Blog Tour For Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen (review and giveaway)

 

tour banner (37)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen.  This tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.  I’ll be sharing my review and there will be a giveaway.

 

Loveboat, Taipei (Loveboat, Taipei #1)

by Abigail Hing Wen
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: January 7th 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Travel, Asian Literature

 

For fans of Crazy Rich Asians or Jane Austen Comedy of Manners, with a hint of La La Land

 

When eighteen-year-old Ever Wong’s parents send her from Ohio to Taiwan to study Mandarin for the summer, she finds herself thrust among the very over-achieving kids her parents have always wanted her to be, including Rick Woo, the Yale-bound prodigy profiled in the Chinese newspapers since they were nine—and her parents’ yardstick for her never-measuring-up life.

 

Unbeknownst to her parents, however, the program is actually an infamous teen meet-market nicknamed Loveboat, where the kids are more into clubbing than calligraphy and drinking snake-blood sake than touring sacred shrines.

 

Free for the first time, Ever sets out to break all her parents’ uber-strict rules—but how far can she go before she breaks her own heart?

 

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/23559994-loveboat-taipei

Amazon: https://amzn.to/377aeWZ

Bookdepository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Loveboat-Taipei-Abigail-Hing-Wen/9780062996343?ref=grid-view&qid=1573814030459&sr=1-1

B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/loveboat-taipei-abigail-hing-wen/1132291813#/
Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/loveboat-taipei-2

iTunes: https://books.apple.com/us/book/loveboat-taipei/id1463375516?ign-mpt=uo%3D4

Google Books: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Abigail_Hing_Wen_Loveboat_Taipei?id=rAyYDwAAQBAJ

 

 

review

 

Loveboat, Taipei was a wonderful debut.

Ever is Chinese American with parents that emigrated to the US. They are strict and very traditional. Ever is expected to go to medical school, even though blood makes her sick. She can’t show skin or have a boyfriend. Her parents tolerate her dance classes because she’d been in them so long. Dance is Ever’s passion, the one thing she loves. After taking a risk, Ever got into a dance school, but needed to perform an audition. Her parents decided to surprise her with a trip to Taiwan to spend most of the summer in a program there. Ever leaves her best friend, Megan, and sister, Pearl, behind and does what is expected of her. She always does what is expected of her. That is, she did until she got to Taiwan. The program is called The Loveboat because there are lots of hook ups and relationships start there.

Ever meets a girl, Sophie, and her cousin, Rick, on the bus from the airport. To her horror, Ever realizes that Rick is “Boy Wonder”. This boy was always in newspapers. Ever’s parents compared her to him, showing her how great she could be if she spent the time studying and not dancing or having friends. Sophie and Ever become quick friends and also roommates. Ever has decided that she’s going to break all her parents rules. The kids sneak out to go drinking and clubbing since the legal age is 18 in Taiwan. Ever makes friends pretty easily there, but doesn’t like the electives her parents chose for her. One boy, Xavier, starts paying a lot of attention to Ever. Even though Rick has a long time girlfriend, he pays a lot of attention to Ever, too. She finds herself attracted to both boys. Also, someone has been drawing wonderful portraits of Ever without giving any clues to who he is.

There are so many things Ever got to experience in Taiwan. It wasn’t just about learning her culture. She found out who she really was. She made mistakes, but she also found strength. Ever took photos she never thought she would do, kissed boys and lost her virginity, got drunk and danced like crazy, and even started teaching a dance to some of the girls at Loveboat. She made friends, had fights, and found what might possibly be love. But with whom?

This was fun to read. I loved that Ever finally found out how strong she was and stopped pining for things she couldn’t have. She learned how to go out and get the things she wanted. Or at least tried. The drama at the program felt pretty realistic for 18 year olds off on their own for the first time. Most of them came from families that were strict in some way. There were parts that made me laugh and some that made my heart happy. I found myself torn on who I wanted Ever to end up with. Everything flowed well and the pacing was great. I loved all the culture in the book, too.

The kids in the book are 18, so there is more mature content. There is drinking and sex in the book. Warnings for physical abuse and controlling or absent parents.

Thank you to the publisher for my review copy. I gave this book 4 stars.

 

 

author info

 

 

author (33)

Abigail was born in West Virginia to a family of immigrants: Her mother is from the Philippines and her father from Indonesia, and her grandparents emigrated to those countries from Fujian and Shandong provinces in China. 

 

Abigail grew up in Ohio and graduated from Harvard University and Columbia Law School. She worked in Washington DC for the Senate, as a law clerk for a federal judge. and now in Silicon Valley in venture capital and artificial intelligence. She also earned her Master of Fine Arts in Writing from Vermont College of Fine Arts. 

 

In her spare time, she enjoys long walks with her husband and two boys, and hanging out with friends and over 100 family members in the Bay Area. She loves music and dances to it when no one is watching.

 

AUTHOR LINKS

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/9852936.Abigail_Hing_Wen

Website: https://www.abigailhingwen.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/abigailhingwen

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/abigailhingwen/

 

 

giveaway

 

Prize: Win (1) of (2) copies of LOVEBOAT, TAIPEI by Abigail Hing Wen (US Only)

Stars: 1st January 2020

Ends: 15th January 2020

RAFFLECOPTER LINK

 

 

Follow The Tour:

 

TOUR SCHEDULE

 

January 1st

January 2nd

Read.Sleep.Repeat. – Review + Favourite Quotes
Write, Read, Repeat – Promotional Post

January 3rd

Bookishaestha – Review + Favourite Quotes
Jinxed Reviews – Review + Playlist
Mahkjchi’s Not-So-Secret Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
Heart’s Content – Review + Favourite Quotes

January 4th

Sometimes Leelynn Reads – Review + Favourite Quotes
The Layaway Dragon – Review + Favourite Quotes
Cluttered Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
Yna the Mood Reader – Review + Favourite Quotes
My Bookish Escapades – Promotional Post

January 5th

Novelishly – Review
String of Pages – Review + Favourite Quotes
Playita reads – Review
Kait Plus Books – Promotional Post

January 6th

The Mind of a Book Dragon – Review + Playlist
Books and Blends – Review
Utopia State of Mind – Promotional Post

January 7th

Magical Reads – Playlist
Reads and Thoughts – Review + Favourite Quotes
biblioxytocin – Review + Playlist

 

 

Signature

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour For Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen (review and giveaway)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s