Dear Student by Elly Swartz (promo)

 

Dear Student by Elly Swartz

When Autumn becomes the secret voice of the advice column in her middle school newspaper she is faced with a dilemma–can she give fair advice to everyone, including her friends, while keeping her identity a secret?

Starting Middle School is rough for Autumn after her one and only BFF moves to California. Uncertain and anxious, she struggles to connect with her new classmates. The two potential friends she meets could not be more different: bold Logan who has big ideas and quiet Cooper who’s a bit mysterious. But Autumn has a dilemma: what do you do when the new friends you make don’t like each other?

When Autumn is picked to be the secret voice of the Dear Student letters in the Hillview newspaper, she finds herself smack in the middle of a problem with Logan and Cooper on opposite sides. But before Autumn can figure out what to do, the unthinkable happens. Her secret identity as Dear Student is threatened. Now, it’s time for Autumn to find her voice, her courage, and follow her heart, even when it’s divided.

Continue reading “Dear Student by Elly Swartz (promo)”

Blog Tour for The Ogress and the Orphans by Kelly Barnhill (promo)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Ogress and the Orphans by Kelly Barnhill.  This tour is being hosted by the publisher, Algonquin Young Readers.

 

Continue reading “Blog Tour for The Ogress and the Orphans by Kelly Barnhill (promo)”

Review of The Memory Thief (Thirteen Witches #1) by Jodi Lynn Anderson (hardcover)

 

The Memory Thief (Thirteen Witches) by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Twelve-year-old Rosie Oaks’s mom is missing whatever it is that makes mothers love their daughters. All her life, Rosie has known this…and turned to stories for comfort. Then, on the night Rosie decides to throw her stories away forever, an invisible ally helps her discover the Witch Hunter’s Guide to the Universe, a book that claims that all of the evil in the world stems from thirteen witches who are unseen…but also unstoppable. One of these witches—the Memory Thief—holds an insidious power to steal our most precious treasures: our memories. And it is this witch who has cursed Rosie’s mother.

In her quest to save her mom—and with her wild, loyal friend “Germ” by her side—Rosie will find the layers hidden under the reality she only thought she knew: where ghosts linger as shades of the past, where clouds witness the world, and a ladder dangles from the moon leading to something bigger and more. Here, words are weapons against the darkness, and witch hunters are those brave enough to wield their imaginations in the face of the unthinkable. The knowledge of her beloved stories is an arsenal in this world, but to unlock their power, Rosie must dare to have hope and believe in herself in the face of daunting odds.

Continue reading “Review of The Memory Thief (Thirteen Witches #1) by Jodi Lynn Anderson (hardcover)”

Blog Tour for Wilderlore: The Weeping Tide by Amanda Foody (spotlight and giveaway)

 

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Wilderlore:  The Weeping Tide by Amanda Foody.  This tour is being hosted by Turn the Page Tours. 

 

Book Title: Wilderlore: The Weeping Tide (Book #2)

Author: Amanda Foody

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Release Date: February 1, 2022

Genres: Middle Grade, Fantasy, Adventure

Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/53257700-the-weeping-tide 

Book Purchase link:

https://www.simonandschuster.com/books/The-Weeping-Tide/Amanda-Foody/Wilderlore/9781534477599 

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Wilderlore: The Weeping Tide by Amanda Foody (spotlight and giveaway)”

Review of Fearless by Mandy Gonzalez (hardcover)

 

Fearless by Mandy Gonzalez

Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this spooky middle grade novel from Hamilton and Broadway star Mandy Gonzalez about a group of young thespians who must face the ghost haunting their theater.

The Ethel Merman Theater is cursed. No one is sure how or why, but the evidence speaks for itself. Show after show has flopped and the theater is about to close. Enter twelve-year-old Monica Garcia, who has been cast to star in a Broadway musical revival of The Goonies, the theater’s last chance to produce a hit before it shutters its doors for good.

The kids in the cast each have their own reasons for wanting to make the show a success, and all eyes in the theater world are on them. Will this show finally break the curse of the Ethel? The kids aren’t quite sure if the curse is even real, but when their first performance doesn’t quite go as planned, it certainly feels that way.

Then they realize the ghost light—the light that is always kept on at every theater in order to appease the ghosts—wasn’t lit! When the kids rush to flick the switch back on, they find themselves locked in the theater—but that’s the least of their problems when the ghost of the Ethel makes her debut appearance!

Can the cast overcome their fears and reverse the ghost’s curse before opening night so they can save the show—and their dreams?

Continue reading “Review of Fearless by Mandy Gonzalez (hardcover)”

Simon & Schuster Middle Grade Book Blitz!

 

 

I’m excited to be sharing some information about upcoming middle grade releases from Simon & Schuster!  These books all look so good.  Each one is a sequel/continuing series.

Continue reading “Simon & Schuster Middle Grade Book Blitz!”

Review of Dark Waters by Katherine Arden (hardcover)

 

55957140._SY475_

Dark Waters by Katherine Arden

New York Times bestselling author Katherine Arden returns with another creepy, spine-tingling adventure in this follow-up to the critically acclaimed Small Spaces and Dead Voices.

Having met and outsmarted the smiling man in Dead Voices but fearful of when he’ll come again, Ollie, Brian, and Coco are anxiously searching for a way to defeat him once and for all. By staying together and avoiding remote places, they’ve steered clear of him so far but their constant worry and stress is taking a toll on their lives and friendship. So when Ollie’s dad and Coco’s mom plan a “fun” boat trip on Lake Champlain, the three are apprehensive to say the least. They haven’t had the best of luck on their recent trips and even worse their frenemy Phil is on the boat as well. But when a lake monster destroys their boat, they end up shipwrecked on a deserted island. This isn’t just any island though. It’s hidden from the outside world in a fog and unless everyone works together to find a way to escape, they won’t survive long.

Continue reading “Review of Dark Waters by Katherine Arden (hardcover)”

Cold-Blooded Myrtle by Elizabeth C. Bunce (promo post)

 

Cold-Blooded Myrtle by Elizabeth C. Bunce

An Edgar Award–winning series!

Twelve-year-old Young Lady of Quality and Victorian amateur detective Myrtle Hardcastle returns, and now she’s on the trail of a serial killer in her hometown of Swinburne.
 
When Mr. Leighton, proprietor of Leighton’s Mercantile, is found dead on the evening his annual Christmas shop display is to be unveiled, it’s clear a killer had revenge in mind. But who would want to kill the local dry-goods merchant? Perhaps someone who remembers the unresolved, long-ago scandal that occurred when he was a professor and archaeologist. When the killer strikes again, ­­­each time manipulating the figures in the display to foretell the crime, Myrtle finds herself racing to uncover the long-buried facts of a historical scandal—and the motivations of a modern murderer.

Continue reading “Cold-Blooded Myrtle by Elizabeth C. Bunce (promo post)”

Q&A with author Paula Chase for Keeping It Real

 

 

Keeping It Real by Paula Chase

 

Marigold Johnson is looking forward to a future full of family, friends, and fashion–but what will she do when it all explodes in her face? When she discovers that her entire life is a lie?

Paula Chase, the author of So Done, Dough Boys, and Turning Point, explores betrayal, conformity, and forgiveness–and what it means to be family–in this stand-alone novel perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Rebecca Stead, and Ren�e Watson.

Marigold Johnson can’t wait to attend a special program at her family’s business, Flexx Unlimited, for teens who love fashion. But Mari quickly realizes that she’s out of place compared to the three other trainees–and one girl, Kara, seems to hate her on sight.

As tension builds and the stakes at the program get higher, Mari uncovers exactly why Kara’s been so spiteful. She also discovers some hard truths about herself and her family.

Paula Chase explores complex themes centering on friendships, family, and what it means to conform to fit in. Keeping It Real is also a powerful exploration of what happens when parents pick and choose what they shield their children from. Timely and memorable, Paula Chase’s character-driven story touches on creativity, art, fashion, and music. A great choice for the upper middle grade audience.

Continue reading “Q&A with author Paula Chase for Keeping It Real”