Blog Tour for Furia by Yamile Saied Mendez (promo)

 

 

*NOW AVAILABLE IN PAPERBACK*

 

A REESE WITHERSPOON X HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB PICK

RECIPIENT OF THE 2021 PURA BELPRÉ AWARD

One of BuzzFeed’s Must-Read Books of 2020

A Cosmopolitan Best Book of 2020

Named to Kirkus Reviews’ Best Books of 2020

A SheReads Best Book of 2020

A New York Public Library Best Book of 2020

 

 

Algonquin Young Readers

Publication Date: February 15, 2022 | ISBN: 9781643751894

$10.95 | 368 pages

www.algonquinyoungreaders.com 

https://yamilesmendez.com/

 

 

Born and raised in Rosario, Argentina, the cradle of the some of the world’s greatest soccer players, Yamile Saied Méndez was destined to fall in love with the sport. Social conventions made it impossible for girls to play at home, but Yamile followed Argentinian fútbol religiously even after emigrating to the United States, celebrating from afar the advancements that led to the 2018 professionalism of soccer for girls. Méndez’s first YA novel was selected as a Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick, praised as a powerful #ownvoices contemporary novel, and included in best of lists by Buzzfeed, Cosmopolitan, and more, making her triumphant return to Rosario and her fútbol-obsessed origins one of the most loved and talked about YA books of 2020. Now, Algonquin is proud to announce the paperback release of FURIA (Publication Date: February 15, 2022; Ages 14 – 18). Against the backdrop of the Latin American and Spanish Ni Una Menos feminist movement, FURIA follows a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line—even her blossoming romance—to follow her dreams.

Camila Hassan lives a double life. At home, she is a careful daughter, living within her mother’s narrow expectations, in her rising-soccer-star brother’s shadow, and under the abusive rule of her short-tempered father. On the field, she is La Furia, a powerhouse of skill and talent. When her team qualifies for the South American tournament, Camila gets the chance to see just how far her talents can take her. In her wildest dreams, she’d get an athletic scholarship to a North American university, but the path ahead won’t be easy. Her parents, who don’t know about her passion, wouldn’t allow a girl to play fútbol—and she needs their permission to go any farther. Meanwhile, the boy she once loved, Diego, is not only back in town, but has also become an international star, playing in Italy for the renowned team Juventus. Things aren’t the same as when he left: Camila has her own fútbol ambitions now, and La Furia cannot be denied. As her life becomes more complicated, she is forced to face her secrets and make her way in a world with no place for the dreams and passion of a girl like her.

Always a voracious reader, as a child Méndez taught herself English with a Spanish/English dictionary, and at the age of nineteen she emigrated to the United States to pursue a degree at Brigham Young University. “Although FURIA isn’t an autobiographical novel, a lot of the events in the book are based on my own life and experiences,” she explains. “I always wanted to be a professional fútbol player, which was impossible at the time. Instead, I became a student of the sport. I’ve followed the developments in Argentine society and fútbol throughout my years of (self) exile from my country, and a conversation about feminine fútbol is impossible without including the fight of the feminist movement in Argentina throughout our history. FURIA is a love letter to my city, and I hope that readers will fall in love with Rosario and fútbol.” A graduate of Voices of Our Nations (VONA) and the Vermont College of Fine Arts MFA, Méndez is also a founding member of Las Musas, a marketing collective of women and non-binary Latinx children’s authors. She has coached and managed multiple youth soccer teams, and she lives in Utah with her Puerto Rican husband and their five kids, two dogs, and one cat.

Filled with the authentic details and textures of day-to-day life in Argentina, heart-soaring romance, and breathless action, FURIA is the riveting, radiant story of one girl’s struggle to rise above the expectations her family and society have for her.

 

 

Praise for Furia:

 

“This book will set your dreams on fire . . . It’s fabulous.” 
Reese Witherspoon

 

“An engrossing #OwnVoices novel.”

PopSugar

 

Furia will resonate with anyone who has ever struggled to follow their own dreams amid parental expectations and societal pressures.”

BitchMedia

 

“Saied Méndez captures both the breathless beauty of fútbol and the depth of its political power… A thoughtful, vibrant addition… [with] incorrigible passion.”

Chicago Review of Books

 

“A powerful, contemporary YA novel about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line to make her life her own. Perfect for fans of The Poet X and

 I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter.”

—Barnes & Noble, B&N Reads

 

“In Yamile Saied Méndez’s YA debut, the Argentinian-American writer tackles tough issues like feminism, personal growth, abuse, and more.”

Betches

 

“A vivid Argentinian setting provides the backdrop for romance, sports heroism, and a powerful story of a girl trying to create her own identity in the world.”

A Mighty Girl

 

“[A] high-energy #OwnVoices novel.”

Booklist

 

“With a mix of Spanish words, vivid dialogue, and rich description, Mendez paints a realistic image of a young woman battling to become herself against the odds… This inspirational story is an important read for young adults everywhere to witness the dynamics and pressures for a young Argentinian.”

School Library Journal

 

“A feminist story of pursuing your dreams… An engrossing story about using your talent and pursuing your goals with messages about gender equality and the complexities of love. Highly recommend for people who enjoy powerful #ownvoices stories.”

YA Books Central

 

“There’s a satisfying intensity about the way soccer infuses everything in Camila’s life.”

The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

 

“The book you wish you had when you were in high school.”

Dead Darlings

 

“[A] fiery and inspiring YA debut… A novel rich in cultural surroundings, motifs and age-appropriate wisdom, is a must-read. It matters little whether you love fútbol or the U.S. equivalent because Furia cannot be defined by one category of literature, just as Camila herself cannot be defined by the larger society she finds herself in, nor the practical desires of her mother and father, nor anyone who manages to get in her way. She is Furia, a fútbol player too headstrong, and a force too mighty to be ignored.”

Daily Utah Chronicle

 

“In this stirring novel by Argentine American author Méndez, passion for sports and personal growth intersect in Camila’s powerful, feminist first-person narrative about her experiences as an ambitious athlete, a teenager deeply in love, the daughter of an abusive father at the point of taking charge of her own life, and a young woman finding her voice in a deeply sexist, patriarchal society… A riveting coming-of-age story.”

Kirkus Reviews, starred review

 

“In this stirring novel by Argentine American author Méndez, passion for sports and personal growth intersect in Camila’s powerful, feminist first-person narrative about her experiences as an ambitious athlete, a teenager deeply in love, the daughter of an abusive father at the point of taking charge of her own life, and a young woman finding her voice in a deeply sexist, patriarchal society… A riveting coming-of-age story.”

Publishers Weekly, starred review

 

 

author info

 

 

 

Yamile (sha-MEE-lay) Saied Méndez is a fútbol-obsessed Argentine American who loves meteor showers, summer, astrology, and pizza. She lives in Utah with her Puerto Rican husband and their five kids, two adorable dogs, and one majestic cat. An inaugural Walter Dean Myers Grant recipient, she’s a graduate of Voices of Our Nations (VONA) and the MFA program in Writing for Children and Young Adults at Vermont College of Fine Arts. Méndez is also part of Las Musas, the first collective of women and nonbinary Latinx middle grade and young adult authors. Furia is her first novel for young adult readers.

 

Signature

 

 

 

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: