Top Five Tuesday 9/10/19

 

Top Five Tuesday was created by Bionic Book Worm.  You can find the topics on the blog I just linked.

 

This week’s top is top five book covers of 2019.  This one is torture.  There were so many beautiful covers this year, but I’ll do a bigger post towards the end of the year or beginning of 2020.   I’m sure I forgot about some and my tastes change all the time.  But these are my current choices.

Continue reading “Top Five Tuesday 9/10/19”

Top Ten Tuesday 9/10/19

 

TTT-NEW

 

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.   You can find each week’s topic on her site.

 

This week’s theme is 10 books I’ve been avoiding (and why).  I’m not going to post covers, so sorry this will be a bit plain.

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday 9/10/19”

Blog Tour for Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron (review and quotes)

 

tour banner (22)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron.  This tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.  I’ll be sharing my review, favorite quotes, info about the book, author, and characters, and there will be a giveaway.

 

You can see all the tour dates here on the Tour Schedule.

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron (review and quotes)”

Goodreads Monday 9/9/19

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.

 

26114463

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.

Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.

Now, Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic—the Red Church. If she bests her fellow students in contests of steel, poison and the subtle arts, she’ll be inducted among the Blades of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the vengeance she desires. But a killer is loose within the Church’s halls, the bloody secrets of Mia’s past return to haunt her, and a plot to bring down the entire congregation is unfolding in the shadows she so loves.

Will she even survive to initiation, let alone have her revenge?

 

I feel like I’m the only person who hasn’t read this yet.  What were your thoughts?

 

Signature

 

 

August 2019 Yearly Challenge Update

 

I’m doing surprisingly well with all these challenges.  If you saw my early posts, you’ll know that I hardly ever signed up for yearly challenges.   It overwhelms me and I always forget to go back and update on each one.  But I wanted to push myself a bit this year and signed up for a few.

 

yarc-2019-header-brown

In August, I read 1 book by an Asian author.  My total is 12/11.  So I’ve met this goal already and hope to get some more read before the end of the year.

Continue reading “August 2019 Yearly Challenge Update”

Down the TBR Hole #98

 

Down The TBR Hole is a meme created by lost in a story that revolves around cleansing your TBR of all those books you’re never going to read and sort through it all to know what’s actually on there.

Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when youre scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well thats going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 (or even more!) if youre feeling adventurous) books. Of course, if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go

 

I’m going to start doing these a little differently to save picture space/time.  I’ll still list all 15-20 books, but I’m only going to add a few pictures.  It will likely be the books I’m keeping unless there are none for the week.  Then I’ll add a few random ones so it’s not super boring.

Continue reading “Down the TBR Hole #98”

Blog Tour for Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan (review and quotes)

 

TigerQueen-TourBanner

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan.  This tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.

 

TigerQueen-Cover

Tiger Queen

by Annie Sullivan

Publisher: BLINK

Release date: September 10, 2019

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling, Romance

 

From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan (review and quotes)”