Blog Tour for B*Witch by Paige McKenzie and Nancy Ohlin (review and quotes)

 

Please read this edit to my post:  FFBC is no longer around.  I had this post made up already, so I’m leaving it as is.  I do not support FFBC or their behavior.

 

tour banner (73)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for B*Witch by Paige McKenzie and Nancy Ohlin.  This tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.

 

B*WITCH

by Paige McKenzie & Nancy Ohlin
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: July 7th 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Witches, Mystery, LGBT

 

book cover (51)

 

A lone witch has powers. A coven has a multitude more.

 

New girl and secret witch Iris just wants to get through her first day of school without a panic attack. The last thing she expects is to be taken in by a coven of three witches-soft-spoken Greta, thoughtful and musical Ridley, and fiery and spirited Binx. They may be the first witches Iris has met IRL, but their coven is not alone in their small northwestern town.

 

The Triad is the other coven at their school. When the Triad’s not using spells to punish their exes or break up happy couples for fun, they practice dark magic. The two covens have a rivalry stretching all the way back to junior high.

 

When tragedy strikes and one of their own is murdered, the rival covens must band together to find out who is responsible before it’s too late. Someone’s anti-witch ideology has turned deadly . . . and one of them is next.

 

With an inclusive cast of teen witches who leap off the page with style, attitude, and charm, B*Witch is a singable read perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Mean Girls alike.

 

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/48717624-b-witch

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2WIh29a

Bookdepository: https://www.bookdepository.com/B-witch-Paige-McKenzie/9781368028769?ref=grid-view&qid=1588965327354&sr=1-1

B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/b-witch-paige-mckenzie/1134720656?ean=9781368028769

iTunes: https://books.apple.com/us/book/b-witch/id1500054001

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/b-witch-1

Google Books: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Paige_McKenzie_B_WITCH?id=rz3SDwAAQBAJ

 

 

review

 

This is one of those books I wanted to love and it fell a bit flat. Maybe it was my high expectations. I love everything witch. I did like this, I just didn’t love it.  I still recommend it.

There are two small covens of three girls each. Greta ran one coven and Div ran the other. Div’s coven seemed to be a bit darker. There are new people in town that might have magic. The covens are kept secret. There are Antima out there and they’re dangerous. They want magic to be illegal (still) and wants the witches punished.

One thing I had problems with was differentiating the characters in each chapter. Either there was too many or they were too similar. Ridley was a standout because she’s trans and uses magic for her appearance. At home, Ridley is a male. But as soon as she’s gone, she is who she was really meant to be. Iris was another standout. She had visions when she touched things. Iris was sweet and awkward.

Things start getting bad and both covens realize they need to try to work together (or get along) to stop whoever might be killing witches. I enjoyed the magic and most of the plot. I really think it was just the characters changing too much. Each of them had their own personal things to deal with, so that helped a little. Just not enough. I do appreciate all the diversity.

I gave this book 3 stars. Thank you to the publisher and netgalley for my review copy.

Warnings for anxiety, fire, hiding who you are, politics, death, losing a sibling, hate (antima), sensory processing disorder.

 

 

Quotes:

 

“I have a hard time with choices,” she admitted as her hand hovered over the bowl.

 

If a witch could powerfully and deliberately think a thing, she or he or they could make it so.

 

I want to be a superhero, help make our world a better place for people like us.

 

She was part of a witch revolution now.

 

A lone witch has powers. A coven has a multitude more.

 

 

author info

 

 

Paige

Paige McKenzie is a millennial hyphenate: a New York Timesbestselling author, YouTuber, actor, influencer, creator, artist, producer. Her first book series, The Haunting of Sunshine Girl, was on the New York Times bestseller list for over a month. Paige is constantly creating. Her Etsy shop the Homebody Guild is full of her art and designs, and she is always updating it with new creations. Paige also interacts daily with her Sunshiners across a variety of media including YouTube (where she has over half a million subscribers), Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Paige is a founding member of Coat Tail Productions, with three projects in active development. Paige lives in Portland, Oregon with the love of her life, a seven-pound Chihuahua named Pongo.

Website: https://www.hachettebookgroup.com/landing-page/the-haunting-of-sunshine-girl/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/hauntedsunshine

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/692829.Paige_McKenzie

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/hauntedsunshine/

 

nancy

Nancy Ohlin was born in Tokyo and moved to the United States when she was nine. She has written, ghostwritten, or collaborated on over one hundred fiction and nonfiction books for children, teens, and adults, including her YA novels Consent, Beauty, and Always, Forever (Simon & Schuster). Most recently, she collaborated with Paige on The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl (Hachette Books), Quvenzhané Wallis on the Shai and Emmie chapter book series (Simon & Schuster), and Chloé Lukasiak on her forthcoming memoir Girl on Pointe: Chloe’s Guide to Taking on the World (Bloomsbury). Learn more at nancyohlin.com and on Twitter (@nancyohlin).

Website: http://www.nancyohlin.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/NancyOhlin

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6459715.Nancy_Ohlin

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Nancy-Ohlin-559301467435019/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/nancyohlin222/

 

 

Party Launch Banner

 

Paige McKenzie and Nancy Ohlin will be doing a virtual launch event for B*WITCH with Powell’s on July 7 at 5:00 pm (PST). They will be in conversation with E. Latimer (author of WITCHES OF ASH AND RUIN). Readers can attend from all over the world by registering here (https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/IMbbCADX9DS1o5WofO8vbW?domain=zoom.us). Signed bookplates will be available to those who purchase B*WITCH through this event.

 

 

giveaway

 

Prize: Win a copy of B*WITCH by Paige McKenzie & Nancy Ohlin (US Only)

Starts: July 1st 2020

Ends: July 15th 2020

RAFFLECOPTER LINK

 

 

Follow The Tour:

 

TOUR SCHEDULE

 

July 1st

July 2nd

Kait Plus Books – Guest Post
Moonlight Rendezvous – Review + Favourite Quotes
Queer Book Report – Review
Inkspit – Review
Books and Blends – Review
Libri Draconis – Review

July 3rd

Books and Zebras – Review
dinipandareads – Review + Playlist
Sincerely Karen Jo – Review
What Irin Reads – Review

July 4th

A Gingerly Review – Guest Post
L.M. Durand – Review
Levicorpvs Blog – Review + Favourite Quotes
Kalisbookishrambles – Review + Dream Cast + Playlist
Abryjewel Reads – Review

July 5th

Fangirl Pixie Blog – Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes
Evelynreads – Review
Mahkjchi’s Not-So-Secret Books – Review + Favourite Quotes

July 6th

Morgan Vega – Review + Favourite Quotes
The Reading Faery – Review
Phannie the ginger bookworm – Review + Favourite Quotes
dmcireads – Review

July 7th

Lauren’s Boookshelf – Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes
Pei Reads – Review
Confessions of a YA Reader – Review + Favourite Quotes
The Book Dutchesses – Review + Favourite Quotes

 

 

Signature

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s