Review of Reckless Girls by Rachel Hawkins (earc)

 

Reckless Girls by Rachel Hawkins

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs comes a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set on an isolated Pacific island with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.

When Lux McAllister and her boyfriend, Nico, are hired to sail two women to a remote island in the South Pacific, it seems like the opportunity of a lifetime. Stuck in a dead-end job in Hawaii, and longing to travel the world after a family tragedy, Lux is eager to climb on board The Susannah and set out on an adventure. She’s also quick to bond with their passengers, college best friends Brittany and Amma. The two women say they want to travel off the beaten path. But like Lux, they may have other reasons to be seeking an escape.

Shimmering on the horizon after days at sea, Meroe Island is every bit the paradise the foursome expects, despite a mysterious history of shipwrecks, cannibalism, and even rumors of murder. But what they don’t expect is to discover another boat already anchored off Meroe’s sandy beaches. The owners of the Azure Sky, Jake and Eliza, are a true golden couple: gorgeous, laidback, and if their sleek catamaran and well-stocked bar are any indication, rich. Now a party of six, the new friends settle in to experience life on an exotic island, and the serenity of being completely off the grid. Lux hasn’t felt like she truly belonged anywhere in years, yet here on Meroe, with these fellow free spirits, she finally has a sense of peace.

But with the arrival of a skeevy stranger sailing alone in pursuit of a darker kind of good time, the balance of the group is disrupted. Soon, cracks begin to emerge: it seems that Brittany and Amma haven’t been completely honest with Lux about their pasts––and perhaps not even with each other. And though Jake and Eliza seem like the perfect pair, the rocky history of their relationship begins to resurface, and their reasons for sailing to Meroe might not be as innocent as they first appeared.

When it becomes clear that the group is even more cut off from civilization than they initially thought, it starts to feel like the island itself is closing in on them. And when one person goes missing, and another turns up dead, Lux begins to wonder if any of them are going to make it off the island alive.

Expected publication: January 4th 2022 by St. Martin’s Press

 

review

 

This was a super quick read that’s hard to put down.

Lux followed her boyfriend, Nico, from San Diego to Hawaii. They hadn’t dated long, but she wanted to travel the world in his boat with him. Her mother had passed away from cancer and she really didn’t have anyone else. Nico was rich, but he didn’t speak to his family anymore. So they both worked to save money in Hawaii to fix his boat. Lux got fired from her job right at the same time that Nico was offered a side job he couldn’t refuse. There were two rich college girls, Amma and Brittany, that offered his $50K to take them to this deserted island for two weeks. Lux was invited to go along. This island had a dark history of death and there were no stores or people there. Besides hitting a storm, the three day trip there wasn’t too bad. But when they got to the island, they weren’t alone. There was another couple there already. Luckily, everyone got along well and the couple brought a lot of alcohol with. But the island starts to get to Lux. Things start happening that aren’t good and not everyone will leave the island alive.

The book mostly takes place in current time, but there are chapters from the past, too. That’s how we find out the secrets that everyone is hiding. I thought the pacing of the book was great and this would be easy to read in one sitting.

I gave this book 4 stars. Thank you to the publisher and Edelweiss for my review copy.

 

Have you read Reckless Girls?  Is it on your TBR?

 

Signature

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

6 thoughts on “Review of Reckless Girls by Rachel Hawkins (earc)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: