Blog Tour For Sisters of Sword & Song by Rebecca Ross (review and quotes)

 

TOUR BANNER (69)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Sisters of Sword & Song by Rebecca Ross.  This tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.

 

Sisters of Sword and Song

by Rebecca Ross

Publisher: HarperTeen

Release Date: June 23rd 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

 

BOOK COVER (47)

 

From the author of The Queen’s Rising comes a thrilling YA stand-alone fantasy about the unbreakable bond between sisters. Perfect for fans of Ember in the Ashes, Sky in the Deep, and Court of Fives.

After eight long years, Evadne will finally be reunited with her older sister, Halcyon, who has been proudly serving in the queen’s army. But when Halcyon appears earlier than expected, Eva knows something has gone terribly wrong. Halcyon is on the run, hunted by her commander and charged with murder.

Though Halcyon’s life is spared during her trial, the punishment is heavy. And when Eva volunteers to serve part of Halcyon’s sentence, she’s determined to find out exactly what happened. But as Eva begins her sentence, she quickly learns that there are fates much worse than death.

 

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/52038346-sisters-of-sword-and-song

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2AtoT3D

B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/sisters-of-sword-and-song-rebecca-ross/1132004526?ean=9780062471413#/

ITunes: https://books.apple.com/ca/book/sisters-of-sword-and-song/id1481047324

Bookdepository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Sisters-Sword-Song-Rebecca-Ross/9780008246068?ref=grid-view&qid=1586474710020&sr=1-1

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/sisters-of-sword-and-song

Google Books: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Rebecca_Ross_Sisters_of_Sword_and_Song?id=wVuxDwAAQBAJ

 

 

review

 

I really loved the family bonds in this book. Especially the sisters.

Halcyon’s family have been waiting for her to return home after years of training. They have everything planned, but things did not work out so well. The night before she was to return, Halcyon showed up in her old bedroom to speak to her sister, Evadne. Halcyon was on the run and didn’t have much time. Her commander was following and knew he would catch up if she stayed too long. Halcyon was to be charged with murder and then running away. Evadne helped by getting her some food even though Halcyon wouldn’t tell her anything about what she did. She trusted her sister and knew she was good. By morning, the commander had arrived and figured out that Halcyon had been there. When he finally caught up to her, she was to face trail. The family traveled days to be there. Halcyon is sentenced and Evadne asked if she could take half her sister’s punishment. It was finally agreed that Halcyon would serve five years in the quarry and five years in prison. Evadne would serve five years in the commander’s house.

Lord Staton’s son, Damon, is a mage. His magic is powerful, but not much more than average. His aunt, Selene, was extremely powerful. Selene worked for the Queen. Damon needed to have a scribe. When a person has magic, it shows in their writing. The words won’t stay on the page with their dominant hand. Damon asks Evadne do be his. She would no longer serve the household, but they needed to go on a dangerous, secret mission to find a lost relic. The future for everyone was at risk if they failed. There was no way to know if they would both survive the mountain, but Evadne knew she had to try. Her sister was brave and she would be, too. The two traveled to find the relic after they were able to sing the magic together. Damon would need Evadne to sing along, even without magic. It would help him. Both would have to face their greatest fears and fight to make it out alive.

The story goes back and forth between Evadne and Halcyon with some chapters that has both of them. I really enjoy the author’s writing and the pacing was good. There’s a lot of fighting and scheming, but also magic and love. I don’t want to give away anything else from the plot. There are some dark moments and I’ll have warnings below.

I gave this book 4 1/2 stars rounded up to 5. Thank you to HarperTeen/Epic Reads and Edelweiss for my review copy.

Warnings for talk of killing a dog, a lashing, talk of men attacking women, poisoning, death, loss of memory, servitude as punishment, and blood.

 

 

Quotes:

 

She felt as if she had just crossed a threshold that could never be found and recrossed again.

 

All this time she had been telling herself to let go, let go. But there was beauty and strength in holding on.

 

“Fears are intimate. Most of us never divulge what haunts us when we pass Euthymius.”

 

There is steel within me. I will not bend. I will not break.

 

“Failure is never final unless you choose it to be,” Bacchus said. “Where there is life, hope can be found.”

 

Magic for all of its mysteries, was forthright in its choosing. If a child has inherited it, magic would make itself known in literacy.

 

His name rushed back to her in a shiver. Once, she had knocked him out cold with a perfect punch.

 

 

author info

 

 

author (58)

Rebecca Ross grew up in Georgia, where she continues to reside with her husband, lively dog and endless piles of books. She received her bachelor’s degree in English from UGA. In the past she has worked at a Colorado dude ranch, as a school librarian, and as a live-time captionist for a college.

 

AUTHOR LINKS

Website: https://rebeccarossauthor.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14926516.Rebecca_Ross

Twitter: https://twitter.com/_RebeccaRoss

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RebeccaRossAuthor/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/beccajross/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.es/rebeccajross/boards/

 

 

Giveaway:

 

SOSAS & Myth Cards

 

Prize: Win a copy of SISTERS OF SWORD AND SONG by Rebecca Ross + 4 myth cards (The Fall of Kirkos, Ari’s Shawl of Stars, The Entrapment of Pyrrhus, and Acantha’s Crown) [US Only]

Starts: June 17th 2020

Ends: July 1st 2020

 

RAFFLECOPTER LINK

 

 

Follow The Tour:

 

TOUR SCHEDULE

 

une 17th

June 18th

Pooled Ink – Guest Post
Books.Bags.Burgers – Review + Favourite Quotes
Sleepydoe Reads – Review
TheGeekishBrunette – Review + Favourite Quotes
Book-Keeping – Review

June 19th

A Court of Coffee and Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
Fangirl Pixie Blog – Review + Favourite Quotes + Playlist
Captivated Reading – Review

June 20th

Moonlight Rendezvous – Review + Favourite Quotes
Foals, Fiction & Filigree – Review + Favourite Quotes

June 21st

The Bookish Ballad – Review + Favourite Quotes
L.M. Durand – Review
Gwendalyn’s Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
Confessions of a YA Reader – Review + Favourite Quotes

June 22nd

Hooked on Bookz – Review + Favourite Quotes
BiblioJoJo – Review
Kait Rose – Review + Favourite Quotes
Wishful Endings – Review
Port Jericho – Review

June 23rd

Kait Plus Books – Interview
Dazzled by Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
Jinxed Reviews – Review + Favourite Quotes

 

 

Signature

 

 

 

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

6 thoughts on “Blog Tour For Sisters of Sword & Song by Rebecca Ross (review and quotes)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s