Down The TBR Hole #136

 

Down The TBR Hole is a meme created by lost in a story that revolves around cleansing your TBR of all those books you’re never going to read and sort through it all to know what’s actually on there.

Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when youre scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well thats going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 (or even more!) if youre feeling adventurous) books. Of course, if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go

I am going to remove sequels for books when I haven’t read book one.  They may or may not get added back later.

Continue reading “Down The TBR Hole #136”

Review of The Girl and the Ghost by Hanna Alkaf (earc)

 

46147644._SY475_

The Girl and the Ghost by Hanna Alkaf

A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut, perfect for fans of The Book of Boy and The Jumbies.

I am a dark spirit, the ghost announced grandly. I am your inheritance, your grandmother’s legacy. I am yours to command.

Suraya is delighted when her witch grandmother gifts her a pelesit. She names her ghostly companion Pink, and the two quickly become inseparable.

But Suraya doesn’t know that pelesits have a dark side—and when Pink’s shadows threaten to consume them both, they must find enough light to survive . . . before they are both lost to the darkness.

Fans of Holly Black’s Doll Bones and Tahereh Mafi’s Furthermore series will love this ghostly middle grade debut that explores jealousy, love, and the extraordinary power of friendship.

Expected publication: August 4th 2020 by HarperCollins

Continue reading “Review of The Girl and the Ghost by Hanna Alkaf (earc)”

Blog Tour for Sister Dear by Hannah Mary McKinnon (excerpt)

 

Sister Dear Banner

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Sister Dear by Hannah Mary McKinnon.  This tour is being hosted by the publisher, MIRA Books.

 

SISTER DEAR

Author: Hannah Mary McKinnon

ISBN: 9780778309550

Publication Date: May 26, 2020

Publisher: MIRA Books

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Sister Dear by Hannah Mary McKinnon (excerpt)”

Friday Face Off 5/29/20

 

I saw this on Lynn’s Book Blog and thought it would be fun to do.  I may not do every week, but I’m going to try to do as many as I can.

 

The Friday Face Off meme was created by Books by Proxy .  This is a great opportunity to feature some of your favorite book covers.  The rules are fairly simple each week, following a predetermined theme, choose a book, compare a couple of the different covers available for that particular book and choose your favorite.

 

This week’s topic is silhouette. 

Continue reading “Friday Face Off 5/29/20”

Blog Tour for Every Reason We Shouldn’t by Sara Fujimura (promo and giveaway)

 

tour banner (67)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Every Reason We Shouldn’t by Sara Fujimura.  This tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.

 

Every Reason We Shouldn’t (Every Reason We Shouldn’t #1)

by Sara Fujimura
Publisher: Tor Teen
Release Date: March 3rd 2020

Genre: Romance, Young Adult, Contemporary, Sports, Fiction, Teen, Cultural

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Every Reason We Shouldn’t by Sara Fujimura (promo and giveaway)”

Review of The Unready Queen (The Oddmire #2) by William Ritter (earc)

 

49126609._SY475_

The Unready Queen by William Ritter

Human and goblin brothers Cole and Tinn are finding their way back to normal after their journey to the heart of the Oddmire. Normal, unfortunately, wants nothing to do with them. Fable, the daughter of the Queen of the Deep Dark, has her first true friends in the brothers. The Queen allows Fable to visit Tinn and Cole as long as she promises to stay quiet and out of sight—concealing herself and her magic from the townspeople of Endsborough.

But when the trio discovers that humans are destroying the Wild Wood and the lives of its creatures for their own dark purposes, Fable cannot stay quiet. As the unspoken truce between the people of Endsborough and the inhabitants of the Wild Wood crumbles, violence escalates, threatening war and bringing Fable’s mother closer to the fulfillment of a deadly prophecy that could leave Fable a most Unready Queen.

Expected publication: June 2nd 2020 by Algonquin Young Readers

Continue reading “Review of The Unready Queen (The Oddmire #2) by William Ritter (earc)”

Blog Tour for The Archer at Dawn by Swati Teerdhala (giveaway)

 

TOUR BANNER (66)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Archer at Dawn by Swati Teerdhala.  This tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.  I loved both The Tiger at Midnight and The Archer at Dawn, so I am thrilled to be a part of this tour.

 

The Archer at Dawn (The Tiger at Midnight Trilogy #2)

by Swati Teerdhala
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Release Date: May 26th 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, India, Cultural, Mythology

Continue reading “Blog Tour for The Archer at Dawn by Swati Teerdhala (giveaway)”