Blog Tour for Spellhacker by M.K. England (review and quotes)

 

tour banner (40)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Spellhacker by M.K. England.  This tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.  I loved this book and I’ll be sharing my review with you today.  I’m also sharing some quotes and they are not going to be quotes everyone will enjoy.  They’re funny to me, but have “mature” insults.

 

Spellhacker

by M.K. England
Publisher: HarperCollins Children’s Books
Release Date: January 21st 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

 

Spellhacker (2)

 

Synopsis:

 

From the author of The Disasters, this genre-bending YA fantasy heist story is perfect for fans of Marie Lu and Amie Kaufman.

 

In Kyrkarta, magic—known as maz—was once a freely available natural resource. Then an earthquake released a magical plague, killing thousands and opening the door for a greedy corporation to make maz a commodity that’s tightly controlled—and, of course, outrageously expensive.

 

Which is why Diz and her three best friends run a highly lucrative, highly illegal maz siphoning gig on the side. Their next job is supposed to be their last heist ever.

 

But when their plan turns up a powerful new strain of maz that (literally) blows up in their faces, they’re driven to unravel a conspiracy at the very center of the spellplague—and possibly save the world.

 

No pressure.

 

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36501255-spellhacker

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2NM6rWs

B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/spellhacker-m-k-england/1130069868#/

Bookdepository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Spellhacker-M-K-England/9780063000520?ref=grid-view&qid=1573040795067&sr=1-3

iTunes: https://books.apple.com/ca/book/spellhacker/id1460563985

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gr/en/ebook/spellhacker-1

Google Books: https://books.google.co.uk/books/about/Spellhacker.html?id=yRmUDwAAQBAJ&redir_esc=y

Audiobook: Libro.fm Audible HarperCollins website

 

 

review

 

I really enjoyed The Disasters by M.K. England, so I was really excited to read Spellhacker. I ended up enjoying this one even more!

In this world, there is a magic, called maz. There are different kinds and people that can use it, weave different strands together to make spells. Maz is expensive and there hasn’t been a new type in a long time. There is a company, MMC, that became heros after the plague ten years ago in Kyrkarta. A lot of people died and kids were left without parents. Ever since then, there are earthquakes all the time.

Diz lost both of her parents. She is amazing with tech and learned how to put that to use. She, along with three friends, steal Maz. Sometimes for themselves, but usually as a job to get money. Remy is a survivor of the plague, but they have a sickness from it. The treatments cost money and everyone wants to help. As the book starts, they are planning on doing their last jobs. Jaesin and Remi are leaving for a college in another area. Ania isn’t an orphan. Her parents are actually rich and she’s preparing for college. This is heavy on Diz’s mind throughout the whole book. Diz wants to stay in her home where she has a connection to her parents. Her only living family member, Davon, is there and he got her a job offer for MMC. There is a lot of inner dialogue for Diz that makes it pretty obvious that they have issues with people living. Sort of an abandonment issue. If her friends choose to leave, they aren’t choosing her.

They almost get caught on their last job, but things end well. However, Diz is approached to do a big money job. The person hiring them says there is a new strain of Maz, Maz 15 and they want it. Without talking to the group, Diz accepts. It’s enough money to possibly keep her friends from leaving. As you can imagine, things don’t go well. There is an explosion that Diz is positive she didn’t create. All four are wanted by the police after quite a few people died. Remi has a role model, a dead professor, that they think they can learn from if they can find his papers. This person knew more about Maz than anyone. While looking, they find some information about Maz 15, MMC, and the professor himself. All four decide that they need to get answers, keep themselves out of jail (or dead), and possibly even save the only home they’ve ever known.

The characters are all very different from each other. But they are a found family which I love. Diz is impulsive, good with tech and knowing the city, and she has feelings for Remi. Remi has the sickness from the plague, but they are amazing with Maz. They also have feelings for Diz, but she pushes them away. Jaesin is more or less the muscle. Diz calls him the dad of the group because he is protective and acts older than he is. Ania is the rich girl who doesn’t live with them. She uses Maz, but not as well as Remi. But they work well together. I don’t want to get into the other characters or story too much. The book is fast paced and it’s impossible not to fall in love with this little family.

I gave this book 5 stars. Thank you to Epic Reads (Harper Teen) for sending me a physical copy for review.

 

Quotes:

 

“And then do what?” Remi says.  “We just disappear?  Never do anything about this giant world-killing problem?  Let them destroy this city?  Let them continue to exploit the planet, put everyone in danger, and profit off it all?”

 

Someone wants us dead.  Us specifically.

 

Sleep and I aren’t on speaking terms.

 

Everyone loves a little spot of brightness in the middle of the bleak.

 

I don’t want to fight, but if they’re going to poke at me, you better believe I’m doing to fire back.

 

“Dizzy.  My dear.  My darling.  If you get us evicted for messing with the flat’s network yet again, a week before we move out, I will do unspeakable things to your dinner.”

I roll my eyes.  “Unicorn Sparkles McSunshine, will you tell Jaesin to please eat this own dick?”

“Mister Jaesin, Supreme Overlord Dizmon requests that you please eat your own dick,” the flat cheerfully relays.

 

 

author info

 

 

MKE Headshot 2016

M.K. England is an author and YA librarian who grew up on the Space Coast of Florida and now calls rural Virginia home. When they’re not writing or librarianing, MK can be found drowning in fandom, rolling dice at the gaming table, digging in the garden, or feeding their video game addiction. They love Star Wars with a  desperate, heedless passion. It’s best if you never speak of Sherlock Holmes in their presence. You’ll regret it. 

THE DISASTERS is their debut novel. Follow them at http://www.mkengland.com.

 

AUTHOR LINKS

Website: www.mkengland.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15935234.M_K_England

Twitter: geektasticlib

Instagram: m.k.england

Tumblr: mkengland

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQxRG4BHOS1lLey1AWOSWRA

 

 

giveaway

 

PRIZE: Win a signed hardcover of SPELLHACKER (US only), and one swag pack including a sticker, postcard, signed bookplate, and bookmark (INT)

STARTS: 15th January 2020

ENDS: 19th January 2020

RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY

 

 

Follow The Tour:

 

Tour Schedule

 

 

Signature

 

 

 

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s