Review of A Lot Like Adios by Alexis Daria (paperback)

 

 

A Lot Like Adios by Alexis Daria

 

Hi Mich. It’s Gabe.

After burning out in her corporate marketing career, Michelle Amato has built a thriving freelance business as a graphic designer. So what if her love life is nonexistent? She’s perfectly fine being the black sheep of her marriage-obsessed Puerto Rican-Italian family. Besides, the only guy who ever made her want happily-ever-after disappeared thirteen years ago.

It’s been a long time.

Gabriel Aguilar left the Bronx at eighteen to escape his parents’ demanding expectations, but it also meant saying goodbye to Michelle, his best friend and longtime crush. Now, he’s the successful co-owner of LA’s hottest celebrity gym, with an investor who insists on opening a New York City location. It’s the last place Gabe wants to go, but when Michelle is unexpectedly brought on board to spearhead the new marketing campaign, everything Gabe’s been running from catches up with him.

I’ve missed you.

Michelle is torn between holding Gabe at arm’s length or picking up right where they left off—in her bed. As they work on the campaign, old feelings resurface, and their reunion takes a sexy turn. Facing mounting pressure from their families—who think they’re dating—and growing uncertainty about their futures, can they resolve their past mistakes, or is it only a matter of time before Gabe says adiós again?

Continue reading “Review of A Lot Like Adios by Alexis Daria (paperback)”

Blog Tour for My Darling Husband by Kimberly Belle (review and excerpt)

 

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for My Darling Husband by Kimberly Belle.  This tour is being hosted by Park Row Books.

 

My Darling Husband

Kimberly Belle

On Sale Date: March 8, 2022

9780778311560, 0778311562

Trade Paperback

$16.99 USD, $23.99 CAD

Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological

352 pages

Continue reading “Blog Tour for My Darling Husband by Kimberly Belle (review and excerpt)”

Blog Tour for The Sorority Murder by Allison Brennan (review and excerpt)

 

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Sorority Murder by Allison Brennan.  This tour is being hosted by Mira Books. 

 

The Sorority Murder : A Novel 

Allison Brennan

On Sale Date: December 28, 2021

9780778311683

Mass Market

$9.99 USD, $12.99 CAD

448 pages

Continue reading “Blog Tour for The Sorority Murder by Allison Brennan (review and excerpt)”

Review of Beneath the Stairs by Jennifer Fawcett (earc)

 

Beneath the Stairs by Jennifer Fawcett

In this spine-tingling, atmospheric debut for fans of Jennifer McMahon, Simone St. James, and Chris Bohjalian, a woman returns to her hometown after her childhood friend attempts suicide at a local haunted house—the same place where a traumatic incident shattered their lives twenty years ago.

Few in sleepy Sumner’s Mills have stumbled across the Octagon House hidden deep in the woods. Even fewer are brave enough to trespass. A man had killed his wife and two young daughters there, a shocking, gruesome crime that the sleepy upstate New York town tried to bury. One summer night, an emboldened fourteen-year-old Clare and her best friend, Abby, ventured into the Octagon House. Clare came out, but a piece of Abby never did.

Twenty years later, an adult Clare receives word that Abby has attempted suicide at the Octagon House and now lies in a coma. With little to lose and still grieving after a personal tragedy, Clare returns to her roots to uncover the darkness responsible for Abby’s accident.

An eerie page-turner, Beneath the Stairs is about the trauma that follows us from childhood to adulthood and returning to the beginning to reach the end.

Continue reading “Review of Beneath the Stairs by Jennifer Fawcett (earc)”

Review of Reckless Girls by Rachel Hawkins (earc)

 

Reckless Girls by Rachel Hawkins

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs comes a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set on an isolated Pacific island with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.

When Lux McAllister and her boyfriend, Nico, are hired to sail two women to a remote island in the South Pacific, it seems like the opportunity of a lifetime. Stuck in a dead-end job in Hawaii, and longing to travel the world after a family tragedy, Lux is eager to climb on board The Susannah and set out on an adventure. She’s also quick to bond with their passengers, college best friends Brittany and Amma. The two women say they want to travel off the beaten path. But like Lux, they may have other reasons to be seeking an escape.

Shimmering on the horizon after days at sea, Meroe Island is every bit the paradise the foursome expects, despite a mysterious history of shipwrecks, cannibalism, and even rumors of murder. But what they don’t expect is to discover another boat already anchored off Meroe’s sandy beaches. The owners of the Azure Sky, Jake and Eliza, are a true golden couple: gorgeous, laidback, and if their sleek catamaran and well-stocked bar are any indication, rich. Now a party of six, the new friends settle in to experience life on an exotic island, and the serenity of being completely off the grid. Lux hasn’t felt like she truly belonged anywhere in years, yet here on Meroe, with these fellow free spirits, she finally has a sense of peace.

But with the arrival of a skeevy stranger sailing alone in pursuit of a darker kind of good time, the balance of the group is disrupted. Soon, cracks begin to emerge: it seems that Brittany and Amma haven’t been completely honest with Lux about their pasts––and perhaps not even with each other. And though Jake and Eliza seem like the perfect pair, the rocky history of their relationship begins to resurface, and their reasons for sailing to Meroe might not be as innocent as they first appeared.

When it becomes clear that the group is even more cut off from civilization than they initially thought, it starts to feel like the island itself is closing in on them. And when one person goes missing, and another turns up dead, Lux begins to wonder if any of them are going to make it off the island alive.

Expected publication: January 4th 2022 by St. Martin’s Press

Continue reading “Review of Reckless Girls by Rachel Hawkins (earc)”

Review of The Final Girl Support Group by Grady Hendrix (hardcover)

 

The Final Girl Support Group by Grady Hendrix

A fast-paced, thrilling horror novel that follows a group of heroines to die for, from the brilliant New York Times bestselling author of The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires.

In horror movies, the final girl is the one who’s left standing when the credits roll. The one who fought back, defeated the killer, and avenged her friends. The one who emerges bloodied but victorious. But after the sirens fade and the audience moves on, what happens to her?

Lynnette Tarkington is a real-life final girl who survived a massacre twenty-two years ago, and it has defined every day of her life since. And she’s not alone. For more than a decade she’s been meeting with five other actual final girls and their therapist in a support group for those who survived the unthinkable, putting their lives back together, piece by piece. That is until one of the women misses a meeting and Lynnette’s worst fears are realized–someone knows about the group and is determined to take their lives apart again, piece by piece.

But the thing about these final girls is that they have each other now, and no matter how bad the odds, how dark the night, how sharp the knife, they will never, ever give up.

Continue reading “Review of The Final Girl Support Group by Grady Hendrix (hardcover)”

Can’t Wait Wednesday 11/10/21

 

cant-wait-wednesday

 

Can’t Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Wishful Endings and was previously hosted by Breaking the Spine.   It was created to show off a future release that you are excited for.

Continue reading “Can’t Wait Wednesday 11/10/21”

Blog Tour for Fan Club by Erin Mayer (excerpt)

 

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Fan Club by Erin Mayer.  This tour is being hosted by the publisher, Mira books.

 

Fan Club : A Novel 

Erin Mayer

On Sale Date: October 26, 2021

9780778311591

Trade Paperback

$16.99 USD

320 pages

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Fan Club by Erin Mayer (excerpt)”

Blog Tour for The Mother Next Door by Tara Laskowski (earc review and excerpt)

 

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Mother Next Door by Tara Laskowski.  This tour is being hosted by the publisher, Harlequin. 

 

The Mother Next Door : A Novel of Suspense 

Tara Laskowski

On Sale Date: October 12, 2021

9781525804700

Trade Paperback

Graydon House

$16.99 USD

352 pages

Continue reading “Blog Tour for The Mother Next Door by Tara Laskowski (earc review and excerpt)”