Review of As the Shadow Rises by Katy Rose Pool (ebook)

 

43473596._SY475_

As the Shadow Rises by Katy Rose Pool

Six of Crows meets Graceling with a dash of Winter is Coming in this second installment of the action-packed and swoon-worthy Age of Darkness series!

The Last Prophet has been found, yet he sees destruction ahead.

In this sequel to the critically-acclaimed There Will Come a Darkness, kingdoms have begun to fall to a doomsday cult, the magical Graced are being persecuted, and an ancient power threatens to break free. But with the world hurtling toward its prophesized end, Anton’s haunting vision reveals the dangerous beginnings of a plan to stop the Age of Darkness.

As Jude, Keeper of the Order of the Last Light, returns home in disgrace, his quest to aid the Prophet is complicated by his growing feelings for Anton. Meanwhile, the assassin known as the Pale Hand will stop at nothing to find her undead sister before she dies for good, even if it means letting the world burn. And in Nazirah, Hassan, the kingdom-less Prince, forms a risky pact to try to regain his throne. When the forces of light and darkness collide in the City of Mercy, old wounds are reopened, new alliances are tested, and the end of the world begins.

The Age of Darkness trilogy, which the Amazon Book Review called “the next big fantasy series,” is perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Children of Blood and Bone, and An Ember in the Ashes.

 

review

 

Just a quick review since this is a second book in the series. There will be spoilers from book one below.

I really loved As the Shadow Rises. It’s been awhile, but I was able to remember book one quickly when I started reading. The pacing was great and I loved the plot. There are definitely some twists in this book.

We have chapters from Ephyra, Beru, Jude, Anton, and Hassan. Ephyra is looking for a chalice that might be able to save Beru’s life. Beru hasn’t forgiven Ephyra for killing Hector to save her life. Jude is torn on his feelings, especially for Anton. He wants to protect the prophet, but he’s lost his Grace. Hassan is thought to be dead, but his goal is to get his aunt out and protect his people. Khepri is with the prince. They find a rebel faction that are helping the Graced before they are captured by the Witnesses. Jude and Anton are still focused on the Prophet’s vision for the Age of Darkness. Little pieces of it start to make more sense to Anton and they figure out what they need to do. Each person has his or her own reasons to be looking for The Four Sacred Relics.

As the Shadow Rises is very plot driven with a lot going on. It made it exciting and hard to put down. The ending definitely makes me want book three right away.

I gave this book 4 1/2 stars, rounded up to 5 on Goodreads.

Warnings for blood, cutting, fire, captivity.

 

 

Have you read As the Shadow Rises?   Have you read There Will Come A Darkness?  Is it on your TBR?

 

Signature

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

2 thoughts on “Review of As the Shadow Rises by Katy Rose Pool (ebook)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s