Review of The Deck of Omens by Christine Lynn Herman (earc)

 

This is a book two.  Spoilers for book one.

40204193._SY475_

The Deck of Omens by Christine Lynn Herman

The teenagers of Four Paths must save their home, in the sequel to hit fantasy The Devouring Gray. For fans of Stranger Things, Riverdale and The Raven Cycle

Though the Beast is seemingly subdued for now, a new threat looms in Four Paths: a corruption seeping from the Gray into the forest. And with the other Founders preoccupied by their tangled alliances and fraying relationships, only May Hawthorne seems to realize the danger. But saving the town she loves means seeking aid from the person her family despises most–her and Justin’s father.

May’s father isn’t the only newcomer in town–Isaac Sullivan’s older brother has also returned, seeking forgiveness for the role he played in Isaac’s troubled past. But Isaac isn’t ready to let go of his family’s history, especially when that history might hold the key that he and Violet Saunders need to destroy the Gray and the monster within it.

Harper Carlisle isn’t ready to forgive, either. Two devastating betrayals have left her isolated from her family and uncertain who to trust. As the corruption becomes impossible to ignore, Harper must learn to control her newfound powers in order to protect Four Paths. But the only people who can help her do that are the ones who have hurt her the most.

With the veil between the Gray and the town growing ever thinner, all of the Founder descendants must put their grievances with one another aside to stop the corruption and kill the Beast once and for all.

But maybe the monster they truly need to slay has never been the Beast…

Expected publication: April 21st 2020 by Titan Books

 

review

 

There are spoilers below for book one (The Devouring Gray).

 

As usual, it’s going to be hard for me to write a review for this second and final book of the duology.

 

The Deck of Omens has the same atmospheric writing and setting. There’s something about Four Paths and the forest that I love reading about. Book two focuses a lot more on the founder’s past and how to fix things. There is some type of corruption seeping into Four Paths. At first, they think it’s the Gray, but the corruption is happening there, too. The beast is feeling sick. The smell is terrible in both places. And now the trees are attacking people. The roots burrow into them, needing a host.

 

May is still struggling with getting her mom to respect and love her as much as she does Justin. Justin is dealing with the town finding out about him not having powers. He’s not longer a friend to them. Isaac is dealing with his past which gets harder when his brother, Gabriel, shows up in Four Paths. Harper is still strong, but is having issues from her father and that she has feelings for Justin. Violet is still trying to get everyone to trust her.

 

May decides to call her father for help after she sees something weird happening to the trees. He tells her how special she is and reminds her of a ritual they did when she was younger. He hides out from Augusta and Justin, but comes to see May often. They spend time in the woods trying to figure out how to fix things. According to her dad, Hetty Hawthorne could change the future and he believes May is the first to be able to do it since then. Things continue to get bad and they have to evacuate the town. Only the founding families will stay to protect it.

 

We find out a lot about the founders and how the Beast and Gray were created in this book. A lot of lies and betrayals come out. Nothing is what the kids were told and they all must work together to figure out a way to save Four Paths and possibly the rest of New York.

 

I gave this book 4 1/2 stars, rounded up to 5. Thank you to the publishers and Netgalley for my review copy.

 

 

Have you read The Devouring Gray?  Have you read The Deck of Omens yet?

 

Signature

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

10 thoughts on “Review of The Deck of Omens by Christine Lynn Herman (earc)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s