Review of Into the Dying Light by Katy Rose Pool (earc)

 

43473602._SY475_

Into the Dying Light by Katy Rose Pool

In the jaw-dropping conclusion to the Age of Darkness trilogy, hearts will shatter, cities will fall, and a god will rise.

Solidifies Katy Rose Pool’s status as one of the best fantasy writers of the 21st century.”
Popsugar on As the Shadow Rises

Following the destruction of the City of Mercy, an ancient god has been resurrected and sealed inside Beru’s body. Both are at the mercy of the Prophet Pallas, who wields the god’s powers to subjugate the Six Prophetic Cities. But every day, the god grows stronger, threatening to break free and sow untold destruction.

Meanwhile, far away from Pallas Athos, Anton learns to harness his full powers as a Prophet. Armed with the truth about how the original Prophets killed the god, Anton leads Jude, Hassan, and Ephyra on a desperate quest to the edge of the world. With time running out, the group’s tenuous alliance is beset by mounting danger, tumultuous romance, and most of all by a secret that Anton is hiding: a way to destroy the god at the price of an unbearable sacrifice. But the cost of keeping that secret might be their lives—and the lives of everyone in the Six Prophetic Cities.

The Age of Darkness trilogy is perfect for fans of Throne of GlassChildren of Blood and Bone, and An Ember in the Ashes.

 

review

 

Into the Dying Light is a great end to this trilogy. The pacing was fast and I flew through it even though it’s over 500 pages. This is a book three, so there may be spoilers from earlier books below.

I’ll keep this short since it’s a book three. The book has a lot going on and there are five points of view, Beru, Ephyra, Jude, Anton, and Hassan. There are also chapters from before which are mostly about the God and Prophets. Beru still has the God inside her and she’s struggling to keep control. The God wants out and wants to destroy everything. Everyone is worried that the only way to kill the God would kill Beru, too. Anton also finds out that there’s a way to stop the God, but it would kill Jude. He’s not willing to do that, so he keeps it a secret. They decide together that they need to search and see if any of the other Prophets are still alive. Pallas is determined to stop them and use the God’s power for himself.

Normally Jude would be my favorite standout, but in this book, it was Beru. I adored her and Hector’s relationship and she is just a good person. Ephyra was still a favorite, too, and I liked her relationship with Illya. Anton and Jude annoyed me a bit more in this one for some reason, but it might have just been my mood. I just think Beru became my new favorite and I found myself most interested in her story. The sister relationship was so strong and I really loved it. One character I loved did die in this book and it broke me. Just a little warning without saying who.

Overall, I just really enjoyed this series. There’s a lot to follow, but everyone’s voices feel very different and I liked the storyline.

I gave this book 4 1/2 stars rounded up to 5 on Goodreads. Thank you to the publisher and Edelweiss for my review copy.

Warnings for blood, death, fire, suicide and talk of sacrifice, religion.

 

Have you read this yet?  Is it on your TBR?

 

Signature

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: