Goodreads Monday 10/28/19

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.  It will happen.

 

10893214._SX318_SY475_.jpg

The Cavendish Home For Boys And Girls by Claire Legrand

At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. An atmospheric, heartfelt, and delightfully spooky novel for fans of CoralineSplendors and Glooms, and The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her best friend Lawrence. He is a disaster, lazy and dreamy, shirt always untucked, obsessed with his silly piano. Victoria often wonders why she ever bothered being his friend. (Lawrence does, too.)

But then Lawrence goes missing. And he is not the only one. Victoria soon discovers that The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is not what it appears to be. Kids go in but come out different. Or they don’t come out at all.

If anyone can sort this out, it’s Victoria, even if it means getting a little messy.

 

I was lucky to meet Claire recently and she was wonderful.  I thought it only fitting to pick one of her books for this week’s book.  Have you read this one yet?

 

Signature

 

 

Blog Tour for Triston Strong Punches A Hole In The Sky by Kwame Mbalia (review and giveaway)

 

TRISTAN STRONG

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Triston Strong Punches A Hole In The Sky by Kwame Mbalia.  This tour is being hosted by Rock Star Book Tours.  I’ll be sharing my review and there will be a giveaway.

 

Title: TRISTAN STRONG PUNCHES A HOLE IN THE SKY

Author: Kwame Mbalia

Pub. Date: October 1, 2019

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion, Rick Riordan Presents

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Pages: 496

Find it: GoodreadsAmazonKindle, Audible, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Triston Strong Punches A Hole In The Sky by Kwame Mbalia (review and giveaway)”

Goodreads Monday 10/14/19

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.

 

16088359.jpg

 

Keeper of the Lost Cities by Shannon Messenger

 

New York Times bestselling series
USA TODAY bestselling series
A California Young Reader Medal–winning series

In this riveting series opener, a telepathic girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world before the wrong person finds the answer first.

Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really connect with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. The reason? Sophie’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. No one knows her secret—at least, that’s what she thinks…

But the day Sophie meets Fitz, a mysterious (and adorable) boy, she learns she’s not alone. He’s a Telepath too, and it turns out the reason she has never felt at home is that, well…she isn’t. Fitz opens Sophie’s eyes to a shocking truth, and she is forced to leave behind her family for a new life in a place that is vastly different from what she has ever known.

But Sophie still has secrets, and they’re buried deep in her memory for good reason: The answers are dangerous and in high-demand. What is her true identity, and why was she hidden among humans? The truth could mean life or death—and time is running out.

 

I’ve heard great things about this middle grade series.  Have you read the first book yet?  Have you read the whole series?

 

Signature

 

 

Review of Dead Voices by Katherine Arden (physical copy)

 

This is a book two, so there are likely spoilers for book one in the synopsis and my review.

 

43069601._SY475_

Dead Voices by Katherine Arden

Bestselling author Katherine Arden returns with another creepy, spine-tingling adventure in this follow-up to the critically acclaimed Small Spaces.

Having survived sinister scarecrows and the malevolent smiling man in Small Spaces, newly minted best friends Ollie, Coco, and Brian are ready to spend a relaxing winter break skiing together with their parents at Mount Hemlock Resort. But when a snowstorm sets in, causing the power to flicker out and the cold to creep closer and closer, the three are forced to settle for hot chocolate and board games by the fire.

Ollie, Coco, and Brian are determined to make the best of being snowed in, but odd things keep happening. Coco is convinced she has seen a ghost, and Ollie is having nightmares about frostbitten girls pleading for help. Then Mr. Voland, a mysterious ghost hunter, arrives in the midst of the storm to investigate the hauntings at Hemlock Lodge. Ollie, Coco, and Brian want to trust him, but Ollie’s watch, which once saved them from the smiling man, has a new cautionary message: BEWARE.

With Mr. Voland’s help, Ollie, Coco, and Brian reach out to the dead voices at Mount Hemlock. Maybe the ghosts need their help–or maybe not all ghosts can or should be trusted.

Dead Voices is a terrifying follow-up to Small Spaces with thrills and chills galore and the captive foreboding of a classic ghost story.

Continue reading “Review of Dead Voices by Katherine Arden (physical copy)”

Middle Grade May Update!

 

Just an update on how my Middle Grade May challenge on TBR and Beyond went.  I really wanted to fit in a few more middle grade books, but I didn’t want to get too far behind on arcs.

 

I finished 6 of the 12 categories.

Continue reading “Middle Grade May Update!”

Review of The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James by Ashley Herring Blake (physical copy)

 

 

37539698

 

The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James by Ashley Herring Blake

 

Twelve-year-old Sunny St. James navigates heart surgery, reconnections with a lost mother, first kisses, and emerging feelings for another girl in this stunning, heartfelt novel–perfect for fans of Ali Benjamin and Erin Entrada Kelly.

When Sunny St. James receives a new heart, she decides to set off on a “New Life Plan”: 1) do awesome amazing things she could never do before; 2) find a new best friend; and 3) kiss a boy for the first time.

Her “New Life Plan” seems to be racing forward, but when she meets her new best friend Quinn, Sunny questions whether she really wants to kiss a boy at all. When the reemergence of her mother, Sunny begins a journey to becoming the new Sunny St. James.

This sweet, tender novel dares readers to find the might in their own hearts.

Continue reading “Review of The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James by Ashley Herring Blake (physical copy)”

Review of Aru Shah and the Song of Death by Roshani Chokshi (physical copy)

 

 

36323794

 

Aru Shah and the Song of Death by Roshani Chokshi

 

Aru is only just getting the hang of this whole Pandava thing when the Otherworld goes into full panic mode. The god of love’s bow and arrow have gone missing, and the thief isn’t playing Cupid. Instead, they’re turning people into heartless fighting-machine zombies. If that weren’t bad enough, somehow Aru gets framed as the thief. If she doesn’t find the arrow by the next full moon, she’ll be kicked out of the Otherworld. For good.

But, for better or worse, she won’t be going it alone.

Along with her soul-sister, Mini, Aru will team up with Brynne, an ultra-strong girl who knows more than she lets on, and Aiden, the boy who lives across the street and is also hiding plenty of secrets. Together they’ll battle demons, travel through a glittering and dangerous serpent realm, and discover that their enemy isn’t at all who they expected.

Continue reading “Review of Aru Shah and the Song of Death by Roshani Chokshi (physical copy)”

Review of City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab (physical copy)

 

 

35403058

 

City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab

 

Cassidy Blake’s parents are The Inspecters, a (somewhat inept) ghost-hunting team. But Cass herself can REALLY see ghosts. In fact, her best friend, Jacob, just happens to be one.

When The Inspecters head to ultra-haunted Edinburgh, Scotland, for their new TV show, Cass—and Jacob—come along. In Scotland, Cass is surrounded by ghosts, not all of them friendly. Then she meets Lara, a girl who can also see the dead. But Lara tells Cassidy that as an In-betweener, their job is to send ghosts permanently beyond the Veil. Cass isn’t sure about her new mission, but she does know the sinister Red Raven haunting the city doesn’t belong in her world. Cassidy’s powers will draw her into an epic fight that stretches through the worlds of the living and the dead, in order to save herself.

Continue reading “Review of City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab (physical copy)”

May’s TBR and Beyond Challenge

 

To anyone who is new on my blog, I’m a mod in a facebook group.  To everyone else, you know I definitely think you should join if you haven’t already.  We have group reads, challenges, games, and live author chats.  We try very hard to keep things drama free and like to have fun.

 

May’s challenge is Middle-Grade May.  You can join the event HERE.  You do need to be a member of the group, too.  You can request to join HERE.

Continue reading “May’s TBR and Beyond Challenge”

Review of Dragon Pearl by Yoon Ha Lee (digital arc)

 

34966859

 

Dragon Pearl by Yoon Ha Lee

 

Rick Riordan Presents Yoon Ha Lee’s space opera about thirteen-year-old Min, who comes from a long line of fox spirits. But you’d never know it by looking at her.

To keep the family safe, Min’s mother insists that none of them use any fox-magic, such as Charm or shape-shifting. They must appear human at all times. Min feels hemmed in by the household rules and resents the endless chores, the cousins who crowd her, and the aunties who judge her. She would like nothing more than to escape Jinju, her neglected, dust-ridden, and impoverished planet. She’s counting the days until she can follow her older brother, Jun, into the Space Forces and see more of the Thousand Worlds.

When word arrives that Jun is suspected of leaving his post to go in search of the Dragon Pearl, Min knows that something is wrong. Jun would never desert his battle cruiser, even for a mystical object rumored to have tremendous power. She decides to run away to find him and clear his name.

Min’s quest will have her meeting gamblers, pirates, and vengeful ghosts. It will involve deception, lies, and sabotage. She will be forced to use more fox-magic than ever before, and to rely on all of her cleverness and bravery. The outcome may not be what she had hoped, but it has the potential to exceed her wildest dreams.

This sci-fi adventure with the underpinnings of Korean mythology will transport you to a world far beyond your imagination.

Continue reading “Review of Dragon Pearl by Yoon Ha Lee (digital arc)”