Review of The Last Guest House by Megan Miranda (ebook)

 

42190273._SY475_

The Last Guest House by Megan Miranda

Littleport, Maine is like two separate towns: a vacation paradise for wealthy holidaymakers and a simple harbour community for the residents who serve them. Friendships between locals and visitors are unheard of – but that’s just what happened with Avery Greer and Sadie Loman.

Each summer for a decade the girls are inseparable – until Sadie is found dead. When the police rule the death a suicide, Avery can’t help but feel there are those in the community, including a local detective and Sadie’s brother Parker, who blame her. Someone knows more than they’re saying, and Avery is intent on clearing her name before the facts get twisted against her.

Continue reading “Review of The Last Guest House by Megan Miranda (ebook)”

Top Five Tuesday 3/31/20

 

Top Five Tuesday was created by Bionic Book Worm.  You can find the topics on the blog I just linked.

 

This whole month is A-Z for authors’ names.  It can be a first name or a last name.  I have so many favorite authors, so I just randomly went through my shelves and wrote down names.  Also, since I’m not feeling well (still), I’m just adding names and no photos.  I have to limit my online time.

 

This week is U-V-W-X-Y-Z.

Continue reading “Top Five Tuesday 3/31/20”

Review of Chasing Lucky by Jenn Bennett (physical arc)

 

 

46404345

 

Chasing Lucky by Jenn Bennett

In this coming-of-age romance perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen, scandal and romance collide when an ambitious teen returns to her hometown only to have her plans interrupted after falling for the town’s “bad boy”—a.k.a. her childhood best friend.

Sometimes to find the good, you have to embrace the bad.

Budding photographer Josie Saint-Martin has spent half her life with her single mother, moving from city to city. When they return to her historical New England hometown years later to run the family bookstore, Josie knows it’s not forever. Her dreams are on the opposite coast, and she has a plan to get there.

What she doesn’t plan for is a run-in with the town bad boy, Lucky Karras. Outsider, rebel…and her former childhood best friend. Lucky makes it clear he wants nothing to do with the newly returned Josie. But everything changes after a disastrous pool party, and a poorly executed act of revenge lands Josie in some big-time trouble—with Lucky unexpectedly taking the blame.

Determined to understand why Lucky was so quick to cover for her, Josie discovers that both of them have changed, and that the good boy she once knew now has a dark sense of humor and a smile that makes her heart race. And maybe, just maybe, he’s not quite the brooding bad boy everyone thinks he is…

Expected publication: May 5th 2020 by Simon Pulse

Continue reading “Review of Chasing Lucky by Jenn Bennett (physical arc)”

Goodreads Monday 3/30/20

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.  It will happen.

 

45305582._SY475_

Tigers, Not Daughters by Samantha Mabry

The Torres sisters dream of escape. Escape from their needy and despotic widowed father, and from their San Antonio neighborhood, full of old San Antonio families and all the traditions and expectations that go along with them. In the summer after her senior year of high school, Ana, the oldest sister, falls to her death from her bedroom window. A year later, her three younger sisters, Jessica, Iridian, and Rosa, are still consumed by grief and haunted by their sister’s memory. Their dream of leaving Southtown now seems out of reach. But then strange things start happening around the house: mysterious laughter, mysterious shadows, mysterious writing on the walls. The sisters begin to wonder if Ana really is haunting them, trying to send them a message—and what exactly she’s trying to say.

In a stunning follow-up to her National Book Award–longlisted novel All the Wind in the World, Samantha Mabry weaves an aching, magical novel that is one part family drama, one part ghost story, and one part love story.

 

Have you read this yet?  Is it on your TBR?

 

Down The TBR Hole #127

 

Down The TBR Hole is a meme created by lost in a story that revolves around cleansing your TBR of all those books you’re never going to read and sort through it all to know what’s actually on there.

Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when youre scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well thats going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 (or even more!) if youre feeling adventurous) books. Of course, if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go

I am going to remove sequels for books when I haven’t read book one.  They may or may not get added back later.

Continue reading “Down The TBR Hole #127”

5 Star Predictions for Spring 2020

 

I’m a bit late getting this up.  I wrote out my list in February.  Oops.  I have read some of these already, but I’m still adding them since they were there before then.  These are books I think will be 5 stars (March-May/June).

 

51037654._SX318_SY475_

Continue reading “5 Star Predictions for Spring 2020”

Friday Face Off 3/27/20

 

I saw this on Lynn’s Book Blog and thought it would be fun to do.  I may not do every week, but I’m going to try to do as many as I can.

 

The Friday Face Off meme was created by Books by Proxy .  This is a great opportunity to feature some of your favorite book covers.  The rules are fairly simple each week, following a predetermined theme, choose a book, compare a couple of the different covers available for that particular book and choose your favorite.

Continue reading “Friday Face Off 3/27/20”