Can’t Wait Wednesday 8/11/21

 

cant-wait-wednesday

 

Can’t Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Wishful Endings and was previously hosted by Breaking the Spine.   It was created to show off a future release that you are excited for.

Continue reading “Can’t Wait Wednesday 8/11/21”

Review of Hide and Don’t Seek by Anica Mrose Rissi (earc)

 

54746639

Hide and Don’t Seek by Anica Mrose Rissi

If you’re feeling brave, turn the page.
A game of hide-and-seek goes on far too long…
A look-alike doll makes itself right at home…
A school talent-show act leaves the audience aghast…
And a summer at camp takes a turn for the braaaains
This collection of all-new spooky stories is sure to keep readers up past their bedtimes, laughing, gasping, and looking over their shoulders to see what goes bump in the night.

Expected publication: August 3rd 2021 by HarperCollins/Quill Tree Books

Continue reading “Review of Hide and Don’t Seek by Anica Mrose Rissi (earc)”

Can’t Wait Wednesday 6/30/21

 

cant-wait-wednesday

 

Can’t Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Wishful Endings and was previously hosted by Breaking the Spine.   It was created to show off a future release that you are excited for.

Continue reading “Can’t Wait Wednesday 6/30/21”

Review of Ghost Girl by Ally Malinenko (earc)

 

53577212._SY475_

Ghost Girl by Ally Malinenko

Perfect for fans of Small Spaces and Nightbooks, Ally Malinenko’s middle-grade debut is an empowering and triumphant ghost story—with spooky twists sure to give readers a few good goosebumps!

Zee Puckett loves ghost stories. She just never expected to be living one.

It all starts with a dark and stormy night. When the skies clear, everything is different. People are missing. There’s a creepy new principal who seems to know everyone’s darkest dreams. And Zee is seeing frightening things: large, scary dogs that talk and maybe even . . . a ghost.

When she tells her classmates, only her best friend, Elijah, believes her. Worse, mean girl Nellie gives Zee a cruel nickname: Ghost Girl.

But whatever the storm washed up isn’t going away. Everyone’s most selfish wishes start coming true in creepy ways.

To fight for what’s right, Zee will have to embrace what makes her different and what makes her Ghost Girl. And all three of them—Zee, Elijah, and Nellie—will have to work together if they want to give their ghost story a happy ending.

Expected publication: August 10th 2021 by Katherine Tegen Books

Continue reading “Review of Ghost Girl by Ally Malinenko (earc)”

Review of The First Rule of Punk by Celia C Perez (hardcover)

 

33245571

The First Rule of Punk by Celia C Perez

From debut author and longtime zine-maker Celia C. Perez, The First Rule of Punk is a wry and heartfelt exploration of friendship, finding your place, and learning to rock out like no one’s watching.

There are no shortcuts to surviving your first day at a new school–you can’t fix it with duct tape like you would your Chuck Taylors. On Day One, twelve-year-old Malú (Maria Luisa, if you want to annoy her) inadvertently upsets Posada Middle School’s queen bee, violates the school’s dress code with her punk rock look, and disappoints her college-professor mom in the process. Her dad, who now lives a thousand miles away, says things will get better as long as she remembers the first rule of punk: be yourself.

The real Malú loves rock music, skateboarding, zines, and Soyrizo (hold the cilantro, please). And when she assembles a group of like-minded misfits at school and starts a band, Malú finally begins to feel at home. She’ll do anything to preserve this, which includes standing up to an anti-punk school administration to fight for her right to express herself!

Black and white illustrations and collage art throughout make The First Rule of Punk a perfect pick for fans of books like Roller Girl and online magazines like Rookie.

Continue reading “Review of The First Rule of Punk by Celia C Perez (hardcover)”

Wrap Up for the May 2021 TBR and Beyond Game

 

My hopes were to read 5 middle grade books for our May challenge, but I ended up reading more.  I still didn’t get everything completed, but I did better than expected.

Continue reading “Wrap Up for the May 2021 TBR and Beyond Game”

Goodreads Monday 5/10/21

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.  It will happen.  Probably a lot.

Continue reading “Goodreads Monday 5/10/21”

Goodreads Monday 5/3/21

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.  It will happen.  Probably a lot.

Continue reading “Goodreads Monday 5/3/21”

May 2021 Event for TBR and Beyond (Middle Grade Mayhem)

 

I get so excited for the TBR and Beyond May challenge every year.  It’s always middle grade and so much fun.  We will have teams for this one.  You can join HERE.

 

This is the team I’m on, but there are coloring pages for each team.

 

may2021challengecolor

Continue reading “May 2021 Event for TBR and Beyond (Middle Grade Mayhem)”