Q&A with author Paula Chase for Keeping It Real

 

 

Keeping It Real by Paula Chase

 

Marigold Johnson is looking forward to a future full of family, friends, and fashion–but what will she do when it all explodes in her face? When she discovers that her entire life is a lie?

Paula Chase, the author of So Done, Dough Boys, and Turning Point, explores betrayal, conformity, and forgiveness–and what it means to be family–in this stand-alone novel perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Rebecca Stead, and Ren�e Watson.

Marigold Johnson can’t wait to attend a special program at her family’s business, Flexx Unlimited, for teens who love fashion. But Mari quickly realizes that she’s out of place compared to the three other trainees–and one girl, Kara, seems to hate her on sight.

As tension builds and the stakes at the program get higher, Mari uncovers exactly why Kara’s been so spiteful. She also discovers some hard truths about herself and her family.

Paula Chase explores complex themes centering on friendships, family, and what it means to conform to fit in. Keeping It Real is also a powerful exploration of what happens when parents pick and choose what they shield their children from. Timely and memorable, Paula Chase’s character-driven story touches on creativity, art, fashion, and music. A great choice for the upper middle grade audience.

Continue reading “Q&A with author Paula Chase for Keeping It Real”

Q&A with author Tanita S. Davis for Partly Cloudy

 

 

Partly Cloudy by Tanita S. Davis

From award-winning author Tanita S. Davis comes a nuanced exploration of the microaggressions of middle school and a young Black girl named Madalyn who learns that being a good friend means dealing with the blue skies and the rain—and having the tough conversations on days that are partly cloudy. Perfect for fans of A Good Kind of Trouble and From the Desk of Zoe Washington.

Lightning couldn’t strike twice, could it? After a terrible year, Madalyn needs clear skies desperately. Moving in with her great-uncle, Papa Lobo, and switching to a new school is just the first step.

It’s not all rainbows and sunshine, though. Madalyn discovers she’s the only Black girl in her class, and while most of her classmates are friendly, assumptions lead to some serious storms.

Papa Lobo’s long-running feud with neighbor Mrs. Baylor brings wild weather of its own, and Madalyn wonders just how far things will go. But when fire threatens the community, Madalyn discovers that truly being neighborly means more than just staying on your side of the street— it means weathering tough conversations—and finding that together a family can pull through anything.

Award-winning author Tanita S. Davis shows us that life isn’t always clear, and that partly cloudy days still contain a bit of blue worth celebrating.

Continue reading “Q&A with author Tanita S. Davis for Partly Cloudy”

Q&A with Derek Milman (plus my review of Swipe Right For Murder)

 

I swear that Derek is one of the nicest people ever.  Not only did he agree to do this Q&A, but he answered so many questions.  I think you will enjoy his answers as much as I did.

 

First, about Derek (from https://www.derekmilman.com/):

 

16062789

 

Derek was born in New York City, and raised in Westchester County, NY. In grade school he wrote short stories about stuff like aliens and submarines and magical strawberries. He would frequently send story ideas to computer game companies, which would always result in an awkward phone call informing Derek that, at eight years old, he was too young to be put on their payroll. In high school, Derek published an underground humor magazine (sold in local stores) that caught the attention of the New York Times, who wrote a profile on him at the tender age of 14.

Derek studied English, Theater, and Creative Writing at Northwestern University. He started off as a playwright and screenwriter–his first play was produced in New York City right after he graduated college–and went on to receive an MFA in acting at the Yale School of Drama. As a classically trained thespian (Derek’s favorite word), Derek has performed on stages across the country, and appeared in numerous TV shows and films, working with two Academy Award winning film directors (who probably have no recollection of working with Derek).

Derek has taught at a film school in NYC, worked the front desk of a yoga studio, and had a very short stint as a DJ in a Lower East Side club (if you tipped him well enough, he would pretend to have that New Order B-side no one ever heard of). He began writing YA fiction a few years ago. Scream All Night is his debut novel, out now. Swipe Right for Murder, coming August 2019 from Little, Brown/Jimmy Patterson, will be his second novel for young adults.

Derek currently lives in Brooklyn, where he writes fiction full time, wanders the waterfront staring at the Manhattan skyline, plays video games, and buys lime green hoodies made out of locally-sourced hemp.

Continue reading “Q&A with Derek Milman (plus my review of Swipe Right For Murder)”

Q&A With Author Isabel Sterling (These Witches Don’t Burn)

 

I’m so excited to have author Isabel Sterling here today answering some questions for my readers.  These Witches Don’t Burn is one of my most anticipated releases for 2019.  I’ll share a bit about the book first and then there will be the Q&A section.

 

thesewitchesdon'tburn_rgb

Continue reading “Q&A With Author Isabel Sterling (These Witches Don’t Burn)”

Review of Ripley’s Revenge by Vicki Graybosch, Kimberly Troutman, Linda McGregor, and Teresa Duncan (plus Q&A with the authors)

 

41257417.jpg

 

Ripley’s Revenge Shallow End Gals (Book Five, New Orleans Series) by Vicki Graybosch, Kimberly Troutman, Linda McGregor, and Teresa Duncan

 

Continue reading “Review of Ripley’s Revenge by Vicki Graybosch, Kimberly Troutman, Linda McGregor, and Teresa Duncan (plus Q&A with the authors)”

Blog Tour for So Glad To Meet You by Lisa Super (author Q&A and giveaway)

 

TOUR-BANNER

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for So Glad To Meet You by Lisa Super.  This tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.  I will be sharing my Q&A with the author and there will be a giveaway.

 

So Glad to Meet You

by Lisa Super

Publisher: Diversion Books

Release Date: July 31, 2018

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

 

39302768

Continue reading “Blog Tour for So Glad To Meet You by Lisa Super (author Q&A and giveaway)”

Blog Tour for The Accidental Bad Girl by Maxine Kaplan (Author Q&A plus giveaway)

 

BANNER

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Accidental Bad Girl by Maxine Kaplan.  This tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.   Today I will have information about the book, a Q&A with the author, and a giveaway.  I was supposed to review the book, but I haven’t received it yet.  So I apologize that my review will be later and not in time for this post.

 

 

The Accidental Bad Girl

by Maxine Kaplan

Publisher: Abrams

Release Date: May 15, 2018

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

 

9781419728587_s3

Continue reading “Blog Tour for The Accidental Bad Girl by Maxine Kaplan (Author Q&A plus giveaway)”