Middle Grade May Update!

 

Just an update on how my Middle Grade May challenge on TBR and Beyond went.  I really wanted to fit in a few more middle grade books, but I didn’t want to get too far behind on arcs.

 

I finished 6 of the 12 categories.

Continue reading “Middle Grade May Update!”

Review of The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James by Ashley Herring Blake (physical copy)

 

 

37539698

 

The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James by Ashley Herring Blake

 

Twelve-year-old Sunny St. James navigates heart surgery, reconnections with a lost mother, first kisses, and emerging feelings for another girl in this stunning, heartfelt novel–perfect for fans of Ali Benjamin and Erin Entrada Kelly.

When Sunny St. James receives a new heart, she decides to set off on a “New Life Plan”: 1) do awesome amazing things she could never do before; 2) find a new best friend; and 3) kiss a boy for the first time.

Her “New Life Plan” seems to be racing forward, but when she meets her new best friend Quinn, Sunny questions whether she really wants to kiss a boy at all. When the reemergence of her mother, Sunny begins a journey to becoming the new Sunny St. James.

This sweet, tender novel dares readers to find the might in their own hearts.

Continue reading “Review of The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James by Ashley Herring Blake (physical copy)”

Review of Aru Shah and the Song of Death by Roshani Chokshi (physical copy)

 

 

36323794

 

Aru Shah and the Song of Death by Roshani Chokshi

 

Aru is only just getting the hang of this whole Pandava thing when the Otherworld goes into full panic mode. The god of love’s bow and arrow have gone missing, and the thief isn’t playing Cupid. Instead, they’re turning people into heartless fighting-machine zombies. If that weren’t bad enough, somehow Aru gets framed as the thief. If she doesn’t find the arrow by the next full moon, she’ll be kicked out of the Otherworld. For good.

But, for better or worse, she won’t be going it alone.

Along with her soul-sister, Mini, Aru will team up with Brynne, an ultra-strong girl who knows more than she lets on, and Aiden, the boy who lives across the street and is also hiding plenty of secrets. Together they’ll battle demons, travel through a glittering and dangerous serpent realm, and discover that their enemy isn’t at all who they expected.

Continue reading “Review of Aru Shah and the Song of Death by Roshani Chokshi (physical copy)”

Review of City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab (physical copy)

 

 

35403058

 

City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab

 

Cassidy Blake’s parents are The Inspecters, a (somewhat inept) ghost-hunting team. But Cass herself can REALLY see ghosts. In fact, her best friend, Jacob, just happens to be one.

When The Inspecters head to ultra-haunted Edinburgh, Scotland, for their new TV show, Cass—and Jacob—come along. In Scotland, Cass is surrounded by ghosts, not all of them friendly. Then she meets Lara, a girl who can also see the dead. But Lara tells Cassidy that as an In-betweener, their job is to send ghosts permanently beyond the Veil. Cass isn’t sure about her new mission, but she does know the sinister Red Raven haunting the city doesn’t belong in her world. Cassidy’s powers will draw her into an epic fight that stretches through the worlds of the living and the dead, in order to save herself.

Continue reading “Review of City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab (physical copy)”

May’s TBR and Beyond Challenge

 

To anyone who is new on my blog, I’m a mod in a facebook group.  To everyone else, you know I definitely think you should join if you haven’t already.  We have group reads, challenges, games, and live author chats.  We try very hard to keep things drama free and like to have fun.

 

May’s challenge is Middle-Grade May.  You can join the event HERE.  You do need to be a member of the group, too.  You can request to join HERE.

Continue reading “May’s TBR and Beyond Challenge”

Review of Dragon Pearl by Yoon Ha Lee (digital arc)

 

34966859

 

Dragon Pearl by Yoon Ha Lee

 

Rick Riordan Presents Yoon Ha Lee’s space opera about thirteen-year-old Min, who comes from a long line of fox spirits. But you’d never know it by looking at her.

To keep the family safe, Min’s mother insists that none of them use any fox-magic, such as Charm or shape-shifting. They must appear human at all times. Min feels hemmed in by the household rules and resents the endless chores, the cousins who crowd her, and the aunties who judge her. She would like nothing more than to escape Jinju, her neglected, dust-ridden, and impoverished planet. She’s counting the days until she can follow her older brother, Jun, into the Space Forces and see more of the Thousand Worlds.

When word arrives that Jun is suspected of leaving his post to go in search of the Dragon Pearl, Min knows that something is wrong. Jun would never desert his battle cruiser, even for a mystical object rumored to have tremendous power. She decides to run away to find him and clear his name.

Min’s quest will have her meeting gamblers, pirates, and vengeful ghosts. It will involve deception, lies, and sabotage. She will be forced to use more fox-magic than ever before, and to rely on all of her cleverness and bravery. The outcome may not be what she had hoped, but it has the potential to exceed her wildest dreams.

This sci-fi adventure with the underpinnings of Korean mythology will transport you to a world far beyond your imagination.

Continue reading “Review of Dragon Pearl by Yoon Ha Lee (digital arc)”

Anticipated 2019 Middle Grade Books

 

There are quite a few middle grade books coming out in 2019 that sound really good.  I thought I would share 16 of those with you.  I’m not going to share covers for all of them because of storage space, but I’ll share a few cool ones.

 

Race to the Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse (no cover yet)

A seventh-grade girl and her brother, aided by various Navajo gods disguised as relatives, must stay one step ahead of a shape-shifting monster as they follow in the footsteps of the legendary Hero Twins to save their family.

 

 

Aru Shah and the Song of Death by Roshani Chokski

36323794

Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents best-selling author Roshani Chokshi and her sequel to Aru Shah and the End of Time. Aru is only just getting the hang of this whole Pandava thing when the Otherworld goes into full panic mode. The god of love’s bow and arrow have gone missing, and the thief isn’t playing Cupid. Instead, they’re turning people into heartless fighting-machine zombies. If that weren’t bad enough, somehow Aru gets framed as the thief. If she doesn’t find the arrow by the next full moon, she’ll be kicked out of the Otherworld. For good. But, for better or worse, she won’t be going it alone. Along with her soul-sister, Mini, Aru will team up with Brynne, an ultra-strong girl who knows more than she lets on, and Aiden, the boy who lives across the street and is also hiding plenty of secrets. Together they’ll battle demons, travel through a glittering and dangerous serpent realm, and discover that their enemy isn’t at all who they expected.

Continue reading “Anticipated 2019 Middle Grade Books”