Review of The Agathas by Kathleen Glasgow and Liz Lawson (earc)

 

The Agathas by Kathleen Glasgow and Liz Lawson

Last summer, Alice Ogilve’s basketball-star boyfriend Steve dumped her. Then she disappeared for five days. Where she went and what happened to her is the biggest mystery in Castle Cove, because she’s not talking. Or it was, at least. But now, another one of Steve’s girlfriends has vanished: Brooke Donovan, Alice’s ex–best friend. And it doesn’t look like Brooke will be coming back. . .

Enter Iris Adams, Alice’s tutor. Iris has her own reasons for wanting to disappear, though unlike Alice, she doesn’t have the money or the means. That could be changed by the hefty reward Brooke’s grandmother is offering to anyone who can share information about her granddaughter’s whereabouts. The police are convinced Steve is the culprit, but Alice isn’t so sure, and with Iris on her side, she just might be able to prove her theory.

In order to get the reward and prove Steve’s innocence, they need to figure out who killed Brooke Donovan. And luckily Alice has exactly what they need—the complete works of Agatha Christie. If there’s anyone that can teach the girls how to solve a mystery it’s the master herself. But the town of Castle Cove holds many secrets, and Alice and Iris have no idea how much danger they’re about to walk into.

Expected publication: May 3rd 2022 by Delacorte Press

Continue reading “Review of The Agathas by Kathleen Glasgow and Liz Lawson (earc)”

Blog Tour for The Noh Family by Grace K. Shim (promo)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Noh Family by Grace K. Shim.  This tour is being hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours.

 

The Noh Family by Grace K Shim

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Publishing Date: May 3, 2022

Continue reading “Blog Tour for The Noh Family by Grace K. Shim (promo)”

Blog Tour for Girl Overboard by Sandra Block (promo)

 

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Girl Overboard by Sandra Block.  This tour is being hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours.

 

Girl Overboard by Sandra Block

Genre: Young Adult Thriller

Publishing Date: May 3, 2022

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Girl Overboard by Sandra Block (promo)”

Can’t Wait Wednesday 5/4/22

 

cant-wait-wednesday

 

Can’t Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Wishful Endings and was previously hosted by Breaking the Spine.   It was created to show off a future release that you are excited for.

Continue reading “Can’t Wait Wednesday 5/4/22”

Review of Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches by Kate Scelsa (earc)

 

Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches by Kate Scelsa

A witchy, atmospheric lesbian contemporary romance set in Salem—from the acclaimed author of Fans of the Impossible Life. Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Becky Albertalli.

Seventeen-year-old Eleanor is the least likely person in Salem to believe in witchcraft—or think that her life could be transformed by mysterious forces. Ostracized by her classmates after losing her best friend and first love, Chloe, Eleanor has spent the past year in a haze, vowing to stay away from anything resembling romance.

But when a handwritten guide to tarot arrives in the mail at the witchy souvenir store where Eleanor works, it seems to bring with it the message that magic is about to enter her life. Cynical Eleanor is quick to dismiss this promise, until real-life witch Pix shows up with an unusual invitation. Inspired by the magic and mystery of the tarot, Eleanor decides to open herself up to making friends with Pix and her coven of witches, and even to the possibility of a new romance.

But Eleanor’s complicated history in Salem continues to haunt her, and she is desperate to keep Pix from finding out the truth. Eleanor will have to reckon with the old ghosts that threaten to destroy everything, even her chance at new love.

Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches is an atmospheric and romantic coming-of-age about learning to make peace with the past in order to accept the beauty of the present.

Expected publication: May 31st 2022 by Balzer + Bray 

Continue reading “Review of Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches by Kate Scelsa (earc)”

Dirt Road Home by Alexander Nader (promo post)

 

Dirt Road Home by Alexander Nader

When Detroit teenager Logan Davis’ flake of a mother shoves him and his brother, Dex, in the back of her broke down Buick to chase her newest husband in Tennessee, he thinks it will be the end of the world. With the worst southern stereotypes filling his mind, Logan battles every aspect of life in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, including his new potential stepdad. But his knack for fixing up fast cars helps him fit right in with the wild and loud southern attitude. A chance encounter at a back road street race leads him directly into the path of the undeniable spirit of the south; her name is Leah. Dirt Road Home is a novel about finding yourself and realizing that sometimes you have to travel five hundred miles away from your house to find your home.

Continue reading “Dirt Road Home by Alexander Nader (promo post)”

Goodreads Monday 5/2/22

 

draft-title-page.png

 

Goodreads Monday was hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.   It’s now hosted by Budget Tales Book Blog.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.  It will happen.  Probably a lot.

Continue reading “Goodreads Monday 5/2/22”

Down The TBR Hole #236

 

Down The TBR Hole is a meme created by lost in a story that revolves around cleansing your TBR of all those books you’re never going to read and sort through it all to know what’s actually on there.

Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when youre scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well thats going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 (or even more!) if youre feeling adventurous) books. Of course, if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go

I am going to remove sequels for books when I haven’t read book one.  They may or may not get added back later.

Since I was to all the recent books, I decided to go back to the beginning of my TBR and  remove a lot of older books I kept the first time around.

Continue reading “Down The TBR Hole #236”