Unboxing of The Claires by CL Gaber plus quiz and promo

 

Wunderkind PR was nice enough to send me a special box to share with you all today.  I’ll start with the unboxing and then there will be a lot of information below that.

 

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

Continue reading “Unboxing of The Claires by CL Gaber plus quiz and promo”

Review of Meet Me At Midnight by Jessica Pennington (earc)

 

 

46812948._SY475_

Meet Me At Midnight by Jessica Pennington

They have a love-hate relationship with summer.

Sidney and Asher should have clicked. Two star swimmers forced to spend their summers on a lake together sounds like the perfect match. But every summer it’s the same—in between cookouts and boat rides and family-imposed bonfires, Sidney and Asher spend the dog days of summer finding the ultimate ways to prank each other. And now, the summer after their senior year, they’re determined to make it the most epic summer yet.

But their plans are thrown in sudden jeopardy when their feud causes their families to be kicked out of their beloved lake houses. Once in their new accommodations, Sidney expects summer to continue as usual. But then she gets a note—Meet me at midnight. And Asher has a proposition for her: join forces for one last summer of epic pranks, against a shared enemy—the woman who kicked them out.

Their truce should make things simpler, but six summers of tormenting one another isn’t so easy to ignore. Kind of like the undeniable attraction growing between them.

Expected publication: April 7th 2020 by Tor Teen

Continue reading “Review of Meet Me At Midnight by Jessica Pennington (earc)”

Can’t Wait Wednesday 2/26/20

 

cant-wait-wednesday

 

Can’t Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Wishful Endings and was previously hosted by Breaking the Spine.   It was created to show off a future release that you are excited for.

I apologize if there are any repeats.

Continue reading “Can’t Wait Wednesday 2/26/20”

Review of The Deck of Omens by Christine Lynn Herman (earc)

 

This is a book two.  Spoilers for book one.

40204193._SY475_

The Deck of Omens by Christine Lynn Herman

The teenagers of Four Paths must save their home, in the sequel to hit fantasy The Devouring Gray. For fans of Stranger Things, Riverdale and The Raven Cycle

Though the Beast is seemingly subdued for now, a new threat looms in Four Paths: a corruption seeping from the Gray into the forest. And with the other Founders preoccupied by their tangled alliances and fraying relationships, only May Hawthorne seems to realize the danger. But saving the town she loves means seeking aid from the person her family despises most–her and Justin’s father.

May’s father isn’t the only newcomer in town–Isaac Sullivan’s older brother has also returned, seeking forgiveness for the role he played in Isaac’s troubled past. But Isaac isn’t ready to let go of his family’s history, especially when that history might hold the key that he and Violet Saunders need to destroy the Gray and the monster within it.

Harper Carlisle isn’t ready to forgive, either. Two devastating betrayals have left her isolated from her family and uncertain who to trust. As the corruption becomes impossible to ignore, Harper must learn to control her newfound powers in order to protect Four Paths. But the only people who can help her do that are the ones who have hurt her the most.

With the veil between the Gray and the town growing ever thinner, all of the Founder descendants must put their grievances with one another aside to stop the corruption and kill the Beast once and for all.

But maybe the monster they truly need to slay has never been the Beast…

Expected publication: April 21st 2020 by Titan Books

Continue reading “Review of The Deck of Omens by Christine Lynn Herman (earc)”

Review of In the Role of Brie Hutchens by Nicole Melleby (physical arc)

 

50808508._SX318_SY475_

In the Role of Brie Hutchens by Nicole Melleby

Introducing Brie Hutchens: soap opera super fan, aspiring actor, and so-so student at her small Catholic school. Brie has big plans for eighth grade. She’s going to be the star of the school play and convince her parents to let her go to the performing arts high school. But when Brie’s mom walks in on her accidentally looking at some possibly inappropriate photos of her favorite actress, Brie panics and blurts out that she’s been chosen to crown the Mary statue during her school’s May Crowning ceremony. Brie’s mom is distracted with pride—but Brie’s in big trouble: she has not been chosen. No one has. Worse, Brie has almost no chance to get the job, which always goes to a top student.

Desperate to make her lie become truth, Brie turns to Kennedy, the girl everyone expects to crown Mary. But sometimes just looking at Kennedy gives Brie butterflies. Juggling her confusing feelings with the rapidly approaching May Crowning, not to mention her hilarious non-star turn in the school play, Brie navigates truth and lies, expectations and identity, and how to—finally—make her mother really see her as she is.

Expected publication: April 21st 2020 by Algonquin Young Readers

Continue reading “Review of In the Role of Brie Hutchens by Nicole Melleby (physical arc)”

Goodreads Monday 2/24/20

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.  It will happen.

 

35603805

Nightbooks by J.A. White

A boy is imprisoned by a witch and must tell her a new scary story each night to stay alive. This thrilling contemporary fantasy from J. A. White, the acclaimed author of the Thickety series, brings to life the magic and craft of storytelling.

Alex’s original hair-raising tales are the only thing keeping the witch Natacha happy, but soon he’ll run out of pages to read from and be trapped forever. He’s loved scary stories his whole life, and he knows most don’t have a happily ever after. Now that Alex is trapped in a true terrifying tale, he’s desperate for a different ending—and a way out of this twisted place.

This modern spin on the Scheherazade story is perfect for fans of Coraline and A Tale Dark and Grimm. With interwoven tips on writing with suspense, adding in plot twists, hooks, interior logic, and dealing with writer’s block, this is the ideal book for budding writers and all readers of delightfully just-dark-enough tales.

 

Have you read Nightbooks yet?

 

Signature

 

 

 

Blog Tour for Red Hood by Elana K. Arnold (review and quotes)

 

tour banner (46)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Red Hood by Elana K. Arnold.  This tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.

 

Red Hood

by Elana K. Arnold
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Release Date: February 25th 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retellings, Fairy Tales

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Red Hood by Elana K. Arnold (review and quotes)”