Review of Little Creeping Things by Chelsea Ichaso (earc)

 

45304069._SY475_

Little Creeping Things by Chelsea Ichaso

“Chelsea Ichaso has without a doubt written the breakout thriller of the year.” —DANA MELE, author of People Like Us

A compulsively readable debut with a narrator who can’t be trusted, perfect for fans of Natasha Preston.

When she was a child, Cassidy Pratt accidentally started a fire that killed her neighbor. She’s pretty sure she didn’t mean to do it, and she’d give anything to forget that awful day. But her town’s bullies, particularly the cruel and beautiful Melody Davenport, have never let her live it down. In Melody’s eyes, Cassidy is a murderer and always will be.

Then Melody goes missing, and Cassidy thinks she may have information about what happened. She knows she should go to the cops, but she recently joked about how much she’d like to get rid of Melody. She even planned the perfect way to do it. And then she gets a chilling text from an unknown number: I’m so glad we’re in this together.

Now it’s up to Cassidy to figure out what’s really going on before the truth behind Melody’s disappearance sets the whole town ablaze.

PRAISE FOR LITTLE CREEPING THINGS
“Everyone’s a suspect, and no one is safe, in this twisty debut from a compelling new voice in YA, Chelsea Ichaso. Don’t miss it!” —KIT FRICK, author of See All the Stars, All Eyes on Us, and I Killed Zoe Spanos

“Little Creeping Things is a stunning debut in every sense of the word. From the chilling opening pages to the jaw-dropping final reveal, the pacing is relentless, the twists dizzying. Cass is the best kind of unreliable narrator, delightfully acerbic and hopelessly sincere even when she isn’t telling the truth. Chelsea Ichaso has without a doubt written the breakout thriller of the year.” —DANA MELE, author of People Like Us

“Ichaso’s debut is a riveting whodunnit… a psychological thriller worthy of mystery aficionados.”—SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL

“Little Creeping Things, with its cast of creepy and untrustworthy characters, will satisfy the appetites of all manner of mystery fans.”—BOOKLIST

“The reveal…is both well earned and eerie.” —KIRKUS REVIEWS

“[G]ripping twists and turns add suspense to this genre-solid whodunit and keep readers guessing until the very last page.” —PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

 

review

 

This one kept me up late reading!

Cassidy lives with her parents, and her brother, Asher. She’s on the volleyball team and some people are nice to her. The rest are mean. She really has only one friend, Gideon. They’ve been close since they were young. When Cassidy was a little girl, she was playing in a tree house with her best friend. Cassidy knows they had an argument about a broken tea cup and she remembers lighting candles. But she can’t remember anything from the fire itself. It’s been assumed that she accidentally knocked over a candle. Asher was close by and was able to get Cassidy out, but not Sara. Asher has scars from that day and Cassidy feels guilty all the time. She’s call pyro girl and fire girl. The meanest girls are Melody and Laura. Melody already graduated, but she was working at the local diner. So Cassidy still saw her often. There was a party one night and Cassidy got drunk. She hung out with a guy, Brandon, who had recently dated Laura. He blamed Melody for their break up. So the two came up with a plan to kill Melody and get away with it. Cassidy wrote it out in a notebook at the diner. After, she thought it was just them complaining and wishing revenge without carrying it out.

That’s not what happened. Cassidy and Gideon were in their hiding spot in the woods after skipping school. They could hear Melody talking to someone, but they weren’t sure who. Gideon snuck out the other way and Cassidy was alone with no cell phone service. She heard Melody scream for help and then it went silent. When Gideon came back, they went out to look. No one was there. But there was something very specific to the murder plan she wrote out. Cassidy worries that Brandon actually went ahead with the plan. Melody was missing. Gideon was the person Cassidy usually confided to. But she received threat messages on her phone that if she told anyone, the people around her would be hurt. She keeps things vague and Gideon thinks she might be imagining things that didn’t happen. Cassidy does have flashbacks to the fire often. But Cassidy knows this is different and she’s determined to either stop a murder or find out who committed one.

I gave this book 4 stars. Thank you to the publisher and Edelweiss for my review copy.

Warnings for fire, a lot of bullying, blood, and talk of death.

 

 

Have you read this?  Is it on your TBR?

 

Signature

 

 

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

One thought on “Review of Little Creeping Things by Chelsea Ichaso (earc)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s