Review of Songs From The Deep by Kelly Powell (digital arc)

 

 

39778976._SY475_.jpg

 

Songs From The Deep by Kelly Powell

 

A girl searches for a killer on an island where deadly sirens lurk just beneath the waves in this gripping, atmospheric debut novel.

The sea holds many secrets.

Moira Alexander has always been fascinated by the deadly sirens who lurk along the shores of her island town. Even though their haunting songs can lure anyone to a swift and watery grave, she gets as close to them as she can, playing her violin on the edge of the enchanted sea. When a young boy is found dead on the beach, the islanders assume that he’s one of the sirens’ victims. Moira isn’t so sure.

Certain that someone has framed the boy’s death as a siren attack, Moira convinces her childhood friend, the lighthouse keeper Jude Osric, to help her find the real killer, rekindling their friendship in the process. With townspeople itching to hunt the sirens down, and their own secrets threatening to unravel their fragile new alliance, Moira and Jude must race against time to stop the killer before it’s too late—for humans and sirens alike.

Expected publication: November 5th 2019 by Margaret K. McElderry Books

Continue reading “Review of Songs From The Deep by Kelly Powell (digital arc)”

Review of Gravemaidens by Kelly Coon (digital arc)

 

 

44291755

 

Gravemaidens by Kelly Coon

 

The start of a fierce fantasy duology about three maidens who are chosen for their land’s greatest honor…and one girl determined to save her sister from the grave.

In the walled city-state of Alu, Kammani wants nothing more than to become the accomplished healer her father used to be before her family was cast out of their privileged life in shame.

When Alu’s ruler falls deathly ill, Kammani’s beautiful little sister, Nanaea, is chosen as one of three sacred maidens to join him in the afterlife. It’s an honor. A tradition. And Nanaea believes it is her chance to live an even grander life than the one that was stolen from her.

But Kammani sees the selection for what it really is—a death sentence.

Desperate to save her sister, Kammani schemes her way into the palace to heal the ruler. There she discovers more danger lurking in the sand-stone corridors than she could have ever imagined and that her own life—and heart—are at stake. But Kammani will stop at nothing to dig up the palace’s buried secrets even if it means sacrificing everything…including herself.

Hardcover, 416 pages
Expected publication: October 29th 2019 by Delacorte Press

Continue reading “Review of Gravemaidens by Kelly Coon (digital arc)”

Review of Deadly Little Scandals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (digital arc)

 

This is a book two, so there will be spoilers for book one below.

 

43661348

 

Deadly Little Scandals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

“Think of the White Gloves like the Junior League-by way of Skull and Bones?”

Reluctant debutante Sawyer Taft joined Southern high society for one reason and one reason alone: to identify and locate her biological father. But the answers Sawyer found during her debutante year only left her with more questions and one potentially life-ruining secret. When her cousin Lily ropes her into pledging a mysterious, elite, and all-female secret society called the White Gloves, Sawyer soon discovers that someone in the group’s ranks may have the answers she’s looking for. Things are looking up… until Sawyer and the White Gloves make a disturbing discover near the family’s summer home–and uncover a twisted secret, decades in the making.

No one is quite who they seem to be.

Continue reading “Review of Deadly Little Scandals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (digital arc)”

Short Review of Pumpkinheads by Rainbow Rowell and Faith Erin Hicks (physical paperback)

 

 

40864789

 

Pumpkinheads by Rainbow Rowell and Faith Erin Hicks

 

Deja and Josiah are seasonal best friends.

Every autumn, all through high school, they’ve worked together at the best pumpkin patch in the whole wide world. (Not many people know that the best pumpkin patch in the whole wide world is in Omaha, Nebraska, but it definitely is.) They say good-bye every Halloween, and they’re reunited every September 1.

But this Halloween is different—Josiah and Deja are finally seniors, and this is their last season at the pumpkin patch. Their last shift together. Their last good-bye.

Josiah’s ready to spend the whole night feeling melancholy about it. Deja isn’t ready to let him. She’s got a plan: What if—instead of moping and the usual slinging lima beans down at the Succotash Hut—they went out with a bang? They could see all the sights! Taste all the snacks! And Josiah could finally talk to that cute girl he’s been mooning over for three years . . .

What if their last shift was an adventure?

Continue reading “Short Review of Pumpkinheads by Rainbow Rowell and Faith Erin Hicks (physical paperback)”

Review of Into the Crooked Place by Alexandra Christo (physical arc)

Into the Crooked Place Blog Tour (1)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Into The Crooked Place by Alexandra Christo.  This tour is being hosted by Macmillan.

 

 

Into the Crooked Place by Alexandra Christo

Into the Crooked Place begins a gritty two-book YA fantasy series from Alexandra Christo, the author of To Kill a Kingdom.

 

INTO_THE_CROOKED_PLACE6

Continue reading “Review of Into the Crooked Place by Alexandra Christo (physical arc)”

Review of The Other, Better Me by Antony John (physical HC)

 

43453706._SY475_.jpg

 

The Other, Better Me by Antony John

From the critically acclaimed author of Mascot comes this heartfelt novel, perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Cammie McGovern, about a girl searching for the meaning of family.

Lola and Momma have always been a team of two. It hasn’t always been easy for Lola, being one of the only kids she knows with just one parent around. And lately she’s been feeling incomplete, like there’s a part of herself that she can’t know until she knows her dad.

But what will happen—to Lola, to Momma, to their team of two—if she finds him?

Continue reading “Review of The Other, Better Me by Antony John (physical HC)”

Blog Tour for Resurrection Girls by Ava Morgyn (review and giveaway)

 

Resurrection Girls tour banner

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Resurrection Girls by Ava Morgyn.  This tour is being hosted by YA Bound Book Tours.  

 

Resurrection Girls
by Ava Morgyn
Genre: YA Magical Realism
Release date: October 1st 2019

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Resurrection Girls by Ava Morgyn (review and giveaway)”