The Counterclockwise Heart by Brian Farrey (promo)

 

 

The Counterclockwise Heart by Brian Farrey

Tick . . . tick . . . tick . . .
 
Time is running out in the empire of Rheinvelt.
 
The sudden appearance of a strange and frightening statue foretells darkness. The Hierophants—magic users of the highest order—have fled the land. And the shadowy beasts of the nearby Hinterlands are gathering near the borders, preparing for an attack.
 
Young Prince Alphonsus is sent by his mother, the Empress Sabine, to reassure the people while she works to quell the threat of war. But Alphonsus has other problems on his mind, including a great secret: He has a clock in his chest where his heart should be—and it’s begun to run backwards, counting down to his unknown fate.
 
Searching for answers about the clock, Alphonsus meets Esme, a Hierophant girl who has returned to the empire in search of a sorceress known as the Nachtfrau. When riddles from their shared past threaten the future of the empire, Alphonsus and Esme must learn to trust each other and work together to save it—or see the destruction of everything they both love.

Expected publication: February 1st 2022 by Algonquin Young Readers

Continue reading “The Counterclockwise Heart by Brian Farrey (promo)”

African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History by Tracey Baptiste (promo)

 

African Icons by Tracey Baptiste

In a richly designed work with maps, portraits, and graphics throughout, the award-winning author of the Jumbies series shows readers this underrepresented side of Black history and Black excellence.

Every year, American schoolchildren celebrate Black History Month. They study almost exclusively American stories, which are not only rooted in struggle over enslavement or oppression, but also take in only four hundred years of a rich and thrilling history that goes back many millennia across the African continent. Through portraits of ten historical figures—from Menes, the first ruler to be called Pharaoh, to Queen Idia, a sixteenth-century power broker, visionary, and diplomat—African Icons takes readers on a journey across Africa to meet some of the great leaders and thinkers whose ideas built a continent and shaped our world.

Continue reading “African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History by Tracey Baptiste (promo)”

Rise Up!: How You Can Join the Fight Against White Supremacy by Crystal M. Fleming (promo post)

 

Rise Up! by Crystal M. Fleming

Where did racism come from? Why hasn’t it disappeared? And what can young people do about it?

Through vivid narratives and contemporary examples ripped from the headlines, Rise Up! provides young readers with a first-of-its-kind resource for understanding racial injustice and its continued impact on the US today, addressing questions like: Why are white supremacists still openly marching in America? And why are undocumented children of color separated from their families and housed in cages?

Sociologist and critically-acclaimed author Crystal Fleming delivers an in-depth overview of the roots and legacies of racism in the US and offers young people ways in which they can help foster a more just society. With her honest, direct tone, Crystal imparts the knowledge and values that unite all antiracists who wish to join the struggle for equality in the hopes of building a more inclusive world: empathy, respect, and tolerance.

Continue reading “Rise Up!: How You Can Join the Fight Against White Supremacy by Crystal M. Fleming (promo post)”

Review and Excerpt of Batman and Robin and Howard by Jeffrey Brown (earc)

 

Batman and Robin and Howard by Jeffrey Brown

Sidelined by a crime-fighting field trip gone wrong, Damian Wayne must refocus his attention on his life as an average student and learning how to be a team player–especially when he meets his match in his new rival, Howard.

To Damian Wayne, there is nothing more important than protecting the streets of Gotham City as Robin. But when he makes a critical mistake while out on patrol, Damian finds himself benched. And what’s more, Damian’s dad, Bruce Wayne–a.k.a. Batman–decides that starting over in a new school will be just the distraction Damian needs from his superhero routine.

Certain that Gotham Metro Academy has nothing to teach him, Damian is completely unprepared for the challenge he finds in Howard–the smartest and most athletic kid in school. The boys’ rivalry is instantaneous and fierce…and both are sure only one of them can be the best in their class.

What follows is a funny story of rivalry, friendship, and mystery from bestselling author and illustrator Jeffrey Brown.

Continue reading “Review and Excerpt of Batman and Robin and Howard by Jeffrey Brown (earc)”

Simon & Schuster Middle Grade Book Blitz!

 

 

I’m excited to be sharing some information about upcoming middle grade releases from Simon & Schuster!  These books all look so good.  Each one is a sequel/continuing series.

Continue reading “Simon & Schuster Middle Grade Book Blitz!”

Cold-Blooded Myrtle by Elizabeth C. Bunce (promo post)

 

Cold-Blooded Myrtle by Elizabeth C. Bunce

An Edgar Award–winning series!

Twelve-year-old Young Lady of Quality and Victorian amateur detective Myrtle Hardcastle returns, and now she’s on the trail of a serial killer in her hometown of Swinburne.
 
When Mr. Leighton, proprietor of Leighton’s Mercantile, is found dead on the evening his annual Christmas shop display is to be unveiled, it’s clear a killer had revenge in mind. But who would want to kill the local dry-goods merchant? Perhaps someone who remembers the unresolved, long-ago scandal that occurred when he was a professor and archaeologist. When the killer strikes again, ­­­each time manipulating the figures in the display to foretell the crime, Myrtle finds herself racing to uncover the long-buried facts of a historical scandal—and the motivations of a modern murderer.

Continue reading “Cold-Blooded Myrtle by Elizabeth C. Bunce (promo post)”

We Can Be Heroes by Kyrie McCauley (book promo)

 

56197408

 

We Can Be Heroes by Kyrie McCauley

 

Kyrie McCauley, author of If These Wings Could Fly, delivers a powerful contemporary YA novel about a trio of girls fighting for each other in the aftermath of a school shooting and the lasting bonds of friendship. Perfect for fans of Laura Ruby and Mindy McGinnis.

“Welcome to Bell, proud home of Bell Firearms for two hundred years, and where five months ago, the teen heir to the Bell fortune took his father’s guns to school and killed his ex-girlfriend, Cassandra Queen.” —WE CAN BE HEROES PODCAST

Beck and Vivian never could stand each other, but they always tried their best for their mutual friend, Cassie. After the town moves on from Cassie’s murder too fast, Beck and Vivian finally find common ground: vengeance. They memorialize Cassie by secretly painting murals of her around town, a message to the world that Cassie won’t be forgotten. But Beck and Vivian are keeping secrets, like the third passenger riding in Beck’s VW bus with them—Cassie’s ghost.

When their murals catch the attention of a podcaster covering Cassie’s case, they become the catalyst for a debate that Bell Firearms can no longer ignore. With law enforcement closing in on them, Beck and Vivian hurry to give Cassie the closure she needs—by delivering justice to those responsible for her death.

Expected publication: September 7th 2021 by Katherine Tegen Books

Continue reading “We Can Be Heroes by Kyrie McCauley (book promo)”

Leisha’s Song by Lynn Slaughter (excerpt)

 

Book Cover_Leisha's Song

 

Suspense and romance take center stage in new YA mystery from Sisters in Crime author

LOUISVILLE, Kentucky – Coming this summer from author and former dancer Lynn Slaughter is Leisha’s Song (June 22, 2021, Melange Books/Fire and Ice), a coming-of-age novel that explores the challenges of growing up when teens’ passions and dreams clash with parental expectations, as well as the role the arts play in building powerful connections that transcend racial and social class differences.

Leisha knows something’s wrong. Her beloved vocal coach at boarding school would never have resigned and disappeared like this in the midst of preparing her prize students for a major vocal competition. Leisha’s determined to find her, make sure she’s okay. 

Cody, a sensitive cellist, insists on helping her. Sparks fly, clues multiply, and romance blossoms, despite the disapproval of their families.

Leisha’s desire to be with Cody and pursue music rather than medicine puts her on a direct collision course with her grandfather, the only parent she’s ever had. But an even more immediate threat looms—because as Leisha draws closer to the truth about her teacher’s disappearance, she puts her own life in grave danger.

Continue reading “Leisha’s Song by Lynn Slaughter (excerpt)”

Code Blue by Marissa Slaven (excerpt)

 

Print

 

Atlantic (Tic) Brewer never knew her father, a hydrologist who died at sea before she was born. Raised by her mother and an elderly neighbor, Tic’s small home on the Edge is under threat from rising sea levels.  At sixteen-years-old Tic is smart and studies hard as she prepares to attend one of many Academies established worldwide when the International Change Agreement warned of imminent environmental collapse. There she meets friends Phish and Lee, who like her pledge to save all human civilization in a race against time.

Tic follows in her father’s footsteps, hunting for the cause of unprecedented icecap melt, but when she accidentally stumbles upon a note, suspicions are raised surrounding his untimely death. To solve both mysteries, Tic is helped by her new friends, but when they dig deeper Tic is confronted by enemies she never knew she had. In an environment where cities have been swallowed by rising sea levels and millions have died from natural disasters, starvation, and disease, Tic finds herself and those she loves in an urgent fight for their own personal survival. 

Far from your typical boarding-school adventure, Code Blue is a young adult eco-thriller that challenges readers with questions relevant to our time.

Purchase Link

Continue reading “Code Blue by Marissa Slaven (excerpt)”

Championess by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas (promo post)

 

54303178

 

Championess is based on the true story of Elizabeth Wilkinson, a female bare-knuckle boxer in 18th century  London. Elizabeth, reimagined as half-Indian, and her sister Tess struggle to make ends meet and cover Tess’s  debts. While Elizabeth works odd jobs at the local newspaper, the only way she knows how to make enough  money to help them survive is her true passion, bareknuckle boxing. With Tess’s support, Elizabeth trains at the  boxing facility of one of the most famous retired boxers and the only real fight promoter of any notoriety, James  Figg. As Elizabeth trains with Figg and James Stokes, she confronts her personal demons of what destroyed her  family and comes to terms with being the first half-Indian female boxer in a white male world.  

Writers: Kelly Zekas & Tarun Shanker 

Artist: Amanda Perez Puentes 

Editor: Legendary Comics’ Nikita Kannekanti 

Legendary Comics YA’s forthcoming graphic novel, Championess, is to be adapted into a television series by new  UK-based production company Watford & Essex. In November, the formation of Watford & Essex, the joint  venture between Legendary Entertainment and acclaimed showrunners Emma Frost and Matthew  Graham (“Life On Mars,” “Ashes to Ashes,” “The White Queen,” “The Spanish Princess,” “Doctor Who” and “The  Man In The High Castle”) was announced. The company launched with a slate of ten projects in development  including Championess

Continue reading “Championess by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas (promo post)”