Review of City of the Plague God by Sarwat Chadda (earc)

 

43517256

 

City of the Plague God by Sarwat Chadda

Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents CITY OF THE PLAGUE GOD, an adventure based on ancient Mesopotamian mythology written by Sarwat Chadda, author of the Ash Mistry series. Characters from the Epic of Gilgamesh populate this high-stakes contemporary adventure in which all of Manhattan is threatened by the ancient god of plagues.

Thirteen-year-old Sik wants a simple life going to school and helping at his parents’ deli in the evenings. But all that is blown to smithereens when Nergal comes looking for him, thinking that Sik holds the secret to eternal life.Turns out Sik is immortal but doesn’t know it, and that’s about to get him and the entire city into deep, deep trouble.

Sik’s not in this alone. He’s got Belet, the adopted daughter of Ishtar, the goddess of love and war, on his side, and a former hero named Gilgamesh, who has taken up gardening in Central Park. Now all they have to do is retrieve the Flower of Immortality to save Manhattan from being wiped out by disease. To succeed, they’ll have to conquer sly demons, treacherous gods, and their own darkest nightmares.

Continue reading “Review of City of the Plague God by Sarwat Chadda (earc)”

Review of The Witches of Willow Cove by Josh Roberts (ebook)

 

49395271

The Witches of Willow Cove by Josh Roberts

It’s not easy being a teenage witch. Seventh grader Abby Shepherd is just getting the hang of it when weird stuff starts happening all around her hometown of Willow Cove. Green slime bubbling to life in science class. Giant snakes slithering around the middle school gym. Her best friend suddenly keeping secrets and telling lies.

Things only begin to make sense when a stranger named Miss Winters reveals that Abby isn’t the only young witch in town—and that Willow Cove is home to a secret past that connects them all. Miss Winters, herself a witch, even offers to teach Abby and the others everything she knows about witchcraft.

But as Abby learns more about Miss Winters’ past, she begins to suspect her new mentor is keeping secrets of her own. Can Abby trust her, or does Miss Winters have something wicked planned for the young witches of Willow Cove?

Continue reading “Review of The Witches of Willow Cove by Josh Roberts (ebook)”

Promo for The Beast of Bites by Coyote Peterson

 

50358119

The Beast of Bites by Coyote Peterson

ABOUT BRAVE WILDERNESS

Our vision is to revolutionize how people learn about and interact with the natural world, while inspiring the conservation of our planet for current and future generations, by becoming the epicenter of animal and adventure-based entertainment. To that end, we will use innovative technology to create family-friendly products and attractions to maximize our audiences’ appreciation of nature. Now more than ever it is important to shine light on some of the most amazing and at-risk species on the planet and how we can all be better advocates of our environment and its inhabitants.

 

We want to teach our audience stewardship for the natural world by sharing our love and passion for wildlife and everything that is the great outdoors. However, doing so will often require our team to explore delicate environments and encounter species living a fragile existence. To achieve this goal, while ensuring the least disturbance, we are dedicated to:

  • Safety for ourselves and our animal co-stars as a top priority at all times.
  • Putting as little stress as possible on any animal filmed, and never doing any harm.
  • Leaving no trace in the environments which we visit.
  • Respect the peoples and cultures around the globe that welcome us into their homes to learn and be inspired.
  • Being an agent of positivity and awareness for all of nature and fellow human beings.
  • Presenting content that is scientifically sound and driven by our passion to educate.
  • Leaving a small impact with our footprints but a lasting impression with our creativity.

When mistakes are made, we will correct them to our utmost ability as respect and care for the natural world remains a top priority.

Continue reading “Promo for The Beast of Bites by Coyote Peterson”

Blog Tour for Maya and the Rising Dark by Rena Barron (promo/blitz)

 

Maya and the Rising Dark banner

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour/blitz for Maya and the Rising Dark by Rena Barron.  This tour is being hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours.

 

Maya and the Rising Dark by Rena Barron

Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy

Publishing Date: September 22, 2020

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Maya and the Rising Dark by Rena Barron (promo/blitz)”

Blog Tour for The Wild Path by Sarah R. Baughman (promo and giveaway)

 

The Wild Path Tour Banner

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Wild Path by Sarah R. Baughman.  This tour is being hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours.

 

The Wild Path by Sarah R. Baughman

Genre: Middle Grade Mystery

Publishing Date: September 1, 2020

Continue reading “Blog Tour for The Wild Path by Sarah R. Baughman (promo and giveaway)”

Promo for The Summer We Found the Baby by Amy Hest

 

HIGH RES The Summer We Found The Baby Cover

 

New York Times bestselling author Amy Hest returns with her latest book

 

The Summer We Found the Baby

On Sale: August 4, 2020

Continue reading “Promo for The Summer We Found the Baby by Amy Hest”

Books By Black Authors That I Recommend

 

I’m still trying to find ways to boost up books by black authors.  Today I thought I would share some that I’ve read and that I think you should read them, too.  This isn’t a full list of everything I’ve read over the years.  Just 20 for now.  I hope you continue to support black authors and #blacklivesmatter.

This is a really good article that talks about the pay difference for black authors.  https://www.pbs.org/newshour/arts/black-writers-knew-they-were-being-paid-less-this-hashtag-revealed-how-large-the-gap-really-is?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=pbsofficial&utm_campaign=newshour&utm_content=1591970650&fbclid=IwAR3YRVNwn-yY7y-7gfyGijf9yWHCxVqviZQ5u3xDgQfdlMlIkyAnGT65zN8

Here is a page with black owned book stores you can support.  https://www.epicreads.com/blog/black-owned-bookstores/?fbclid=IwAR2L_dDQvxRrvCkxdt6Jn8EPfOl2sDk1JQSH_MlSgE0-5ZotvzKSobiv4Kc

Continue reading “Books By Black Authors That I Recommend”

Review of Everlasting Nora by Marie Miranda Cruz (hardcover)

 

37534886._SY475_

Everlasting Nora by Marie Miranda Cruz

An uplifting middle-grade debut about perseverance against all odds, Marie Miranda Cruz’s debut Everlasting Nora follows the story of a young girl living in the real-life shanty town inside the Philippines’ North Manila Cemetery.

After a family tragedy results in the loss of both father and home, 12-year-old Nora lives with her mother in Manila’s North Cemetery, which is the largest shanty town of its kind in the Philippines today.

When her mother disappears mysteriously one day, Nora is left alone.

With help from her best friend Jojo and the support of his kindhearted grandmother, Nora embarks on a journey riddled with danger in order to find her mom. Along the way she also rediscovers the compassion of the human spirit, the resilience of her community, and everlasting hope in the most unexpected places.

Continue reading “Review of Everlasting Nora by Marie Miranda Cruz (hardcover)”

Review of The Girl and the Ghost by Hanna Alkaf (earc)

 

46147644._SY475_

The Girl and the Ghost by Hanna Alkaf

A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut, perfect for fans of The Book of Boy and The Jumbies.

I am a dark spirit, the ghost announced grandly. I am your inheritance, your grandmother’s legacy. I am yours to command.

Suraya is delighted when her witch grandmother gifts her a pelesit. She names her ghostly companion Pink, and the two quickly become inseparable.

But Suraya doesn’t know that pelesits have a dark side—and when Pink’s shadows threaten to consume them both, they must find enough light to survive . . . before they are both lost to the darkness.

Fans of Holly Black’s Doll Bones and Tahereh Mafi’s Furthermore series will love this ghostly middle grade debut that explores jealousy, love, and the extraordinary power of friendship.

Expected publication: August 4th 2020 by HarperCollins

Continue reading “Review of The Girl and the Ghost by Hanna Alkaf (earc)”