amari and the Night Brothers!
Artemis Fowl meets Men in Black in this magical second book in the New York Times and Indie bestselling Supernatural Investigations trilogy—perfect for fans of Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, the Percy Jackson series, and Nevermoor.

After finding her brother and saving the entire supernatural world, Amari Peters is convinced her first full summer as a Junior Agent will be a breeze.

But between the fearsome new Head Minister’s strict anti-magician agenda, fierce Junior Agent rivalries, and her brother Quinton’s curse steadily worsening, Amari’s plate is full. So when the secretive League of Magicians offers her a chance to stand up for magiciankind as its new leader, she declines. She’s got enough to worry about!

But her refusal allows someone else to step forward, a magician with dangerous plans for the League. This challenge sparks the start of the Great Game, a competition to decide who will become the Night Brothers’ successor and determine the future of magiciankind.

The Great Game is both mysterious and deadly, but among the winner’s magical rewards is Quinton’s last hope—so how can Amari refuse?

Continue reading “Review of Amari and the Great Game by B.B. Alston (earc)”

Review of A Taste of Magic by J. Elle (earc)

 

 

A Taste of Magic by J. Elle

 

NYT bestseller J. Elle makes her MG debut in the delightful story of a girl who bakes up a plan to save her inner-city magic school.
Twelve-year-old Kyana has just discovered she’s a witch! This means classes every Saturday at Park Row Magic Academy, a learning center hidden in the back of the local beauty shop, and Kyana can’t wait to learn spells to help out at home. The only downside is having to keep her magic a secret from her BFF, Nae. But when the magic school loses funding, the students must pay huge fees at the fancy school across town or lose their magic! Determined to help, Kyana enters a baking contest with a big cash prize. Will she be able to keep up her grades while preparing for the competition and without revealing her magic? What about when a taste of magic works its way into her cupcakes?
Exciting up-and-coming author J. Elle combines the perfect balance of real-world issues and magical mishaps to create real magic.
 

Expected publication: August 30th 2022 by Bloomsbury

Continue reading “Review of A Taste of Magic by J. Elle (earc)”

Review of A Perfect Mistake by Melanie Conklin (physical arc)

 

A Perfect Mistake by Melanie Conklin

A moving, voice-driven novel about friendship, responsibility, and fighting against unfair expectations, for fans of Rebecca Stead and Erin Entrada Kelly.
 
Max wishes he could go back in time to before he was diagnosed with ADHD, before he grew to be the tallest kid in his class, and before he and his best friends went into the woods in the middle of the night. Max doesn’t remember what happened after he left his friends Will and Joey and the older kids who took them there. He’s not sure if he wants to remember. Knowing isn’t going to make Joey talk to him again, or bring Will out of his coma.
 
When the local authorities run out of leads, Max realizes that without his help, they may never know what really happened to Will. Charged by the idea that he may be the key to uncovering the truth, Max pairs up with classmate and aspiring journalist Sam to investigate what really happened that night. But not everyone in the community wants that night to be remembered.

Continue reading “Review of A Perfect Mistake by Melanie Conklin (physical arc)”