Review of Home Before Dark by Riley Sager (hardcover)

 

50833559._SX318_SY475_

Home Before Dark by Riley Sager

Maggie Holt is used to such questions. Twenty-five years ago, she and her parents, Ewan and Jess, moved into Baneberry Hall, a rambling Victorian estate in the Vermont woods. They spent three weeks there before fleeing in the dead of night, an ordeal Ewan later recounted in a nonfiction book called House of Horrors. His tale of ghostly happenings and encounters with malevolent spirits became a worldwide phenomenon, rivaling The Amityville Horror in popularity—and skepticism.

Today, Maggie is a restorer of old homes and too young to remember any of the events mentioned in her father’s book. But she also doesn’t believe a word of it. Ghosts, after all, don’t exist. When Maggie inherits Baneberry Hall after her father’s death, she returns to renovate the place to prepare it for sale. But her homecoming is anything but warm. People from the past, chronicled in House of Horrors, lurk in the shadows. And locals aren’t thrilled that their small town has been made infamous thanks to Maggie’s father. Even more unnerving is Baneberry Hall itself—a place filled with relics from another era that hint at a history of dark deeds. As Maggie experiences strange occurrences straight out of her father’s book, she starts to believe that what he wrote was more fact than fiction.

In the latest thriller from New York Times bestseller Riley Sager, a woman returns to the house made famous by her father’s bestselling horror memoir. Is the place really haunted by evil forces, as her father claimed? Or are there more earthbound—and dangerous—secrets hidden within its walls?

Continue reading “Review of Home Before Dark by Riley Sager (hardcover)”

Goodreads Monday 10/26/20

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.  It will happen.  Probably a lot.

 

49398072

When No One Is Watching  by Alyssa Cole

The gentrification of a Brooklyn neighborhood takes on a sinister new meaning…

Sydney Green is Brooklyn born and raised, but her beloved neighborhood seems to change every time she blinks. Condos are sprouting like weeds, FOR SALE signs are popping up overnight, and the neighbors she’s known all her life are disappearing. To hold onto her community’s past and present, Sydney channels her frustration into a walking tour and finds an unlikely and unwanted assistant in one of the new arrivals to the block—her neighbor Theo.

But Sydney and Theo’s deep dive into history quickly becomes a dizzying descent into paranoia and fear. Their neighbors may not have moved to the suburbs after all, and the push to revitalize the community may be more deadly than advertised.

When does coincidence become conspiracy? Where do people go when gentrification pushes them out? Can Sydney and Theo trust each other—or themselves—long enough to find out before they too disappear?

 

Have you read this yet?  Is it on your TBR?

 

Signature

 

 

Blog Tour for The Mirror Man by Jane Gilmartin (excerpt)

 

66-01-THE-MIRROR-MAN-Blog-Tour-Banner-640x247

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Mirror Man by Jane Gilmartin.  This tour is being hosted by the publisher, Mira Books.

 

The Mirror Man

Jane Gilmartin

On Sale Date: October 20, 2020

9780778309642, 0778309649

Hardcover

$27.99 USD, $34.99 CAD

Fiction / Science Fiction / Suspense

352 pages

Continue reading “Blog Tour for The Mirror Man by Jane Gilmartin (excerpt)”

TBR and Beyond’s October Challenge “All Hallow’s Eve”

 

I love October and the events never disappoint me.  TBR and Beyond is doing a team challenge for October.  I’m hoping to read some mystery/thrillers.  Maybe horror, too? 

 

JOIN HERE

Continue reading “TBR and Beyond’s October Challenge “All Hallow’s Eve””

August 2020 Wrap Up

I’ve still been slumping a bit with my reading, so August wasn’t a great month in numbers.  But I did read some books that I ended up loving.

These are in no particular order.

You Had Me At Hola paperback 4 stars

A Curse of Gold earc 4 stars

Grown earc 5 stars

Continue reading “August 2020 Wrap Up”

Goodreads Monday 8/31/20

50208350._SX318_SY475_

The Happy Ever After Playlist by Abby Jimenez

From the USA Today bestselling author of The Friend Zone comes an adorable and fresh romantic comedy about one trouble-making dog who brings together two perfect strangers.

Two years after losing her fiancé, Sloan Monroe still can’t seem to get her life back on track. But one trouble-making pup with a “take me home” look in his eyes is about to change everything. With her new pet by her side, Sloan finally starts to feel more like herself. Then, after weeks of unanswered texts, Tucker’s owner reaches out. He’s a musician on tour in Australia. And bottom line: He wants Tucker back.

Well, Sloan’s not about to give up her dog without a fight. But what if this Jason guy really loves Tucker? As their flirty texts turn into long calls, Sloan can’t deny a connection. Jason is hot and nice and funny. There’s no telling what could happen when they meet in person. The question is: With his music career on the rise, how long will Jason really stick around? And is it possible for Sloan to survive another heartbreak?

Have you read this?

review

Review of You Had Me At Hola by Alexis Daria (paperback)

 

48585246._SY475_

You Had Me at Hola by Alexis Daria

RITA ® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas—perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient.

Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers. 

 

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new “Leading Lady Plan” should be easy enough to follow—until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez. 

Leading Ladies don’t need a man to be happy

After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well. Joining this new cast as a last-minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents. To make it work, he’ll need to generate smoking-hot on-screen chemistry with Jasmine. Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had. 

Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars. 

With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton’s most closely guarded secret.

Continue reading “Review of You Had Me At Hola by Alexis Daria (paperback)”

Blog Tour for When I Was You by Amber Garza (arc review and excerpt)

 

598-02-HTP-Summer-Reads-Blog-Tour---MYSTERY-&-THRILLER-2020---640x247 (2)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for When I Was You by Amber Garza.  This tour is being hosted by Harlequin Trade Publishing.

 

WHEN I WAS YOU

Author: Amber Garza 

ISBN:     9780778361046

Publication Date: August 25, 2020 

Publisher: MIRA Books

Continue reading “Blog Tour for When I Was You by Amber Garza (arc review and excerpt)”

Can’t Wait Wednesday 8/19/20

 

cant-wait-wednesday

 

Can’t Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Wishful Endings and was previously hosted by Breaking the Spine.   It was created to show off a future release that you are excited for.

I apologize if there are any repeats.

Continue reading “Can’t Wait Wednesday 8/19/20”

Blog Tour For Lies Lies Lies by Adele Parks (excerpt)

 

598-02-HTP-Summer-Reads-Blog-Tour---MYSTERY-&-THRILLER-2020---640x247

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Lies Lies Lies by Adele Parks.  This tour is being hosted by Harlequin Trade Publishing.

 

LIES LIES LIES

Author: Adele Parks

ISBN: 9780778360889

Publication Date: August 4, 2020

Publisher: MIRA Books

Continue reading “Blog Tour For Lies Lies Lies by Adele Parks (excerpt)”