Review of Phoenix Flame by Sara Holland (earc review)

 

 

53138219

 

Phoenix Flame by Sara Holland

Bestselling author Sara Holland continues her blockbuster contemporary fantasy series about the Inn at Havenfall with this unforgettable sequel.

Maddie thought her problems were over. She saved the Inn at Havenfall—a sanctuary between magical worlds—from the evil Silver Prince. Her uncle the Innkeeper is recovering from a mysterious spell that left him not quite human. And there are still a few weeks of summer left to spend with her more-than-friend Brekken.
But there’s more work to be done to protect the Inn—Maddie must put an end to the black-market trading of magical objects and open the Inn’s doors to the once feared land of shapeshifters.

As she tries to accomplish both seemingly impossible tasks, Maddie uncovers secrets that could change everything. What if saving everyone means destroying the only home she’s known?

This next breathtaking fantasy from the bestselling author of Everless is perfect for fans of Melissa Albert and Holly Black.

 

review

 

I felt like this was pretty plot driven, so my review will be a bit short. The pacing throughout was pretty good. If you liked Havenfall, then I think you’ll probably like this one, too.

There will be spoilers from book one below.

Maddie and the rest of Havenfall are still dealing with everything that happened with the Silver Prince, the doors, and the soul trade. Maddie is working on getting signatures for the peace treaty. She hasn’t seen Taya, but Brekkin has been around. She seems torn about her feelings for each of them. After visiting home, Maddie goes to see her mom in prison. She told her mom that she now knows what really happened with Nate.

Since the soul traders haven’t been bringing everything through the inn, Maddie believes there must be other doors they don’t know about. Maddie searches her mom’s room looking for answers after she was told that her mom was betrayed by someone she loved. From there, things take off pretty quickly. Maddie wants to see if her brother is alive, but first they needed to take care of some things with the soul trade. The book is pretty short and I feel like I wanted a little bit more at the end. I did like the final chapter, but again felt like I needed something else.

Overall, I liked the book and it’s a fairly quick read. I gave this 4 stars. Thank you to the publisher and Edelweiss for my review copy.

Warnings for blood, death, kidnapping, capturing and trading of souls.

 

My Review of Havenfall

 

 

Have you read this yet?  Is it on your TBR?  Did you read Havenfall?

 

Signature

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s