Books By Black Authors That I Recommend

 

I’m still trying to find ways to boost up books by black authors.  Today I thought I would share some that I’ve read and that I think you should read them, too.  This isn’t a full list of everything I’ve read over the years.  Just 20 for now.  I hope you continue to support black authors and #blacklivesmatter.

This is a really good article that talks about the pay difference for black authors.  https://www.pbs.org/newshour/arts/black-writers-knew-they-were-being-paid-less-this-hashtag-revealed-how-large-the-gap-really-is?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=pbsofficial&utm_campaign=newshour&utm_content=1591970650&fbclid=IwAR3YRVNwn-yY7y-7gfyGijf9yWHCxVqviZQ5u3xDgQfdlMlIkyAnGT65zN8

Here is a page with black owned book stores you can support.  https://www.epicreads.com/blog/black-owned-bookstores/?fbclid=IwAR2L_dDQvxRrvCkxdt6Jn8EPfOl2sDk1JQSH_MlSgE0-5ZotvzKSobiv4Kc

Continue reading “Books By Black Authors That I Recommend”

Review of Everlasting Nora by Marie Miranda Cruz (hardcover)

 

37534886._SY475_

Everlasting Nora by Marie Miranda Cruz

An uplifting middle-grade debut about perseverance against all odds, Marie Miranda Cruz’s debut Everlasting Nora follows the story of a young girl living in the real-life shanty town inside the Philippines’ North Manila Cemetery.

After a family tragedy results in the loss of both father and home, 12-year-old Nora lives with her mother in Manila’s North Cemetery, which is the largest shanty town of its kind in the Philippines today.

When her mother disappears mysteriously one day, Nora is left alone.

With help from her best friend Jojo and the support of his kindhearted grandmother, Nora embarks on a journey riddled with danger in order to find her mom. Along the way she also rediscovers the compassion of the human spirit, the resilience of her community, and everlasting hope in the most unexpected places.

Continue reading “Review of Everlasting Nora by Marie Miranda Cruz (hardcover)”

Review of The Girl and the Ghost by Hanna Alkaf (earc)

 

46147644._SY475_

The Girl and the Ghost by Hanna Alkaf

A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut, perfect for fans of The Book of Boy and The Jumbies.

I am a dark spirit, the ghost announced grandly. I am your inheritance, your grandmother’s legacy. I am yours to command.

Suraya is delighted when her witch grandmother gifts her a pelesit. She names her ghostly companion Pink, and the two quickly become inseparable.

But Suraya doesn’t know that pelesits have a dark side—and when Pink’s shadows threaten to consume them both, they must find enough light to survive . . . before they are both lost to the darkness.

Fans of Holly Black’s Doll Bones and Tahereh Mafi’s Furthermore series will love this ghostly middle grade debut that explores jealousy, love, and the extraordinary power of friendship.

Expected publication: August 4th 2020 by HarperCollins

Continue reading “Review of The Girl and the Ghost by Hanna Alkaf (earc)”

April 2020 Wrap Up

 

I’m pretty happy with my reading month for April.  Not only did I read a good amount of books, but I read a few over 400 pages.

 

These are not in reading order.

 

 

Incendiary   earc   5 stars

Hunting November   earc  4 stars

Aru Shah and the Tree of Wishes   earc  5 stars

Continue reading “April 2020 Wrap Up”

Goodreads Monday 3/16/20

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.  It will happen.

 

45493566._SY475_

Look Both Ways by Jason Reynolds

From National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author Jason Reynolds comes a novel told in ten blocks, showing all the different directions a walk home can take.

This story was going to begin like all the best stories. With a school bus falling from the sky. But no one saw it happen. They were all too busy—

Talking about boogers.
Stealing pocket change.
Skateboarding.
Wiping out.
Braving up.
Executing complicated handshakes.
Planning an escape.
Making jokes.
Lotioning up.
Finding comfort.
But mostly, too busy walking home.

Jason Reynolds conjures ten tales (one per block) about what happens after the dismissal bell rings, and brilliantly weaves them into one wickedly funny, piercingly poignant look at the detours we face on the walk home, and in life.

 

Have you read this?  Have you read any of Jason Reynolds other books?

 

Signature

 

 

 

 

Most Anticipated 2020 Middle Grade Books

 

I love middle grade.  I’m not sure why, but I’ve been so impressed by the recent mg releases.  So I thought I would do a most anticipated list for 2020.  I’m not including anything I’ve already read.  These are in no particular order.

 

36323798._SY475_

Aru Shah and the Tree of Wishes by Roshani Chokski

War between the devas and the demons is imminent, and the Otherworld is on high alert. When intelligence from the human world reveals that the Sleeper is holding a powerful clairvoyant and her sister captive, 14-year-old Aru and her friends launch a search-and-rescue mission. The captives, a pair of twins, turn out to be the newest Pandava sisters, though, according to a prophecy, one sister is not true.
During the celebration of Holi, the heavenly attendants stage a massage PR rebranding campaign to convince everyone that the Pandavas are to be trusted. As much as Aru relishes the attention, she fears that she is destined to bring destruction to her sisters, as the Sleeper has predicted. Aru believes that the only way to prove her reputation is to find the Kalpavriksha, the wish-granting tree that came out of the Ocean of Milk when it was churned. If she can reach it before the Sleeper, perhaps she can turn everything around with one wish.
Careful what you wish for, Aru . . .

Continue reading “Most Anticipated 2020 Middle Grade Books”

Review of Tunnel of Bones by Victoria Schwab (hardcover)

 

 

39352771._SY475_

 

Tunnel of Bones by Victoria Schwab

Trouble is haunting Cassidy Blake . . . even more than usual.

She (plus her ghost best friend, Jacob, of course) are in Paris, where Cass’s parents are filming their TV show about the world’s most haunted cities. Sure, it’s fun eating croissants and seeing the Eiffel Tower, but there’s true ghostly danger lurking beneath Paris, in the creepy underground Catacombs.

When Cass accidentally awakens a frighteningly strong spirit, she must rely on her still-growing skills as a ghosthunter — and turn to friends both old and new to help her unravel a mystery. But time is running out, and the spirit is only growing stronger.

And if Cass fails, the force she’s unleashed could haunt the city forever.

Continue reading “Review of Tunnel of Bones by Victoria Schwab (hardcover)”

Goodreads Monday 10/28/19

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.  It will happen.

 

10893214._SX318_SY475_.jpg

The Cavendish Home For Boys And Girls by Claire Legrand

At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. An atmospheric, heartfelt, and delightfully spooky novel for fans of CoralineSplendors and Glooms, and The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her best friend Lawrence. He is a disaster, lazy and dreamy, shirt always untucked, obsessed with his silly piano. Victoria often wonders why she ever bothered being his friend. (Lawrence does, too.)

But then Lawrence goes missing. And he is not the only one. Victoria soon discovers that The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is not what it appears to be. Kids go in but come out different. Or they don’t come out at all.

If anyone can sort this out, it’s Victoria, even if it means getting a little messy.

 

I was lucky to meet Claire recently and she was wonderful.  I thought it only fitting to pick one of her books for this week’s book.  Have you read this one yet?

 

Signature

 

 

Blog Tour for Triston Strong Punches A Hole In The Sky by Kwame Mbalia (review and giveaway)

 

TRISTAN STRONG

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Triston Strong Punches A Hole In The Sky by Kwame Mbalia.  This tour is being hosted by Rock Star Book Tours.  I’ll be sharing my review and there will be a giveaway.

 

Title: TRISTAN STRONG PUNCHES A HOLE IN THE SKY

Author: Kwame Mbalia

Pub. Date: October 1, 2019

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion, Rick Riordan Presents

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Pages: 496

Find it: GoodreadsAmazonKindle, Audible, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Triston Strong Punches A Hole In The Sky by Kwame Mbalia (review and giveaway)”

Goodreads Monday 10/14/19

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.

 

16088359.jpg

 

Keeper of the Lost Cities by Shannon Messenger

 

New York Times bestselling series
USA TODAY bestselling series
A California Young Reader Medal–winning series

In this riveting series opener, a telepathic girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world before the wrong person finds the answer first.

Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really connect with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. The reason? Sophie’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. No one knows her secret—at least, that’s what she thinks…

But the day Sophie meets Fitz, a mysterious (and adorable) boy, she learns she’s not alone. He’s a Telepath too, and it turns out the reason she has never felt at home is that, well…she isn’t. Fitz opens Sophie’s eyes to a shocking truth, and she is forced to leave behind her family for a new life in a place that is vastly different from what she has ever known.

But Sophie still has secrets, and they’re buried deep in her memory for good reason: The answers are dangerous and in high-demand. What is her true identity, and why was she hidden among humans? The truth could mean life or death—and time is running out.

 

I’ve heard great things about this middle grade series.  Have you read the first book yet?  Have you read the whole series?

 

Signature