Review of The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager (physical paperback)

 

 

36626748._SY475_

 

The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager

Two Truths and a Lie. The girls played it all the time in their tiny cabin at Camp Nightingale. Vivian, Natalie, Allison, and first-time camper Emma Davis, the youngest of the group. The games ended when Emma sleepily watched the others sneak out of the cabin in the dead of night. The last she—or anyone—saw of them was Vivian closing the cabin door behind her, hushing Emma with a finger pressed to her lips.

Now a rising star in the New York art scene, Emma turns her past into paintings—massive canvases filled with dark leaves and gnarled branches that cover ghostly shapes in white dresses. The paintings catch the attention of Francesca Harris-White, the socialite and wealthy owner of Camp Nightingale. When Francesca implores her to return to the newly reopened camp as a painting instructor, Emma sees an opportunity to try to find out what really happened to her friends.

Yet it’s immediately clear that all is not right at Camp Nightingale. Already haunted by memories from fifteen years ago, Emma discovers a security camera pointed directly at her cabin, mounting mistrust from Francesca and, most disturbing of all, cryptic clues Vivian left behind about the camp’s twisted origins. As she digs deeper, Emma finds herself sorting through lies from the past while facing threats from both man and nature in the present.

And the closer she gets to the truth about Camp Nightingale, the more she realizes it may come at a deadly price.

Continue reading “Review of The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager (physical paperback)”

September 2019 Wrap Up

 

I actually thought I would read more in September with my husband working long hours.  Somehow that didn’t happen though.  I still did well, pretty close to my average.

 

These won’t be in order of when I read them, but they were all read in September.

 

Into the Crooked Place (physical arc)  4 stars

Gravemaidens  (digital arc)  4  1/2 stars

The Never Tilting World  (digital arc)  4  1/2 stars

Continue reading “September 2019 Wrap Up”

Wrap Up For TBR and Beyond’s September 2019 Challenge

 

Just a quick update on how I did with September’s challenge.  When this was first announced, I had a lot of arcs to read, so I was thinking I would only get 3 of the 5 done.  But somehow I was able to fit 5 of my books into the categories.

Continue reading “Wrap Up For TBR and Beyond’s September 2019 Challenge”

Blog Tour for The Memory Thief by Lauren Mansy (giveaway)

 

TheMemoryThiefBlitzBanner

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Memory Thief by Lauren Mansy.  This tour is being hosted by xpresso book tours.  There will be a giveaway.

 

The Memory Thief
by Lauren Mansy
Published by: Blink
Publication date: October 1st 2019
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Continue reading “Blog Tour for The Memory Thief by Lauren Mansy (giveaway)”

Review of Capturing the Devil by Kerri Maniscalco (finished hardcover)

 

This is a book 4, so there are spoilers for the first three books in the synopsis and my review.  

 

37539001

 

Capturing the Devil by Kerri Maniscalco

In the shocking finale to the bestselling series that began with Stalking Jack the Ripper, Audrey Rose and Thomas are on the hunt for the depraved, elusive killer known as the White City Devil. A deadly game of cat-and-mouse has them fighting to stay one step ahead of the brilliant serial killer—or see their fateful romance cut short by unspeakable tragedy.

Audrey Rose Wadsworth and Thomas Cresswell have landed in America, a bold, brash land unlike the genteel streets of London they knew. But like London, the city of Chicago hides its dark secrets well. When the two attend the spectacular World’s Fair, they find the once-in-a-lifetime event tainted with reports of missing people and unsolved murders.

Determined to help, Audrey Rose and Thomas begin their investigations, only to find themselves facing a serial killer unlike any they’ve heard of before. Identifying him is one thing, but capturing him—and getting dangerously lost in the infamous Murder Hotel he constructed as a terrifying torture device—is another.

Will Audrey Rose and Thomas see their last mystery to the end—together and in love—or will their fortunes finally run out when their most depraved adversary makes one final, devastating kill?

Hardcover, 453 pages
Published September 10th 2019 by JIMMY Patterson

Continue reading “Review of Capturing the Devil by Kerri Maniscalco (finished hardcover)”

Can’t Wait Wednesday 10/2/19

 

cant-wait-wednesday

 

Can’t Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Wishful Endings and was previously hosted by Breaking the Spine.   It was created to show off a future release that you are excited for.

I apologize if there are any repeats.

Continue reading “Can’t Wait Wednesday 10/2/19”

The October TBR and Beyond Challenge

 

It’s time for the next TBR and Beyond monthly challenge.  This month’s is a Halloween Escape Room!  You do need to be a TBR and Beyond member to join in on THIS PAGE.  I hope you sign up!

 

71241596_10162274637635481_7131426756988239872_n

Continue reading “The October TBR and Beyond Challenge”

BOTM YA October 2019 Book Choices

 

If you’ve been following my blog for awhile, you likely know that I’m an affiliate for YA BOTM.   This is just like the regular BOTM, but specifically for young adult books.

This is my link if you’d like to sign up:  Kristi’s Affiliate Link  Thank you to anyone signs up from my link. 

 

October Choices:

Continue reading “BOTM YA October 2019 Book Choices”

The Other, Better Me by Antony John (promo)

 

43453706._SY475_

 

The Other, Better Me by Antony John

From the critically acclaimed author of Mascot comes this heartfelt novel, perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Cammie McGovern, about a girl searching for the meaning of family.

Lola and Momma have always been a team of two. It hasn’t always been easy for Lola, being one of the only kids she knows with just one parent around. And lately she’s been feeling incomplete, like there’s a part of herself that she can’t know until she knows her dad.

But what will happen—to Lola, to Momma, to their team of two—if she finds him?

Hardcover, 272 pages
Expected publication: October 1st 2019 by HarperCollins

Continue reading “The Other, Better Me by Antony John (promo)”

Top Ten Tuesday 10/1/19

 

TTT-NEW

 

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.   You can find each week’s topic on her site.

 

This week’s topic is books with numbers in the title.  I was able to find 5 that I’ve read and the other 5 are ones I haven’t read.

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday 10/1/19”