Love & Olives by Jenna Evans Welch (Book Promo)

 

52765415

Love & Olives by Jenna Evans Welch

In the vein of Mamma Mia and The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, LOVE & OLIVES (S&S BFYR | On Sale 11/10/20) is the tale of a teen girl finding romance while trying to reconnect with her absent father in beautiful Santorini, Greece.

 

Liv Varanakis doesn’t have many fond memories of her father who fled to Greece when she was only eight. What Liv does remember, though, is their shared love for Greek myths and the lost city of Atlantis. So, when Liv suddenly receives a postcard from her father inviting Liv to fly out to Greece to help him with a documentary about his theories on Atlantis, Liv jumps at the opportunity.

 

But when Liv sees her father for the first time in years, so many questions and emotions flood to the surface. Liv doesn’t want their past to get in the way of a possible reconciliation, and she also definitely doesn’t want Theo—her father’s charismatic “protégé”—to witness her struggle. 

 

So, Liv dives into all that Santorini has to offer—the beautiful sunsets, the turquoise water, the hidden caves, and, of course, the delicious cuisine. But not everything on the Greek island is as idyllic as it seems, as Liv discovers her father may not have invited her to Greece for Atlantis, but rather for something much more important. 

 

The perfect companion to Love & Gelato and Love & Luck, LOVE & OLIVES is both a heart-warming romance and a touching family story, set in a breathtaking Santorini summer

Continue reading “Love & Olives by Jenna Evans Welch (Book Promo)”

Friday Face Off 11/13/20

 

I saw this on Lynn’s Book Blog and thought it would be fun to do.  I may not do every week, but I’m going to try to do as many as I can.

 

The Friday Face Off meme was created by Books by Proxy .  This is a great opportunity to feature some of your favorite book covers.  The rules are fairly simple each week, following a predetermined theme, choose a book, compare a couple of the different covers available for that particular book and choose your favorite.

 

This week’s topic is Bright.

Continue reading “Friday Face Off 11/13/20”

October 2020 Book Haul

 

As usual, I bought/received a ton of books last month.  I purchased a bit more than I planned, but I had a discount to use.  I ended up getting a lot of graphic novels.

 

Physical:

 

Received From Publisher or Won on Goodreads:

 

Continue reading “October 2020 Book Haul”

Review of This Is Not A Ghost Story by Andrea Portes (earc)

 

48716653

This Is Not A Ghost Story by Andrea Portes

Nothing is as it seems in this chilling, twisting tale by bestselling author Andrea Portes, perfect for fans of Madeleine Roux and Danielle Vega.

Rife with dark humor and chilling twists, This Is Not a Ghost Story is American Horror Story meets There’s Someone Inside Your House. It will have readers flipping back to the very first page after the shocking finale.  

I am not welcome. Somehow I know that. Something doesn’t want me here.

Daffodil Franklin has plans for a quiet summer before her freshman year at college, and luckily, she’s found the job that can give her just that: housesitting a mansion for a wealthy couple.

But as the summer progresses and shadows lengthen, Daffodil comes to realize the house is more than it appears. The spacious home seems to close in on her, and as she takes the long road into town, she feels eyes on her the entire way, and something tugging her back.

What Daffodil doesn’t yet realize is that her job comes with a steep price. The house has a long-ago grudge it needs to settle . . . and Daffodil is the key to settling it.

Continue reading “Review of This Is Not A Ghost Story by Andrea Portes (earc)”

Goodreads Monday 11/9/20

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.  It will happen.  Probably a lot.

 

25756328._SY475_

Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

“I made the wrong choice.”

Lina is spending the summer in Tuscany, but she isn’t in the mood for Italy’s famous sunshine and fairy-tale landscape. She’s only there because it was her mother’s dying wish that she get to know her father. But what kind of father isn’t around for sixteen years? All Lina wants to do is go back home.

But then she is given a journal that her mom had kept when she lived in Italy. Suddenly Lina’s uncovering a magical world of secret romances, art, and hidden bakeries. A world that inspires her, along with the ever-so-charming Ren, to follow in her mother’s footsteps and unearth a secret that has been kept for far too long. It’s a secret that will change everything she knew about her mother, her father—and even herself.

People come to Italy for love and gelato, someone tells her, but sometimes they discover much more.

 

Have you read this yet?  Is it on your TBR?

 

Signature

 

 

Down The TBR Hole #159

 

Down The TBR Hole is a meme created by lost in a story that revolves around cleansing your TBR of all those books you’re never going to read and sort through it all to know what’s actually on there.

Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when youre scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well thats going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 (or even more!) if youre feeling adventurous) books. Of course, if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go

I am going to remove sequels for books when I haven’t read book one.  They may or may not get added back later.

 

 

I’m getting to more recent books now and won’t be removing as many.  Because of this, I’m not going to do 20 per post.  Probably 10 or 15.

Continue reading “Down The TBR Hole #159”