Review of Raybearer by Jordan Ifueko (earc)

 

 

 

50158128._SX318_SY475_

Raybearer by Jordan Ifueko

The epic debut YA fantasy from an incredible new talent—perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir

Nothing is more important than loyalty.
But what if you’ve sworn to protect the one you were born to destroy?

Tarisai has always longed for the warmth of a family. She was raised in isolation by a mysterious, often absent mother known only as The Lady. The Lady sends her to the capital of the global empire of Aritsar to compete with other children to be chosen as one of the Crown Prince’s Council of 11. If she’s picked, she’ll be joined with the other Council members through the Ray, a bond deeper than blood. That closeness is irresistible to Tarisai, who has always wanted to belong somewhere. But The Lady has other ideas, including a magical wish that Tarisai is compelled to obey: Kill the Crown Prince once she gains his trust. Tarisai won’t stand by and become someone’s pawn—but is she strong enough to choose a different path for herself? With extraordinary world-building and breathtaking prose, Raybearer is the story of loyalty, fate, and the lengths we’re willing to go for the ones we love.

 

review

 

I really loved this book and I’m not sure how to review it to show how good it is.  Just pick it up if you love a good fantasy.

 

There are twelve realms in the Arit Empire.  Tarisai was raised by tutors and only saw The Lady (her mom) once in awhile.  She was being trained to become one of the council for the crown prince.  She already has a harrow, seeing or taking people’s memories.  Before she leaves, Tarisai finds out who her father is.  There is a curse and Tarisai is to kill the crown prince once he anoints her.

 

Tarisai spends her time with the other council children.  Once they’re accepted, they share the Ray.  Dayo is the Raybearer.  He gains a way to survive death from each member of his council.  They also get sick if they are apart for long.  These children are connected for life or until Dayo dies.  Things are going well.  Tarisai feels a connection to Dayo right away.  She meets Kirah who becomes her best friend.  And she starts to have feelings for Sanjeet.  Tarisai finds a way to erase her memories to kill Dayo.  It works for awhile, but The Lady finds her.

 

Tarisai needs to find a way to keep Dayo safe and also change some of the laws of the empire.  Not only does she have to dig deep to find out about her past (and The Lady’s), but she needs to find out the real history.  The one that has been erased.

 

There is so much more to this book, but I think it’s best to go in only knowing a little bit.  The writing is wonderful, I loved the characters, and the pacing was good for me throughout the whole book.

 

I gave this book 5 stars.  Thank you to the publisher and Netgalley for my review copy.

 

Warnings:  This book has some pretty dark topics.  There is a lot of talk of emotional and physical abuse.   There’s death and manipulation.  I know there are other things that I’m blanking on right now.  

 

 

Have you read Raybearer yet?  If so, will you be picking up book two?

 

Signature

 

 

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

6 thoughts on “Review of Raybearer by Jordan Ifueko (earc)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s