Blog Tour for There Will Come A Darkness by Katy Rose Pool (review and playlist)

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for There Will Come A Darkness by Katy Rose Pool.  This tour is being hosted by Macmillan and I want to thank them for my physical arc for review.

 

41823536

 

There Will Come A Darkness by Katy Rose Pool

The Age of Darkness approaches.
Five lives stand in its way.
Who will stop it… or unleash it? 

For generations, the Seven Prophets guided humanity. Using their visions of the future, they ended wars and united nations―until the day, one hundred years ago, when the Prophets disappeared.

All they left behind was one final, secret prophecy, foretelling an Age of Darkness and the birth of a new Prophet who could be the world’s salvation . . . or the cause of its destruction. As chaos takes hold, five souls are set on a collision course:

A prince exiled from his kingdom.
A ruthless killer known as the Pale Hand.
A once-faithful leader torn between his duty and his heart.
A reckless gambler with the power to find anything or anyone.
And a dying girl on the verge of giving up.

One of them―or all of them―could break the world. Will they be savior or destroyer? Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Children of Blood and Bone, and An Ember in the Ashes.

 

I want to start with the content warnings take right from the author’s website.

  • Violence
  • Allusions to sexual abuse of minors (not shown on page, not graphic)
  • Multiple discussions about and instances of parental death
  • Murder
  • Multiple instances of vomiting
  • Drinking
  • Multiple instances of suicidal ideation
  • Discussions and brief descriptions of verbal and physical abuse
  • Descriptions of PTSD symptoms

 

 

review

 

I was a little nervous when I heard that There Will Come A Darkness had 5 POVs. But this is how you do it right. Each voice was so different. I had no problems with knowing who the chapter was about, either by name or by what part they played in the story.

 

The book starts off with quite the bang. Our first POV is Ephyra. She is the Pale Hand and is killing a priest right as the book starts. Ephyra has a Grace that was stronger than she could have imagined. She can kill a person and take their esha with a touch of her hand. All that is left behind is a body with a pale handprint on it. Ephyra doesn’t want to kill. She has to. Her sister Beru is sick and is only better when Ephyra heals her after taking a life.

 

Beru is Ephyra’s sister and is deathly ill. She feels horrible guilt every time Ephyra takes a life for her. Even if it’s from an evil person. Beru struggles with wanting to be alive and with her sister and then the guilt. She wonders if she was just meant to die and thinks about it often. She is afraid that she and Ephyra will become monsters. Or that they already are. Ephyra struggled a lot with her Grace early on. She killed people. Innocent people. People she loved. She destroyed their home and now live on the run.

 

Anton is a gambler. He is also living his life on the run. But he’s running from someone that tried to kill him when he was younger. Anton still has flashbacks to that day, especially when he tries to use his Grace. Anton is a bit of a loner and is reckless, but he also has a good heart. He’s just trying to stay hidden and he knows he has been found.

 

Jude is the new leader of the Order of the Light. He has to pick members for his guard. Penrose is a stand out guard. And the last one he picks is Hector. There is a lot of hinting about how Jude feels about Hector. It was thought that all the Prophets had died and there is a darkness coming. But the Order of the Light know about another prophecy. One that is secret to only the ones who would give their lives to guard the Prophets. The Order of the Light must find the new Prophet before the darkness comes. Jude struggles with his feelings and being a leader. No one in the order is allowed to have any type of relationship. There is only one and that is to produce an heir to become the next leader. The Order swears an oath to protect the Prophet at all costs.

 

Hassan is the prince and is hiding out with his aunt. His parents and home were captured by the Witnesses. This group reminds me a bit of a cult following one leader. The Witnesses believe that the Grace is bad. They don’t believe in the Prophets. All they want is to remove the grace from everyone that has it and then rule. They believe that the Grace are privileged because of their powers, so no one else will every lead. Many people escaped and became refugees. Hassan starts to visit them, without telling them who he is. He sees how bad things are and wants to find a way to change it. In this camp is where he meets Khepri. She left her home believing that the Prince of Haret would be the one to lead them. He would take back their land.

 

“Over the past five years, reports have built a picture of the masked man. A foreigner, preaching through the eastern regions of Herat. A skilled speaker, able to silence a room with a gesture or incite a riot with a word. It was said that the Hierophant had once been an acolyte, of the Temple of Pallas, no less, but had turned his back on the Prophets and begun delivering his own message. He taught townsfolk that the powers of the Graced were unnatural and dangerous, his message gathering a following of others eager to blame the Grace for every ill suffered in their own lives.”

 

At some point, all of them cross paths. Some may help and some may harm. People will die. There are betrayals and lies. But the group created is determined to take back their home and make sure people are safe. The problem is that the Prophet may be someone to save them from the Age of Darkness, or he may be the end of their lives.

 

That’s all I can really get into. There is a small relationship starting and some hiding of feelings. Each one struggles with the decisions they have to make. The prophecy has a number of things that can happen to give the sign of darkness. These harbingers are already in play, even though they don’t know it.

 

I gave this book 5 stars. Thank you to MacMillan/Henry Holt for my review copy. I really can’t wait to see where the next book takes us. It was one of those endings where you just wanted more.

 

 

Playlist:

 

It’s kind of hard to make a playlist for fantasy because no song ever totally fits.  I tried to think of songs that represented the characters and the story.  What I came up with are songs based mostly on the title or a few lines of the song.  I hope it does give you an idea on the book.

 

Prepare yourself for a blast from the past!  I went with songs that are mostly from the 80’s.

 

 

I saw myself a little bit in each character and couldn’t really pick an absolute favorite.  The closest to me was probably Jude.  I could really relate to his sense of duty and responsibility and how they conflicted what he really wanted in his life.  I know I was very mature as a young child and I figured that Jude probably was.  As I got older, my heart definitely got in the way and I chose the wrong path more than once.  I made mistakes, but I did learn from them.

 

 

 

Instead of me oversharing like I normally do, I thought it would be fun to ask if you want to share a story that relates to this book or a character from the book.  Any moment in time where you had to stand up, face your fears, or make a tough decision between duty and heart.  Without telling the whole story, I will say that I participated in a walk out and protest march in eighth grade.  And I live in small midwest town, USA.  Have you done anything that made you proud?  Are you a bit of a protester?  Do you stand up for what is right?  I know I need to stand up more.  My introvert self gets really nervous.  I hope no one has any cult like experiences, but if you have and want to share, I’d love to read it.

 

 

author info

 

 

18415774

Katy is a writer living in Berkeley, California. She grew up in Los Angeles, where her screenwriter father taught her about three act structure, characterization, and inciting incidents all before she could tie her shoes. Katy studied history and English at UC Berkeley. She enjoys breakfast sandwiches, fancy cocktails, rooting for the Golden State Warriors, and books that set her on fire.

Website

 

Twitter

 

(Yay for another Warriors fan!)

 

 

Thank you again to Macmillan and thank you all for visiting today.  I hope some of you will share a story or two.

 

 

Signature

 

 

 

 

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

20 thoughts on “Blog Tour for There Will Come A Darkness by Katy Rose Pool (review and playlist)”

      1. We didnt start the fire was really well done and I love Billy Joel so extra points. Every time Judes chapters came up the Beatles popped in my head. I really fought that character for multiple reasons around his name. But my god. He became my heart. Lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s