Most Anticipated 2020 Middle Grade Books

 

I love middle grade.  I’m not sure why, but I’ve been so impressed by the recent mg releases.  So I thought I would do a most anticipated list for 2020.  I’m not including anything I’ve already read.  These are in no particular order.

 

36323798._SY475_

Aru Shah and the Tree of Wishes by Roshani Chokski

War between the devas and the demons is imminent, and the Otherworld is on high alert. When intelligence from the human world reveals that the Sleeper is holding a powerful clairvoyant and her sister captive, 14-year-old Aru and her friends launch a search-and-rescue mission. The captives, a pair of twins, turn out to be the newest Pandava sisters, though, according to a prophecy, one sister is not true.
During the celebration of Holi, the heavenly attendants stage a massage PR rebranding campaign to convince everyone that the Pandavas are to be trusted. As much as Aru relishes the attention, she fears that she is destined to bring destruction to her sisters, as the Sleeper has predicted. Aru believes that the only way to prove her reputation is to find the Kalpavriksha, the wish-granting tree that came out of the Ocean of Milk when it was churned. If she can reach it before the Sleeper, perhaps she can turn everything around with one wish.
Careful what you wish for, Aru . . .

Continue reading “Most Anticipated 2020 Middle Grade Books”

Review of Tunnel of Bones by Victoria Schwab (hardcover)

 

 

39352771._SY475_

 

Tunnel of Bones by Victoria Schwab

Trouble is haunting Cassidy Blake . . . even more than usual.

She (plus her ghost best friend, Jacob, of course) are in Paris, where Cass’s parents are filming their TV show about the world’s most haunted cities. Sure, it’s fun eating croissants and seeing the Eiffel Tower, but there’s true ghostly danger lurking beneath Paris, in the creepy underground Catacombs.

When Cass accidentally awakens a frighteningly strong spirit, she must rely on her still-growing skills as a ghosthunter — and turn to friends both old and new to help her unravel a mystery. But time is running out, and the spirit is only growing stronger.

And if Cass fails, the force she’s unleashed could haunt the city forever.

Continue reading “Review of Tunnel of Bones by Victoria Schwab (hardcover)”

Goodreads Monday 10/28/19

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.  It will happen.

 

10893214._SX318_SY475_.jpg

The Cavendish Home For Boys And Girls by Claire Legrand

At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. An atmospheric, heartfelt, and delightfully spooky novel for fans of CoralineSplendors and Glooms, and The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her best friend Lawrence. He is a disaster, lazy and dreamy, shirt always untucked, obsessed with his silly piano. Victoria often wonders why she ever bothered being his friend. (Lawrence does, too.)

But then Lawrence goes missing. And he is not the only one. Victoria soon discovers that The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is not what it appears to be. Kids go in but come out different. Or they don’t come out at all.

If anyone can sort this out, it’s Victoria, even if it means getting a little messy.

 

I was lucky to meet Claire recently and she was wonderful.  I thought it only fitting to pick one of her books for this week’s book.  Have you read this one yet?

 

Signature

 

 

Blog Tour for Triston Strong Punches A Hole In The Sky by Kwame Mbalia (review and giveaway)

 

TRISTAN STRONG

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Triston Strong Punches A Hole In The Sky by Kwame Mbalia.  This tour is being hosted by Rock Star Book Tours.  I’ll be sharing my review and there will be a giveaway.

 

Title: TRISTAN STRONG PUNCHES A HOLE IN THE SKY

Author: Kwame Mbalia

Pub. Date: October 1, 2019

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion, Rick Riordan Presents

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Pages: 496

Find it: GoodreadsAmazonKindle, Audible, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Triston Strong Punches A Hole In The Sky by Kwame Mbalia (review and giveaway)”

Goodreads Monday 10/14/19

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.

 

16088359.jpg

 

Keeper of the Lost Cities by Shannon Messenger

 

New York Times bestselling series
USA TODAY bestselling series
A California Young Reader Medal–winning series

In this riveting series opener, a telepathic girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world before the wrong person finds the answer first.

Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really connect with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. The reason? Sophie’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. No one knows her secret—at least, that’s what she thinks…

But the day Sophie meets Fitz, a mysterious (and adorable) boy, she learns she’s not alone. He’s a Telepath too, and it turns out the reason she has never felt at home is that, well…she isn’t. Fitz opens Sophie’s eyes to a shocking truth, and she is forced to leave behind her family for a new life in a place that is vastly different from what she has ever known.

But Sophie still has secrets, and they’re buried deep in her memory for good reason: The answers are dangerous and in high-demand. What is her true identity, and why was she hidden among humans? The truth could mean life or death—and time is running out.

 

I’ve heard great things about this middle grade series.  Have you read the first book yet?  Have you read the whole series?

 

Signature

 

 

Review of Dead Voices by Katherine Arden (physical copy)

 

This is a book two, so there are likely spoilers for book one in the synopsis and my review.

 

43069601._SY475_

Dead Voices by Katherine Arden

Bestselling author Katherine Arden returns with another creepy, spine-tingling adventure in this follow-up to the critically acclaimed Small Spaces.

Having survived sinister scarecrows and the malevolent smiling man in Small Spaces, newly minted best friends Ollie, Coco, and Brian are ready to spend a relaxing winter break skiing together with their parents at Mount Hemlock Resort. But when a snowstorm sets in, causing the power to flicker out and the cold to creep closer and closer, the three are forced to settle for hot chocolate and board games by the fire.

Ollie, Coco, and Brian are determined to make the best of being snowed in, but odd things keep happening. Coco is convinced she has seen a ghost, and Ollie is having nightmares about frostbitten girls pleading for help. Then Mr. Voland, a mysterious ghost hunter, arrives in the midst of the storm to investigate the hauntings at Hemlock Lodge. Ollie, Coco, and Brian want to trust him, but Ollie’s watch, which once saved them from the smiling man, has a new cautionary message: BEWARE.

With Mr. Voland’s help, Ollie, Coco, and Brian reach out to the dead voices at Mount Hemlock. Maybe the ghosts need their help–or maybe not all ghosts can or should be trusted.

Dead Voices is a terrifying follow-up to Small Spaces with thrills and chills galore and the captive foreboding of a classic ghost story.

Continue reading “Review of Dead Voices by Katherine Arden (physical copy)”

Middle Grade May Update!

 

Just an update on how my Middle Grade May challenge on TBR and Beyond went.  I really wanted to fit in a few more middle grade books, but I didn’t want to get too far behind on arcs.

 

I finished 6 of the 12 categories.

Continue reading “Middle Grade May Update!”