Blog Tour for The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow by Emma Steinkellner (paperback review)

 

THE OKAY WITCH AND THE HUNGRY SHADOW

 

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the THE OKAY WITCH AND THE HUNGRY SHADOW by Emma Steinkellner Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

 

Title: THE OKAY WITCH AND THE HUNGRY SHADOW (The Okay Witch #2)

Author: Emma Steinkellner

Pub. Date: July 6, 2019

Publisher: Aladdin

Formats: Hardcover, paperback, eBook

Pages: 256

Find it: GoodreadsAmazonKindle, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD, Bookshop.org

 

Okay Witch and The Hungry Shadow

 

In this hilarious and heartwarming sequel to the bestselling and critically acclaimed graphic novel, The Okay Witch, half-witch Moth Hush uses magic to boost her confidence with disastrous results—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Molly Ostertag! 

Moth Hush is starting to settle into her newfound witch heritage and powers, but life at school continues to be rough. Even her best friend, Charlie, doesn’t entirely understand what it’s like for her to always be the one who gets mocked, and things only get worse when Moth’s mom starts dating one of the dorkiest teachers in the school! Then Moth gets hold of a mysterious charm that can unleash another version of herself—one who is confident, cool, and extremely popular. What could possibly go wrong?

 PRAISE FOR THE OKAY WITCH: 

“Lighthearted and cheeky.” The New York Times 

“Steinkellner’s debut graphic novel is a tour de force of middle grade storytelling.” – School Library Journal, starred review 

The Okay Witch is the perfect read for kids who love Hocus Pocus.” – A.V. Club

 GRAB THE OKAY WITCH NOW!

 

 

review

 

Moth is such a likeable character. I loved this one just as much as The Okay Witch.

Moth is tired of being bullied and made fun of. She wants to fit in and is willing to use magic to do it. She doesn’t know that the magic is actually something bad. There’s a big focus on learning to like who you are and not changing for anyone else. I adore Moth’s mom and loved that she started dating the dorky teacher that dressed like Moth. There is a lot about bullying and race throughout the book along with plenty of magic and the characters from the first book.

I gave this 5 stars. Thank you to Simon & Schuster for sending me a finished copy for review. This was a lot of fun and I hope there will be more.

Warnings for bullying, racism, dark magic.

 

 

Emma Steinkellner Credit Cheri Steinkellner

 

Emma Steinkellner is an illustrator, writer, and cartoonist living in Los Angeles, California. She is a graduate of Stanford University and the illustrator of the Eisner-nominated comic Quince. She is the author and illustrator of The Okay Witch graphic novel series. 

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Amazon

 

 

Excerpt1

 

 

giveaway

 

3 winners will receive a finished copy of THE OKAY WITCH AND THE HUNGRY SHADOW, US Only.

 

RAFFLECOPTER LINK

 

 

Follow The Tour:

 

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

6/28/2021

A Dream Within A Dream

Excerpt

6/28/2021

Rajiv’s Reviews

Review

6/29/2021

Kait Plus Books

Interview

6/29/2021

Two Points of Interest

Review

6/30/2021

cindysloveofbooks

Review

6/30/2021

laura’s bookish corner 

Review

7/1/2021

Hurn Publications

Excerpt

7/1/2021

celiamcmahonreads

Review

7/2/2021

@drewsim12

Review

7/2/2021

The Momma Spot

Review

 

Week Two:

7/5/2021

brittreadsalattebooks

Review

7/5/2021

Lady Hawkeye

Excerpt

7/6/2021

Fictitiouswonderland

Review

7/6/2021

Pandora’s Books

Review

7/7/2021

hauntedbybooks

Review

7/7/2021

Curlygrannylovestoread 

IG Spotlight

7/8/2021

Confessions of a YA Reader 

Review

7/8/2021

Nerdophiles 

Review

7/9/2021

Eli to the nth

Review

7/9/2021

Simply Daniel Radcliffe

Review

Signature

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour for The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow by Emma Steinkellner (paperback review)”

  1. I’ve read the first book in this series and enjoyed the character of Moth and how she learned to accept her new identity. The illustrations were wonderful too, I’ll have to look for this one. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s