Blog Tour for This Is Why We Lie by Gabriella Lepore (earc review & excerpt)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for This Is Why We Lie by Gabriella Lepore.  This tour is being hosted by Inkyard Press.

 

This Is Why We Lie  

Gabriella Lepore

On Sale Date: September 21, 2021

9781335418609

Hardcover

$18.99 USD

Ages 13 And Up

320 pages

Continue reading “Blog Tour for This Is Why We Lie by Gabriella Lepore (earc review & excerpt)”

Blog Tour for The Girls Are Never Gone by Sarah Glenn Marsh (earc review)

 

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Girls Are Never Gone by Sarah Glenn Marsh.  This tour is being hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours.

 

The Girls are Never Gone by Sarah Glenn Marsh

Genre: Young Adult Horror

Publishing Date: September 7, 2021

Continue reading “Blog Tour for The Girls Are Never Gone by Sarah Glenn Marsh (earc review)”

Review of Redemptor by Jordan Ifueko (earc)

 

55624056._SY475_

Redemptor by Jordan Ifueko

The hotly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times bestselling YA fantasy about Tarisai’s quest to change her fate

For the first time, an Empress Redemptor sits on Aritsar’s throne. To appease the sinister spirits of the dead, Tarisai must now anoint a council of her own, coming into her full power as a Raybearer. She must then descend into the Underworld, a sacrifice to end all future atrocities.

Tarisai is determined to survive. Or at least, that’s what she tells her increasingly distant circle of friends. Months into her shaky reign as empress, child spirits haunt her, demanding that she pay for past sins of the empire.

With the lives of her loved ones on the line, assassination attempts from unknown quarters, and a handsome new stranger she can’t quite trust . . . Tarisai fears the pressure may consume her. But in this finale to the Raybearer duology, Tarisai must learn whether to die for justice . . . or to live for it.

Continue reading “Review of Redemptor by Jordan Ifueko (earc)”

Review of Into the Dying Light by Katy Rose Pool (earc)

 

43473602._SY475_

Into the Dying Light by Katy Rose Pool

In the jaw-dropping conclusion to the Age of Darkness trilogy, hearts will shatter, cities will fall, and a god will rise.

Solidifies Katy Rose Pool’s status as one of the best fantasy writers of the 21st century.”
Popsugar on As the Shadow Rises

Following the destruction of the City of Mercy, an ancient god has been resurrected and sealed inside Beru’s body. Both are at the mercy of the Prophet Pallas, who wields the god’s powers to subjugate the Six Prophetic Cities. But every day, the god grows stronger, threatening to break free and sow untold destruction.

Meanwhile, far away from Pallas Athos, Anton learns to harness his full powers as a Prophet. Armed with the truth about how the original Prophets killed the god, Anton leads Jude, Hassan, and Ephyra on a desperate quest to the edge of the world. With time running out, the group’s tenuous alliance is beset by mounting danger, tumultuous romance, and most of all by a secret that Anton is hiding: a way to destroy the god at the price of an unbearable sacrifice. But the cost of keeping that secret might be their lives—and the lives of everyone in the Six Prophetic Cities.

The Age of Darkness trilogy is perfect for fans of Throne of GlassChildren of Blood and Bone, and An Ember in the Ashes.

Continue reading “Review of Into the Dying Light by Katy Rose Pool (earc)”

Review of White Smoke by Tiffany D Jackson (earc)

 

 

White Smoke by Tiffany D. Jackson

The Haunting of Hill House meets Get Out in this chilling YA psychological thriller and modern take on the classic haunted house story from New York Times bestselling author Tiffany D. Jackson!

Marigold is running from ghosts. The phantoms of her old life keep haunting her, but a move with her newly blended family from their small California beach town to the embattled Midwestern city of Cedarville might be the fresh start she needs. Her mom has accepted a new job with the Sterling Foundation that comes with a free house, one that Mari now has to share with her bratty ten-year-old stepsister, Piper.

The renovated picture-perfect home on Maple Street, sitting between dilapidated houses, surrounded by wary neighbors has its . . . secrets. That’s only half the problem: household items vanish, doors open on their own, lights turn off, shadows walk past rooms, voices can be heard in the walls, and there’s a foul smell seeping through the vents only Mari seems to notice. Worse: Piper keeps talking about a friend who wants Mari gone.

But “running from ghosts” is just a metaphor, right?

As the house closes in, Mari learns that the danger isn’t limited to Maple Street. Cedarville has its secrets, too. And secrets always find their way through the cracks.

Expected publication: September 14th 2021 by Katherine Tegen Books

Continue reading “Review of White Smoke by Tiffany D Jackson (earc)”

Review of It All Comes Back To You by Farah Naz Rishi (physical arc)

 

55577204._SY475_

It All Comes Back To You by Farah Naz Rishi

After Kiran Noorani’s mom died, Kiran vowed to keep her dad and sister, Amira, close. Then out of the blue, Amira announces that she’s dating someone and might move cross-country with him. Kiran is thrown.

Deen Malik is thrilled that his older brother, Faisal, has found a great girlfriend, even if it’s getting serious quickly. Maybe now their parents’ focus will shift off Deen, who feels intense pressure to be the perfect son.

When Deen and Kiran come fact to face, they silently agree to keep their past a secret. Four years ago–before Amira and Faisal met–Kiran and Deen dated. But Deen ghosted Kiran with no explanation. Kiran will stop at nothing to find out what happened, and Deen will do anything, even if it means sabotaging his brother’s relationship, to keep her from reaching the truth. Though the chemistry between Kiran and Deen is undeniable, can either of them take down their walls?

Expected publication: September 14th 2021 by Quill Tree Books

Continue reading “Review of It All Comes Back To You by Farah Naz Rishi (physical arc)”

Blog Tour for Mark of the Wicked by Georgia Bowers (earc review)

 

Mark of the Wicked tour banner

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Mark of the Wicked by Georgia Bowers.  This tour is being hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours.

 

Mark of the Wicked by Georgia Bowers

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Publishing Date: August 10, 2021

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Mark of the Wicked by Georgia Bowers (earc review)”

Review of The Witch Haven by Sasha Peyton Smith (physical arc)

 

57179294._SY475_

The Witch Haven by Sasha Peyton Smith

The Last Magician meets The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy in this thrilling and atmospheric historical fantasy following a young woman who discovers she has magical powers and is thrust into a battle between witches and wizards.

In 1911 New York City, seventeen-year-old Frances Hallowell spends her days as a seamstress, mourning the mysterious death of her brother months prior. Everything changes when she’s attacked and a man ends up dead at her feet—her scissors in his neck, and she can’t explain how they got there.

Before she can be condemned as a murderess, two cape-wearing nurses arrive to inform her she is deathly ill and ordered to report to Haxahaven Sanitarium. But Frances finds Haxahaven isn’t a sanitarium at all: it’s a school for witches. Within Haxahaven’s glittering walls, Frances finds the sisterhood she craves, but the headmistress warns Frances that magic is dangerous. Frances has no interest in the small, safe magic of her school, and is instead enchanted by Finn, a boy with magic himself who appears in her dreams and tells her he can teach her all she’s been craving to learn, lessons that may bring her closer to discovering what truly happened to her brother.

Frances’s newfound power attracts the attention of the leader of an ancient order who yearns for magical control of Manhattan. And who will stop at nothing to have Frances by his side. Frances must ultimately choose what matters more, justice for her murdered brother and her growing feelings for Finn, or the safety of her city and fellow witches. What price would she pay for power, and what if the truth is more terrible than she ever imagined?

Continue reading “Review of The Witch Haven by Sasha Peyton Smith (physical arc)”

Review of This Poison Heart by Kalynn Bayron (earc)

 

54860241

 

This Poison Heart by Kalynn Bayron

Darkness blooms in bestselling author Kalynn Bayron’s new contemporary fantasy about a girl with a unique and deadly power.

Briseis has a gift: she can grow plants from tiny seeds to rich blooms with a single touch.

When Briseis’s aunt dies and wills her a dilapidated estate in rural New York, Bri and her parents decide to leave Brooklyn behind for the summer. Hopefully there, surrounded by plants and flowers, Bri will finally learn to control her gift. But their new home is sinister in ways they could never have imagined–it comes with a specific set of instructions, an old-school apothecary, and a walled garden filled with the deadliest botanicals in the world that can only be entered by those who share Bri’s unique family lineage.

When strangers begin to arrive on their doorstep, asking for tinctures and elixirs, Bri learns she has a surprising talent for creating them. One of the visitors is Marie, a mysterious young woman who Bri befriends, only to find that Marie is keeping dark secrets about the history of the estate and its surrounding community. There is more to Bri’s sudden inheritance than she could have imagined, and she is determined to uncover it . . . until a nefarious group comes after her in search of a rare and dangerous immortality elixir. Up against a centuries-old curse and the deadliest plant on earth, Bri must harness her gift to protect herself and her family.

From the bestselling author of Cinderella Is Dead comes another inspiring and deeply compelling story about a young woman with the power to conquer the dark forces descending around her.

Continue reading “Review of This Poison Heart by Kalynn Bayron (earc)”

Blog Tour for Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim (earc review)

 

Six Crimson Cranes tour banner

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim.  This tour is being hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours.

 

Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Publishing Date: July 6, 2021

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim (earc review)”