Review of Blood & Honey by Shelby Mahurin (hardcover)

 

40550366

 

Blood & Honey by Shelby Mahurin

 

After narrowly escaping death at the hands of the Dames Blanches, Lou, Reid, Coco, and Ansel are on the run from coven, kingdom, and church—fugitives with nowhere to hide.

To elude the scores of witches and throngs of chasseurs at their heels, Lou and Reid need allies. Strong ones. But protection comes at a price, and the group is forced to embark on separate quests to build their forces. As Lou and Reid try to close the widening rift between them, the dastardly Morgane baits them in a lethal game of cat and mouse that threatens to destroy something worth more than any coven.

The hotly anticipated sequel to the New York Times and IndieBound bestseller Serpent & Dove—packed with even steamier romance and darker magic—is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas. 

 

review

 

This is going to end up being one of my favorite series. I was worried that Blood & Honey wouldn’t be as good as Serpent & Dove. I was wrong. I loved it just as much.

This is a book two, so there are spoilers for book one below.

Blood & Honey starts off right where Serpent & Dove ended. Lou knows she needs to kill her mom and decides that she needs to get others to ally with them. The others being enemies. Lou and Reid are both wanted. Reid, alive, but Lou, dead or alive. They have to find ways to hide while also going to speak with other leaders to see if they will help. They meet a man, Claud, that runs a troupe of actors. It’s kind of like a traveling circus because there are knife throwers and tarot readers. It’s possible that the male twins are witches like Reid. Reid still hates magic, but loves Lou. He’s struggling to like his mom and he’s asks Lou to not use magic. It’s changing her and she’s losing a bit of herself each time. But Lou will do anything to save the ones she loves. While speaking with the blood witches, Lou finds out that her mom is hunting and killing all of the kings children. She was already upset, but knowing Reid was a target pushed her over the edge. She didn’t tell him what was happening and she kept quite a few secrets from him. The stress of surviving, Reid hating magic, and the secrets all add up and their relationship suffers. Lou’s mom is leaving notes and playing games with her. They’re sure that she’s going to attack at the funeral, so the group heads home to stop it.

That whole paragraph is a mess, but if you read my reviews, you know I struggle with sequels. The pacing was great and the book is so hard to put down. Lou continues to make me laugh. I adore Ansel and Coco. Beau has become a new favorite. Shelby thinks it’s cool to break my heart. Book three cannot get here fast enough. I love this story and the characters so much.

I gave this book 5 stars and it will be on my best of list for the end of 2020.

Warnings for blood, fire, parental issues, sex. It’s a more mature YA, just like the first book.

 

 

Have you read Blood & Honey yet?  Did you like it as much as Serpent & Dove?

 

Signature

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

2 thoughts on “Review of Blood & Honey by Shelby Mahurin (hardcover)”

  1. I am so happy that what bothered me did not diminish your reading experience! And yes beau is becoming a new favorite! I just hope that the last one will make me love Lou better again!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s