LGBTQIA+ Recommendations

 

First, I need to state that I have no idea if the rep is done right in any of these.  Reading them as a straight cis woman, I can only listen to what other own voice reviewers say.  But I wanted to recommend some books that I’ve read and loved.  This is no where near a full list.  These are in no particular order.  Some of my favorites may be missing.  I’m being a bit lazy and picking from covers I already have in my album (recently).

 

47898064._SY475_

Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas

Yadriel has summoned a ghost, and now he can’t get rid of him.

When his traditional Latinx family has problems accepting his gender, Yadriel becomes determined to prove himself a real brujo. With the help of his cousin and best friend Maritza, he performs the ritual himself, and then sets out to find the ghost of his murdered cousin and set it free.

However, the ghost he summons is actually Julian Diaz, the school’s resident bad boy, and Julian is not about to go quietly into death. He’s determined to find out what happened and tie up some loose ends before he leaves. Left with no choice, Yadriel agrees to help Julian, so that they can both get what they want. But the longer Yadriel spends with Julian, the less he wants to let him leave.

Continue reading “LGBTQIA+ Recommendations”

Books By Black Authors That I Recommend

 

I’m still trying to find ways to boost up books by black authors.  Today I thought I would share some that I’ve read and that I think you should read them, too.  This isn’t a full list of everything I’ve read over the years.  Just 20 for now.  I hope you continue to support black authors and #blacklivesmatter.

This is a really good article that talks about the pay difference for black authors.  https://www.pbs.org/newshour/arts/black-writers-knew-they-were-being-paid-less-this-hashtag-revealed-how-large-the-gap-really-is?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=pbsofficial&utm_campaign=newshour&utm_content=1591970650&fbclid=IwAR3YRVNwn-yY7y-7gfyGijf9yWHCxVqviZQ5u3xDgQfdlMlIkyAnGT65zN8

Here is a page with black owned book stores you can support.  https://www.epicreads.com/blog/black-owned-bookstores/?fbclid=IwAR2L_dDQvxRrvCkxdt6Jn8EPfOl2sDk1JQSH_MlSgE0-5ZotvzKSobiv4Kc

Continue reading “Books By Black Authors That I Recommend”

2020 Pride TBR

 

Another post I’m running late on getting up.  I won’t be reading all of these in June, but I thought I would share some of the lgbtqia+ books I’m really excited for on my TBR.  There are obviously more and these are in no particular order.  I’ve already read at least 6 books for pride in June.

 

44286258._SY475_

The Henna Wars by Adiba Jaigirdar

When Dimple Met Rishi meets Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda in this rom com about two teen girls with rival henna businesses.

When Nishat comes out to her parents, they say she can be anyone she wants—as long as she isn’t herself. Because Muslim girls aren’t lesbians. Nishat doesn’t want to hide who she is, but she also doesn’t want to lose her relationship with her family. And her life only gets harder once a childhood friend walks back into her life.

Flávia is beautiful and charismatic and Nishat falls for her instantly. But when a school competition invites students to create their own businesses, both Flávia and Nishat choose to do henna, even though Flávia is appropriating Nishat’s culture. Amidst sabotage and school stress, their lives get more tangled—but Nishat can’t quite get rid of her crush on Flávia, and realizes there might be more to her than she realized.

Continue reading “2020 Pride TBR”

Review of Everlasting Nora by Marie Miranda Cruz (hardcover)

 

37534886._SY475_

Everlasting Nora by Marie Miranda Cruz

An uplifting middle-grade debut about perseverance against all odds, Marie Miranda Cruz’s debut Everlasting Nora follows the story of a young girl living in the real-life shanty town inside the Philippines’ North Manila Cemetery.

After a family tragedy results in the loss of both father and home, 12-year-old Nora lives with her mother in Manila’s North Cemetery, which is the largest shanty town of its kind in the Philippines today.

When her mother disappears mysteriously one day, Nora is left alone.

With help from her best friend Jojo and the support of his kindhearted grandmother, Nora embarks on a journey riddled with danger in order to find her mom. Along the way she also rediscovers the compassion of the human spirit, the resilience of her community, and everlasting hope in the most unexpected places.

Continue reading “Review of Everlasting Nora by Marie Miranda Cruz (hardcover)”

Challenge Updates For May 2020

 

I’m going to start doing this a little different and add the books.  If you see something marked with the wrong rep, please let me know asap so I can fix it.

 

Goodreads:  14 books

Continue reading “Challenge Updates For May 2020”

Wrap Up for TBR and Beyond’s May 2020 Challenge

 

I wasn’t able to finish every reading prompt for May, but I still did well.  I read everything I planned on except one book.

 

Scan0073

Continue reading “Wrap Up for TBR and Beyond’s May 2020 Challenge”

May 2020 Wrap Up

I had a pretty decent reading month for May.  Especially since I felt a bit of a slump for a few days and struggled to read.

These aren’t in order, but all were finished in May.

 

The Archer at Dawn  physical arc  5 stars

The Girl and the Ghost  earc   5 stars

The Unready Queen   earc  4  1/2 stars

Continue reading “May 2020 Wrap Up”

Review of The Girl and the Ghost by Hanna Alkaf (earc)

 

46147644._SY475_

The Girl and the Ghost by Hanna Alkaf

A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut, perfect for fans of The Book of Boy and The Jumbies.

I am a dark spirit, the ghost announced grandly. I am your inheritance, your grandmother’s legacy. I am yours to command.

Suraya is delighted when her witch grandmother gifts her a pelesit. She names her ghostly companion Pink, and the two quickly become inseparable.

But Suraya doesn’t know that pelesits have a dark side—and when Pink’s shadows threaten to consume them both, they must find enough light to survive . . . before they are both lost to the darkness.

Fans of Holly Black’s Doll Bones and Tahereh Mafi’s Furthermore series will love this ghostly middle grade debut that explores jealousy, love, and the extraordinary power of friendship.

Expected publication: August 4th 2020 by HarperCollins

Continue reading “Review of The Girl and the Ghost by Hanna Alkaf (earc)”

Review of The Unready Queen (The Oddmire #2) by William Ritter (earc)

 

49126609._SY475_

The Unready Queen by William Ritter

Human and goblin brothers Cole and Tinn are finding their way back to normal after their journey to the heart of the Oddmire. Normal, unfortunately, wants nothing to do with them. Fable, the daughter of the Queen of the Deep Dark, has her first true friends in the brothers. The Queen allows Fable to visit Tinn and Cole as long as she promises to stay quiet and out of sight—concealing herself and her magic from the townspeople of Endsborough.

But when the trio discovers that humans are destroying the Wild Wood and the lives of its creatures for their own dark purposes, Fable cannot stay quiet. As the unspoken truce between the people of Endsborough and the inhabitants of the Wild Wood crumbles, violence escalates, threatening war and bringing Fable’s mother closer to the fulfillment of a deadly prophecy that could leave Fable a most Unready Queen.

Expected publication: June 2nd 2020 by Algonquin Young Readers

Continue reading “Review of The Unready Queen (The Oddmire #2) by William Ritter (earc)”

Review of Ghost Squad by Claribel Ortega (hardcover)

 

36601937._SY475_

Ghost Squad by Claribel Ortega

Coco meets Stranger Things with a hint of Ghostbusters in this action-packed supernatural fantasy.
For Lucely Luna, ghosts are more than just the family business.

Shortly before Halloween, Lucely and her best friend, Syd, cast a spell that accidentally awakens malicious spirits, wreaking havoc throughout St. Augustine. Together, they must join forces with Syd’s witch grandmother, Babette, and her tubby tabby, Chunk, to fight the haunting head-on and reverse the curse to save the town and Lucely’s firefly spirits before it’s too late.

With the family dynamics of Coco and action-packed adventure of Ghostbusters, Claribel A. Ortega delivers both a thrillingly spooky and delightfully sweet debut novel.

Published April 7th 2020 by Scholastic

Continue reading “Review of Ghost Squad by Claribel Ortega (hardcover)”