Review of Star Daughter by Shveta Thakrar (earc)

 

48429902._SY475_

Star Daughter by Shveta Thakrar

This gorgeously imagined YA debut blends shades of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust and a breathtaking landscape of Hindu mythology into a radiant contemporary fantasy.

The daughter of a star and a mortal, Sheetal is used to keeping secrets. Pretending to be “normal.” But when an accidental flare of her starfire puts her human father in the hospital, Sheetal needs a full star’s help to heal him. A star like her mother, who returned to the sky long ago.

Sheetal’s quest to save her father will take her to a celestial court of shining wonders and dark shadows, where she must take the stage as her family’s champion in a competition to decide the next ruling house of the heavens–and win, or risk never returning to Earth at all.

Brimming with celestial intrigue, this sparkling YA debut is perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Laini Taylor.

 

review

 

Star Daughter was a great debut. I really enjoyed the writing and the story.

Sheetal is the daughter of a human and a star. She’s getting ready to turn 17 and there is a song that starts pulling at her. Sheetal’s mom left years ago and she hasn’t been able to see her. Because of this, she doesn’t really know a lot about what’s happening to her. Sheetal has to keep it a secret. There are only a few people that know she’s half star. She dyes her hair black, but the silver is starting to show through all the time. Eventually, the dye stops working. Sheetal spends a lot of time singing and looking up at the stars, thinking of her family there. Things really start to change when she sleeps next to her boyfriend and they have the same dream. It was of a man who at first loved a star, but then kept her captive when she tried to go back home. He found that her silver blood was healing, so he started using her. What Sheetal didn’t know is that stars are muses. Dev was inspired by Sheetal and she gets really upset by it. They fight and she goes home. Her body started heating up and she couldn’t think straight. Her father was burned by touching her and has heart damage. Sheetal decides that she needs to get star blood to heal him.

She felt like starlight and fire and fury all mixed into one. All she could do was burn.

Sheetal and her best friend, Minal, travel to Svargalok to find her family. What she finds there is a lot of inner conflict. It’s beautiful and magical. She gets to meet her mom and grandparents. But Sheetal wants to go back home and save her father. She comes in to a competition that she has to take place in. Most of the people in the competition hate her. It’s supposed to be for humans and she’s half star. So they believe she’ll have the advantage. Things do not go well and Sheetal finds out not just information about stars, but also of her family. The secrets come out and change everything.

I loved how descriptive the writing was. I only had two minor issues with the book. I felt it started strong, but dragged a bit in the middle before it picked back up. That might just be me. And it could be from my other issue. There was a lot of Sheetal thinking of Dev. A lot. At times, it felt a bit repetitive and a bit too much. I do understand why and that their relationship was a big part of the story.

I gave this book 4 stars and I’m looking forward to the author’s next book. Thank you to the publisher and Edelweiss for my review copy. Quote taken from ARC and may change before final publication.

Warnings for captivity, cutting for blood, and abandonment by a parent.

 

 

Have you read Star Daughter?  Is it on your TBR?

 

Signature

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

3 thoughts on “Review of Star Daughter by Shveta Thakrar (earc)”

  1. I’m so excited for this review but I’m pretty sure this is the book that’s in my August Owlcrate box. Bookmarking this because I want to read what you think after I receive it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: