LGBTQIA+ Recommendations

 

First, I need to state that I have no idea if the rep is done right in any of these.  Reading them as a straight cis woman, I can only listen to what other own voice reviewers say.  But I wanted to recommend some books that I’ve read and loved.  This is no where near a full list.  These are in no particular order.  Some of my favorites may be missing.  I’m being a bit lazy and picking from covers I already have in my album (recently).

 

47898064._SY475_

Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas

Yadriel has summoned a ghost, and now he can’t get rid of him.

When his traditional Latinx family has problems accepting his gender, Yadriel becomes determined to prove himself a real brujo. With the help of his cousin and best friend Maritza, he performs the ritual himself, and then sets out to find the ghost of his murdered cousin and set it free.

However, the ghost he summons is actually Julian Diaz, the school’s resident bad boy, and Julian is not about to go quietly into death. He’s determined to find out what happened and tie up some loose ends before he leaves. Left with no choice, Yadriel agrees to help Julian, so that they can both get what they want. But the longer Yadriel spends with Julian, the less he wants to let him leave.

Continue reading “LGBTQIA+ Recommendations”

Review of The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James by Ashley Herring Blake (physical copy)

 

 

37539698

 

The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James by Ashley Herring Blake

 

Twelve-year-old Sunny St. James navigates heart surgery, reconnections with a lost mother, first kisses, and emerging feelings for another girl in this stunning, heartfelt novel–perfect for fans of Ali Benjamin and Erin Entrada Kelly.

When Sunny St. James receives a new heart, she decides to set off on a “New Life Plan”: 1) do awesome amazing things she could never do before; 2) find a new best friend; and 3) kiss a boy for the first time.

Her “New Life Plan” seems to be racing forward, but when she meets her new best friend Quinn, Sunny questions whether she really wants to kiss a boy at all. When the reemergence of her mother, Sunny begins a journey to becoming the new Sunny St. James.

This sweet, tender novel dares readers to find the might in their own hearts.

Continue reading “Review of The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James by Ashley Herring Blake (physical copy)”