Cursed by Thomas Wheeler and illustrated by Frank Miller (promo)

 

39678996._SY475_

 

Cursed by Thomas Wheeler and illustrated by Frank Miller

The Lady of the Lake is the true hero in this cinematic twist on the tale of King Arthur created by Thomas Wheeler and legendary artist, producer, and director Frank Miller (300, Batman: The Dark Night Returns, Sin City). Featuring 8 full color and 30 black-and-white pieces of original artwork by Frank Miller.

Whosoever wields the Sword of Power shall be the one true King.

But what if the Sword has chosen a Queen?

Nimue grew up an outcast. Her connection to dark magic made her something to be feared in her Druid village, and that made her desperate to leave…

That is, until her entire village is slaughtered by Red Paladins, and Nimue’s fate is forever altered. Charged by her dying mother to reunite an ancient sword with a legendary sorcerer, Nimue is now her people’s only hope. Her mission leaves little room for revenge, but the growing power within her can think of little else.

Nimue teams up with a charming mercenary named Arthur and refugee Fey Folk from across England. She wields a sword meant for the one true king, battling paladins and the armies of a corrupt king. She struggles to unite her people, avenge her family, and discover the truth about her destiny.

But perhaps the one thing that can change Destiny itself is found at the edge of a blade.

Expected publication: October 1st 2019 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Continue reading “Cursed by Thomas Wheeler and illustrated by Frank Miller (promo)”

Goodreads Monday 9/30/19

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.

 

41054515._SY475_

A Girl Called Shameless by Laura Steven

Funnier. Ruder. Angrier. Izzy O’Neill is back in the hilarious sequel to The Exact Opposite of Okay.

It’s been two months since a leaked explicit photo got Izzy involved in a political sex scandal – and the aftershock is far from over. The Bitches Bite Back movement is gathering momentum as a forum for teenage feminists, and when a girl at another school has a sex tape shared online, once again Izzy leads the charge against the slut-shamer. This time she wants to change the state law on revenge porn.
Izzy and her best friend Ajita are as hilarious as ever, using comedy to fight back against whatever the world throws at them, but Izzy is still reeling from her slut-shaming ordeal, feeling angry beyond belief and wondering – can they really make a change?

 

I really loved The Exact Opposite of Okay and can’t wait to read this one.  Have you read these books?  Are they on your TBR?

 

Signature

 

Crier’s War by Nina Varela (Promo Post)

 

 

43453704

 

Crier’s War by Nina Varela

After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, usurped their owners’ estates and bent the human race to their will.

Now Ayla, a human servant rising in the ranks at the House of the Sovereign, dreams of avenging her family’s death…by killing the sovereign’s daughter, Lady Crier.

Crier was Made to be beautiful, flawless, and to carry on her father’s legacy. But that was before her betrothal to the enigmatic Scyre Kinok, before she discovered her father isn’t the benevolent king she once admired, and most importantly, before she met Ayla.

Now, with growing human unrest across the land, pressures from a foreign queen, and an evil new leader on the rise, Crier and Ayla find there may be only one path to love: war.

Continue reading “Crier’s War by Nina Varela (Promo Post)”

Down the TBR Hole #101

 

Down The TBR Hole is a meme created by lost in a story that revolves around cleansing your TBR of all those books you’re never going to read and sort through it all to know what’s actually on there.

Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when youre scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well thats going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 (or even more!) if youre feeling adventurous) books. Of course, if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go

 

I’m going to start doing these a little differently to save picture space/time.  I’ll still list all 15-20 books, but I’m only going to add a few pictures.  It will likely be the books I’m keeping unless there are none for the week.  Then I’ll add a few random ones so it’s not super boring.

Continue reading “Down the TBR Hole #101”

Promo for Born To Run (Last Pick #2) by Jason Walz

 

I was able to do a promo post for Last Pick for Jason Walz last year, so I was really happy to hear from him for the second book.

 

42642056 (1)

 

Last Pick: Born to Run by Jason Walz

Four years ago, aliens kidnapped most of mankind, leaving behind those they deemed unworthy—the “last picked.”

The future for Sam is bleak and unthinkable. A galaxy away from her twin brother, she is a pawn in the aliens’ bloody civil war. But with her new friend Mia, Sam has found a way to resist her captors and hold onto her humanity.

Back on Earth, Sam’s twin, Wyatt, is leading a resistance of his own. With a ragtag army of the old, the young, and the disabled, he has a plan to bring the fight to his alien captors. But to defeat the aliens, Wyatt may need to befriend one.

“An extraordinary sequel that is thrilling, inclusive, and unforgettable.”―Kirkus Reviewstarred review

Paperback, 240 pages
Expected publication: October 8th 2019 by First Second

Continue reading “Promo for Born To Run (Last Pick #2) by Jason Walz”

Review of I Know You Remember by Jennifer Donaldson (digital arc)

 

 

43624341

I Know You Remember by Jennifer Donaldson

Jennifer Donaldson is back with another twisted thriller perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Gone Girl.

Zahra Gaines is missing.

After three long years away, Ruthie Hayden arrives in her hometown of Anchorage, Alaska to this devastating news. Zahra was Ruthie’s best friend–the only person who ever really understood her–and she vows to do whatever it takes to find her.

Zahra vanished from a party just days before Ruthie’s return, but the more people she talks to, the more she realizes that the Zahra she knew disappeared long before that fateful night. Gone is the whimsical, artistic girl who loved books and knew Ruthie’s every secret. In her place is an athlete, a partier, a girl with secrets of her own. Darker still are the rumors that something happened to Zahra while Ruthie was gone, something that changed her forever…

As Ruthie desperately tries to piece together the truth, she falls deeper and deeper into her friend’s new world, circling closer to a dangerous revelation about what Zahra experienced in the days before her disappearance–one that might be better off buried.

In her stunning follow-up to Lies You Never Told Me, Jennifer Donaldson once again delivers a propulsive thriller with a masterful twist, skillfully creating a world where nothing is quite as it seems.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Expected publication: October 8th 2019 by Razorbill

 

Continue reading “Review of I Know You Remember by Jennifer Donaldson (digital arc)”

1750 Follower Giveaway: $20 book of your choice (international if book depository ships to you)

 

I’m sorry this has taken so long.  I’m quite a bit over 1750 now, but things have been busy.

 

I’ll keep this short.  Thank you all for following my blog.  The terms are on the rafflecopter page and will also be below.  Please make sure you qualify before entering and that you do both mandatory things.

Continue reading “1750 Follower Giveaway: $20 book of your choice (international if book depository ships to you)”