Review of You Had Me At Hola by Alexis Daria (paperback)

 

48585246._SY475_

You Had Me at Hola by Alexis Daria

RITA ® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas—perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient.

Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers. 

 

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new “Leading Lady Plan” should be easy enough to follow—until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez. 

Leading Ladies don’t need a man to be happy

After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well. Joining this new cast as a last-minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents. To make it work, he’ll need to generate smoking-hot on-screen chemistry with Jasmine. Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had. 

Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars. 

With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton’s most closely guarded secret.

 

review

 

I admit that I don’t read a lot of adult romance, but I just had to pick this one up at Target the week it came out. I’m really glad I did.

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect with this book. Romance and sex? Yes. But I got a lot more. It’s pretty impossible not to fall in love with Jasmine. I really adored Ashton even though he made me crazy at times. I kind of related to both of them though. Jasmine was beautiful and successful, but she really just wanted to be loved. She trusted too quickly and was hurt a lot. Ashton kept his private life a secret. He was afraid to get close to anyone and was in his head too much. Their chemistry was great though and I loved the slow lead up to them being together. There were some hot and steamy sex scenes, but it was less than I expected. I really have no clue with romance.

The diversity in the book was great and I loved the chapters with scenes from the show. The families really made the story perfect. I loved the Spanish throughout the book and the talk of traditions. Really, this was just a fun book to read and I’ll definitely add more adult romance to my TBR soon.

I gave this book 4 stars.

 

Have you read this?

 

Signature

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

10 thoughts on “Review of You Had Me At Hola by Alexis Daria (paperback)”

  1. I had no plan to read it until I saw that EVERYONE was raving about it! And you saying all this about the characters make it even more appealing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. EeeeK! I’m so glad to see you enjoyed this one, It was such a nostalgic read for me. Can’t wait to read more from Alexis Daria hopefully in the near future *fingers crossed*

    Happy Reading! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve wanted to read this book since the first time I saw this gorgeous cover — the colours and illustration give me life! 😍 Glad to hear you enjoyed it despite not reading much adult romance. I’m very excited to get my hands on it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s