Blog Tour for I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick (review)

 

TOUR BANNER (72)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick.  This tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.

 

I Killed Zoe Spanos
by Kit Frick
Publisher: McElderry Books
Release Date: June 2nd 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Thriller, Mystery

 

book cover (50)

 

“The YA thriller of the summer.” —Bustle

 

For fans of Sadie and Serial, this gripping thriller follows two teens whose lives become inextricably linked when one confesses to murder and the other becomes determined to uncover the real truth no matter the cost.

 

What happened to Zoe won’t stay buried…

 

When Anna Cicconi arrives to the small Hamptons village of Herron Mills for a summer nanny gig, she has high hopes for a fresh start. What she finds instead is a community on edge after the disappearance of Zoe Spanos, a local girl who has been missing since New Year’s Eve. Anna bears an eerie resemblance to Zoe, and her mere presence in town stirs up still-raw feelings about the unsolved case. As Anna delves deeper into the mystery, stepping further and further into Zoe’s life, she becomes increasingly convinced that she and Zoe are connected—and that she knows what happened to her.

 

Two months later, Zoe’s body is found in a nearby lake, and Anna is charged with manslaughter. But Anna’s confession is riddled with holes, and Martina Green, teen host of the Missing Zoe podcast, isn’t satisfied. Did Anna really kill Zoe? And if not, can Martina’s podcast uncover the truth?

 

Inspired by Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca, Kit Frick weaves a thrilling story of psychological suspense that twists and turns until the final page.

 

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/41966293-i-killed-zoe-spanos

Amazon: https://amzn.to/39boluc

B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/i-killed-zoe-spanos-kit-frick/1134080087?ean=9781534449701

iTunes: https://books.apple.com/us/book/i-killed-zoe-spanos/id1483520116

Bookdepository: https://www.bookdepository.com/I-Killed-Zoe-Spanos-Kit-Frick/9781534449701?ref=grid-view&qid=1584819505995&sr=1-1

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/i-killed-zoe-spanos

Google Books: https://books.google.co.uk/books/about/I_Killed_Zoe_Spanos.html?id=_mSHxgEACAAJ&redir_esc=y

 

 

I Killed Zoe Spanos preorder campaign graphic

 

https://kitfrick.com/preorder/

 

 

review

 

I Killed Zoe Spanos is one of those books you don’t want to put down. I read the last 60% in one sitting, reading later than I usually do at night.

There are multiple timelines in this book. We find out right away that Anna confessed to the crime of killing Zoe Spanos and disposing of her body. Anna gives details, including Zoe falling from a balcony 3 stories high.

We go back to when Anna first goes to The Hamptons for a summer nanny job before college. She’s watching an eight year old girl, Paisley. Anna will be staying in the pool/guest house. Most of her time with Paisley will be going to the beach and movies. Nothing major. Paisley and her mom interviewed Anna in NYC and she got the job. Anna just wanted to escape after months of drinking until she blacked out. Her best friend, Kaylee, always wanted to go to parties, so Anna needed to leave. She’s never been there before. Right after arriving, people start telling her that she looks like a missing girl, Zoe Spanos. Anna finds out that Zoe used to nanny for Paisley and it’s part of the reason Paisley wanted her. Their eye color and skin tones were different, but they did look very much alike.

The boy next door, Caden, was Zoe’s boyfriend. He freaks out a bit when meeting Anna. Over time, they do become friends. Anna also befriends a future journalist, Martina, and Zoe’s sister, Aster. Martina has been working on a podcast trying to piece together everything she knows about Zoe’s new year’s eve disappearance. Aster is just sad and blames herself for not protecting Zoe. Anna also meets an older guy, Max, but Paisley doesn’t like him for some reason. Anna feels a bit odd around him.

While visiting different places, Anna starts feeling like she’s been there before. She asks her mom who tells her they’ve never been there. But the feelings increase into pieces of memories. Anna starts having visions of her, Zoe, and Kaylee together. But that can’t be right since she’s never even met Zoe. Over time, the memories get to her so much that she confesses to the police. Martina had been trying to solve the case, especially after Zoe’s body had been found. She starts going back covering everything she knows while finding out secrets that were being kept.

This book is full of twists and secrets. You never really know who to trust. Even when they tell the “truth”, it might not be the full truth. Both Aster and Caden noticed a difference in Zoe when she came home for Christmas break. Zoe went to a different college from Caden, but they spent most weekends together. That slowed down in the months before Zoe disappeared. The police questioned a few people, but since Zoe was 19 and there was a train ticket purchased, they just assumed she ran away.

I loved the pacing and twists in this book. It definitely got in my head at times.

Warnings for talk of alcohol addiction, anxiety meds, phobia of storms, arrests, almost stalker-ish behavior, cheating, deaths, and past secrets I can’t get into.

I gave this book 4 1/2 stars rounded up to 5 on Goodreads. Thank you to the publisher for approving my early reader copy.

 

 

author info

 

 

author (61)

Kit Frick is a novelist, poet, and MacDowell Colony fellow from Pittsburgh, PA. She studied creative writing at Sarah Lawrence College and received her MFA from Syracuse University. When she isn’t putting complicated characters in impossible situations, Kit edits poetry and literary fiction for a small press and edits for private clients. She is the author of the young adult novels See All the Stars and All Eyes on Us, both from Simon & Schuster / Margaret K. McElderry Books, as well as the poetry collection A Small Rising Up in the Lungs from New American Press. Her third YA thriller, I Killed Zoe Spanos, will release on June 2, 2020.

 

AUTHOR LINKS

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7210822.Kit_Frick

Website: https://kitfrick.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/kitfrick

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kitfrickauthor/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kitfrick/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.es/kitfrick/

 

 

giveaway

 

Prize: Win a copy of I KILLED ZOE SPANOS by Kit Frick (US Only)

Starts: 24th June 2020

Ends: 8th July 2020

 

RAFFLECOPTER LINK

 

 

Follow The Tour:

 

TOUR SCHEDULE

 

June 24th

June 25th

Fangirl Pixie Blog – Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes
Wrinkled Pages – Review
dinipandareads – Review + Favourite Quotes

June 26th

Captivated Reading – Review
Booked J – Review + Playlist
Yna the Mood Reader – Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes
Emily The Book Nerd – Review

June 27th

Utopia State of Mind – Guest Post
The Shelf Life Chronicles – Review
Kalisbookishrambles – Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes

June 28th

Belle’s Archive – Review
books_n_sunshine – Review + Dream Cast
Book-Keeping – Review
Volumes & Voyages – Review

June 29th

Book Rambler – Interview
The Layaway Dragon – Review + Favourite Quotes
Sleepydoe Reads – Review
Annej Reads – Promotional Post

June 30th

Emelie’s Books – Guest Post
Morgan Vega – Review + Favourite Quotes
BiblioJoJo – Review

Mowgli with a book – Review
The Clever Reader – Review

 

 

Instagram Schedule:

 

June 24th

June 25th

June 26th

June 27th

June 28th

June 29th

June 30th

 

 

Signature

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s