Blog Tour for This Is My America by Kim Johnson (review)

 

THIS IS MY AMERICA

 

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the THIS IS MY AMERICA by Kim Johnson Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

 

Title: THIS IS MY AMERICA

Author: Kim Johnson

Pub. Date: July 28, 2020

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Pages: 416

Find it: GoodreadsAmazon, KindleAudibleB&NiBooks, KoboTBD, Bookshop.org

 

ThisismyAmerica_9780593118764_jkt_all_des2.indd

 

Dear Martin meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting YA novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system.

 

Every week, seventeen-year-old Tracy Beaumont writes letters to Innocence X, asking the organization to help her father, an innocent Black man on death row. After seven years, Tracy is running out of time–her dad has only 267 days left. Then the unthinkable happens. The police arrive in the night, and Tracy’s older brother, Jamal, goes from being a bright, promising track star to a “thug” on the run, accused of killing a white girl. Determined to save her brother, Tracy investigates what really happened between Jamal and Angela down at the Pike. But will Tracy and her family survive the uncovering of the skeletons of their Texas town’s racist history that still haunt the present?

 

Fans of Nic Stone, Tiffany D. Jackson, and Jason Reynolds won’t want to miss this provocative and gripping debut.

 

 

review

 

This may be a hard review to write. I have tears, but not a lot of words right now. I wish I could give this ten stars.

This Is My America felt like non fiction to me. Every single character felt real. The story is sadly too real. Not only did the book make me cry, but the author note just made me cry even harder. I had so many different emotions while reading. Definitely a lot of anger. There were sad tears and happy tears. I’m just a wreck.

Tracy lives with her mom, older brother, and younger sister. Her father is in prison, set to die in less than a year. Tracy sends letters to Innocence X, trying to get them to take on her dad’s case. She knows he didn’t kill anyone. The person he was charged with was shot and killed in his own home while the police tried to arrest him. They shot his son, Quincy, too, and he has permanent leg damage. Jamal is a star athlete and the news is doing a story on him. Tracy decides to bring up her dad’s case live on air. She can’t think of anything else she can do to save her dad.

The news show didn’t go well and Jamal wouldn’t even talk to Tracy. Tracy is a journalist for school and she does Know Your Rights workshops. Tracy speaks with the current editor, Angela, about being editor next year. Angela tells her that she doesn’t work well with others, but she wants to talk to Tracy about something she’s working on. And Tracy shouldn’t tell Jamal. Angela and Jamal had been secretly dating for awhile. When Angela is found dead, Jamal is the first and only suspect. His history has shown what happens and he ran. Tracy now needs to find a way to clear her brother and save her dad.

Tracy finds a secret history of the klan and current white supremacists in Galveston. She sees how much social injustice there is and how racism is still all around her.

This book focuses on so many tough topics, including racism, social injustice, bias in the justice system. It’s a tough read at times, but so important right now. The author provides a lot of resources and books to read at the back of the book. I definitely plan on checking them out and finding even little ways I can help.

I obviously think this book is wonderful and a must read. Required school reading would be great. I gave this 5 stars and it will be on my top ten of the year.

Thank you to the publisher and netgalley for my review copy.

 

 

author info

 

 

Kim

KIM JOHNSON held leadership positions in social justice organizations as a teen and in college. She’s now a college administrator who maintains civic engagement throughout the community while also mentoring Black student activists and leaders. She is also the graduate advisor and member of an historically Black sorority. This Is My America is her debut novel and explores racial injustice against innocent Black men who are criminally sentenced and the families left behind to pick up the pieces. She holds degrees from the University of Oregon and the University of Maryland, College Park.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads

 

giveaway

 

3 winners will receive a finished copy of THIS IS MY AMERICA, US Only.

 

RAFFLECOPTER LINK

 

 

Follow The Tour:

 

Week One:

7/13/2020 BookHounds YA Excerpt
7/14/2020 She Just Loves Books Review
7/15/2020 A Dream Within A Dream Excerpt
7/16/2020 Thepagesinbetween Review
7/17/2020 Here’s to Happy Endings Review

Week Two:

7/20/2020 Not In Jersey Review
7/21/2020 The Bookwyrm’s Den Review
7/22/2020 Bri’s Book Nook Review
7/23/2020 Confessions of a YA Reader Review
7/24/2020 Emelie’s Books Review

Week Three:

7/27/2020 Hurn Publications Review
7/28/2020 Kait Plus Books Excerpt
7/29/2020 Lifestyle of Me Review
7/30/2020 Rajiv’s Reviews Review
7/31/2020 Stuck in the Stacks Review

Week Four:

8/3/2020 Popthebutterfly Reads Review
8/4/2020 A Gingerly Review Excerpt
8/5/2020 Two Chicks on Books Excerpt
8/6/2020 Life of a Female Bibliophile Review
8/7/2020 Momfluenster Review

 

Signature

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

6 thoughts on “Blog Tour for This Is My America by Kim Johnson (review)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s