Blog Tour for The Firebird Song by Arnée Flores (earc review)

 

The Firebird Song Tour Banner

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Firebird Song by Arnée Flores.  This tour is being hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours.

 

The Firebird Song by Arnée Flores

Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy

Publishing Date: June 1, 2021

 

The Firebird Song cover

 

Debut author Arnée Flores spins an exciting and original tale about hope in even the darkest of places, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale.

The Kingdom of Lyrica was once warm and thriving, kept safe by the Firebird, whose feather and song was a blessing of peace and prosperity. But the Firebird disappeared, and Lyrica is now terrorized by the evil Spectress who wields her powers from within a volcano. All that remains is a mysterious message scrawled on the castle wall in the Queen’s own hand: Wind. Woman. Thief.

Young Prewitt has only known time without the Firebird, a life of constant cold, as his village is afraid to tempt the volcano monsters with even the feeblest fire. But he has heard whispers that the kingdom’s princess survived the attack . . . and he is certain that if he can find her, together they can save Lyrica.

Princess Calliope has no memories beyond living on her barge on the underground lake. But as she nears her twelfth birthday, she is certain there is more to life than the walls of a cave. When Prewitt finds her, he realizes that she is the missing princess: the only hope for Lyrica. Determined to decipher the meaning of her mother’s strange message and find the Firebird, Calliope and Prewitt set off on a quest that puts them in more danger than either of them ever anticipated.

 

Book Links:

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/50254876-the-firebird-song 

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Firebird-Song-Arn%C3%A9e-Flores/dp/154760512X/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=The+Firebird+Song+by+Arn%C3%A9e+Flores&qid=1616356462&sr=8-1 

Barnes and Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-firebird-song-arn-e-flores/1137456049?ean=9781547605125 

Book Depository: https://www.bookdepository.com/The-Firebird-Song-Arnee-Flores/9781547605125 

Indigo: https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/the-firebird-song/9781547605125-item.html?ikwid=The+Firebird+Song+by+Arn%C3%A9e+Flores&ikwsec=Home&ikwidx=0#algoliaQueryId=0ed0cb56b8174114115cb4c1bc9d6b60 

IndieBound: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781547605125 

 

 

review

 

This was a cute, quick read.

The Terrible Thing happened years earlier, but it’s not talked about in detail much. Prewitt knows that there is a curse and a Thief. The princess was thought to be dead and things haven’t been the same in Lyrica. It’s never sunny and people are hungry. The Spectress is still looking for the Lost Princess, thinking that she might be alive. There is no hope left in Lyrica. It’s said that the Firebird Queen’s daughter can call back the Firebird once she reaches the Age of Hope. She gains powers then and can use the song and feather to get it back. The Firebird can defeat the Demon. Prewitt learned most of this from Granny Arila. She told him that he’s the Bargeboy and the other half of the moon. He is tied to the princess and needs to find her to save Lyrica. Prewitt decides to leave to look for the princess that most believe is dead.

Calliope had never been outside. She had never seen sun and is almost always alone. There is a man that comes to take care of her, but he doesn’t live with her. She reads a lot of books and makes paper animals to keep her company. When she turns twelve, Calliope is told that she’s the princess and that her mother was murdered protecting her. The man wants to keep her safe. It’s his job. Calliope has other plans though. She wants to find a way to defeat the Spectress and Demon. She runs into Prewitt and he tells her what he knows from Granny Arila. They decide to search together to find the tokens they need to get Lyrica back to normal. They must travel to places that most believe do not exist. They need to fight a lot and do most things on their own. They meet the Wild Woman and some girls that survived by being sent away. But for the most part, it’s just them. Prewitt and Calliope’s friendship and trust grow throughout their journey. They learn from each other and work well together. They both care about protecting the other one.

I enjoyed the world a lot, even though I got a bit confused for a bit (probably just my mood and not the book though). What I loved most was the growing friendship between Prewitt and Calliope and also seeing how much the parents would sacrifice for love and safety. I gave this book 4 stars.

Thank you to the publisher and Edelweiss for my review copy.

Warnings for death, fire, some gore, and isolation.

 

 

Arnée Flores author pic

 

Arnée Flores spent her childhood shifting across rural Washington towns, lugging along boxes of books, and switching schools nine times before her family finally settled down on a wheat farm in the tiny town of Reardan, Washington.​

Arnée identifies as Vietnamese American, but as a transracial adoptee raised by a Caucasian family in small-town America, she grew up feeling displaced.

It took a long while and a winding path for her to find herself. She spent a few nomadic years exploring, working odd jobs, and studying subjects from Piano Performance at Washington State University to Pre-Law and Political Science at Gonzaga before she finally understood that all she really wanted was to stay in one place and write the kinds of stories that had helped her feel safe during her chaotic childhood. 

Today, she can be found collecting rocks, shells, and other curiosities on the beach near her Seattle apartment, all the while dreaming up wild and magical tales, her little white dog splashing along behind her through the tide pools.

 

 

Follow The Tour:

 

TOUR SCHEDULE:

 

May 17th
A Court of Coffee and Books – Interview
Love, Paola – Review & Favourite Quotes
The Bookwyrm’s Den – Review

May 18th
Nine Bookish Lives – Author Guest Post
PopTheButterfly Reads – Review
Rajiv’s Reviews – Review

May 19th
Books tales by me – Review & Mood Board
Fyrekatz Blog – Review
Lady Readsalot Reviews – Review

May 20th
Stuck in Fiction – Interview
Storme Reads A Lot – Review
leosthetics – Promo Post
Miss Linda Bennett – Review & Favourite Quotes

May 21st
The Book Dutchesses – Author Guest Post
I Dream in Books – Review & Playlist
itsKoo reviews – Review

May 22nd
Confessions of a YA Reader – Review
The Writer’s Alley – Review, Favourite Quotes & Mood Board
Justice For Readers – Review & Top 5 Reasons to Read The Firebird Song

May 23rd
Kait Plus Books – Interview
Melancholic Blithe – Review & Playlist
the nuttybookworm reads alot – Review

 

Instagram:

 

May 17th
kathreadsya – Top 5 Reasons to Read The Firebird Song
acourtofcoffeeandbooksblog – Blogger’s Choice
srbetler – Blogger’s Choice

May 18th
ninebookishlives – Blogger’s Choice
popthebutterfly – Blogger’s Choice
rajivsreviews – Blogger’s Choice

May 19th
fangirlpixiebooks – Promo Post
bookstalesbyme – Blogger’s Choice
ladyreadsalot_ – Blogger’s Choice

May 20th
feliciareads11 – Blogger’s Choice
stormereadsalot – Blogger’s Choice
linda.reads – Blogger’s Choice

May 21st
jypsylynn – Review
thebookdutchesses – Blogger’s Choice
idreaminbooks – Blogger’s Choice

May 22nd
confessionsofayareader – Blogger’s Choice
jrundy85 – Blogger’s Choice
justiceforreaders – Blogger’s Choice

May 23rd
tbrandbeyond – Promo Post
dhirviepages – Review
blithesquesttoread – Blogger’s Choice

 

Signature

 

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

One thought on “Blog Tour for The Firebird Song by Arnée Flores (earc review)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s