Blog Tour for Deadly Curious by Cindy Anstey (excerpt and giveaway)

 

DeadlyCuriousTourBanner

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Deadly Curious by Cindy Anstey.  This tour is being hosted by Xpresso Tours.

 

Deadly Curious
by Cindy Anstey
Published by: Swoon Reads
Publication date: June 23rd 2020
Genres: Historical Romance, Young Adult

 

DC

A twisty tale reminiscent of Jane Austen—with a dash of murder—Cindy Anstey’s Deadly Curious is perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Agatha Christie.

Some secrets are better left buried…

1834. Sophia Thompson wants nothing more than to be one of the famed Bow Street Runners, London’s most elite corps of detectives. Never mind that a woman has never before joined their ranks—and certainly never mind that her reclusive family has forbidden her from pursuing such an unladylike goal.

She gets the chance to prove her capabilities when an urgent letter arrives from her frantic cousin Daphne, begging Sophia to come look into the suspicious death of Daphne’s brother.

As Sophia begins to unravel the tangled threads of the case—with the help of a charming young policeman—she soon realizes that the murderer may be even closer to her family than she ever suspected.

 

Purchase:

 

 

Excerpt:

 

“What would your father say if he knew?” Uncle Edward pounded the floor with his cane. 

“Knew what?” Sophia’s papa asked, peaking his head over Sophia’s shoulder. “Are you causing problems again, Sophia?” He patted her arm with affection. 

Sophia pivoted to look at him. He grinned at her, looking more relaxed than he had in months; the lines around his mouth had all but disappeared and his folded brow was . . . well, not folded. Getting out from under the oppression in Welford Mills had done him a world of good. 

“Warren, please talk to your daughter,” Uncle Edward insisted. “It is most unseemly for a young girl to want to involve herself in murder. Unseemly and vulgar. Yes, yes, quite out of good character. This is a case for the professionals to investigate.” He started to close the door. “If she needs something to do, there are ladies’ magazines in the drawing room, with dress patterns and hair . . . suggestions.” And with that final condescension, he closed the door—rather firmly. 

“But, Papa,” Sophia began, turning to face her father. “I’m not interested in dress patterns.” 

“Yes, I know, my dear. But I have been instructed, as you heard, to tell you that it is most unseemly for a girl to become involved in murder—” 

“He said, for a young girl to want to involve herself in murder.” Sophia curled up the corner of her mouth, preparing to debate the issue. “Unseemly and vulgar.” 

“Yes, yes, too true. He did say that. And apparently this is a case that requires professional investigation.” He waved at the footman, standing stiff and straight by the front door. “Could you bring us a chair, please?” He turned back to Sophia. “And you should know there are ladies’ magazines in the drawing room, with dress patterns and hair . . . suggestions. Did I get it right that time?” 

“Yes, but—” 

“Right there.” Papa pointed the footman, who now carried a Chippendale chair with a green seat cushion, to the right side of the study door. “Now sit, Sophia.” 

Sophia sat with a very ungraceful drop and offered her father a scowl. 

“Excellent. Now, I direct you to sit here, thinking about everything we have just discussed. You will have to be quiet for a fairly long time. You might hear voices coming from the study . . .” 

Sophia sat up straight and leaned to the left, closer to the door. 

“But you will have to ignore everything that is being said within the study and contemplate dress patterns and—” 

“Hair suggestions?” 

“Exactly.”

 

 

author info

 

 

Cindy

Whenever she is not sitting at the computer, throwing a ball in the backyard, gardening or reading, Cindy can be found–actually, not found–adventuring around the world with her hubby.

She has lived on three continents, had a monkey in her yard and a scorpion under her sink, dwelt among castles and canals, enjoyed the jazz of Beale St and attempted to speak French.

Cindy loves history, mystery and… a chocolate Labrador called Chester.

Author links:

 

 

 

giveaway

 

One print copy of Deadly Curious

RAFFLECOPTER LINK

 

 

Follow The Tour:

 

TOUR SCHEDULE

 

June 22nd
Gizmos Reviews >> Review
Bookcheshirecat >> Review
Jackie’s Book World >> Excerpt
Emelie’s Books >> Excerpt
Books Over Everything >> Review

June 23rd
diary of a wannabe writer  >> Review
Kait Plus Books >> Interview
Buried Under Books  >> Review
Njkinny’s Blog >> Review
Whatever You Can Still Betray >> Review

June 24th
Bellerose Reads >> Excerpt
Jazzy Book Reviews >> Review
Wishful Endings >> Interview
Hurn Publications  >> Review
Books Less Travelled >> Review

June 25th
aisyahreadly >> Review
Sophril Reads >> Review
A Book Addict’s Bookshelves  >> Guest post
Confessions of a YA Reader >> Excerpt
Tien’s Blurb >> Review

June 26th
The Avid Reader  >> Review
Sweaters and Raindrops >> Review
Bookish Jottings >> Review
Moonlight Rendezvous >> Review
Valerie Ullmer | Romance Author >> Excerpt

 

 

ButtonXBT (1)

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour for Deadly Curious by Cindy Anstey (excerpt and giveaway)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s