Review of Heart of the Impaler by Alexander Delacroix (earc)

 

Heart of the Impaler by Alexander Delacroix

In this dark, historical YA debut, two young men—one scarred and dutiful, the other wickedly magnetic—fall for the same young woman. But is it safe for her to love either of them back?

Ilona Csáki has no desire to marry the voivode’s eldest son, but love and marriage are the least of her worries.

The royal family’s enemies have already tried to put an arrow through her back—and if anyone discovers her blossoming feelings for her betrothed’s cousin Andrei, and younger brother, Vlad, she may just wish they’d succeeded.

Beneath the shadow of impending war, the only battle that will be deadlier than the one for Ilona’s life will be the one for her heart.

Alexander Delacroix’s darkly romantic debut is perfect for fans of Kiersten White’s And I Darken and Emily A. Duncan’s Wicked Saints.

Expected publication: December 7th 2021 by Swoon Reads

Continue reading “Review of Heart of the Impaler by Alexander Delacroix (earc)”

Goodreads Monday 11/22/21

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.  It will happen.  Probably a lot.

Continue reading “Goodreads Monday 11/22/21”

Down the TBR Hole #213

 

Down The TBR Hole is a meme created by lost in a story that revolves around cleansing your TBR of all those books you’re never going to read and sort through it all to know what’s actually on there.

Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when youre scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well thats going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 (or even more!) if youre feeling adventurous) books. Of course, if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go

I am going to remove sequels for books when I haven’t read book one.  They may or may not get added back later.

Since I was to all the recent books, I decided to go back to the beginning of my TBR and  remove a lot of older books I kept the first time around.

Continue reading “Down the TBR Hole #213”

Anticipated December 2021 Young Adult Books

 

There aren’t too many books coming out in December.  I tried to find the ones I think most readers are looking forward to.

$purchased

* read

%arc to read

Continue reading “Anticipated December 2021 Young Adult Books”

Blog Tour for Passport by Sophia Glock (promo)

 

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Passport by Sophia Glock.  This tour is being hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours.

 

Passport by Sophia Glock

Genre: Young Adult Graphic Novel Memoir

Publishing Date: November 16, 2021

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Passport by Sophia Glock (promo)”

September 2021 San Diego Trip (part two)

 

Part two starts with our third day in San Diego.  It was my birthday and I decided I wanted to spend the day north in Oceanside.  We had never gone before and I thought it could be fun.

 

We started our day going to the Surf Museum.

Continue reading “September 2021 San Diego Trip (part two)”

Blog Tour for Our Violent Ends by Chloe Gong (review and giveaway)

 

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Our Violent Ends by Chloe Gong.  This tour is being hosted by Turn the Page Tours.

 

TITLE: Our Violent Ends (These Violent Delights, #2)

AUTHOR: Chloe Gong
PUBLISHER: Margaret K. McElderry Books
RELEASE DATE: November 16th, 2021

GENRES: YOUNG ADULT FICTION—Historical, Fantasy, Romance
BUY LINK: https://bookshop.org/a/11727/9781534457720

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Our Violent Ends by Chloe Gong (review and giveaway)”

Rise Up!: How You Can Join the Fight Against White Supremacy by Crystal M. Fleming (promo post)

 

Rise Up! by Crystal M. Fleming

Where did racism come from? Why hasn’t it disappeared? And what can young people do about it?

Through vivid narratives and contemporary examples ripped from the headlines, Rise Up! provides young readers with a first-of-its-kind resource for understanding racial injustice and its continued impact on the US today, addressing questions like: Why are white supremacists still openly marching in America? And why are undocumented children of color separated from their families and housed in cages?

Sociologist and critically-acclaimed author Crystal Fleming delivers an in-depth overview of the roots and legacies of racism in the US and offers young people ways in which they can help foster a more just society. With her honest, direct tone, Crystal imparts the knowledge and values that unite all antiracists who wish to join the struggle for equality in the hopes of building a more inclusive world: empathy, respect, and tolerance.

Continue reading “Rise Up!: How You Can Join the Fight Against White Supremacy by Crystal M. Fleming (promo post)”