Top Ten Tuesday 8/20/19

 

TTT-NEW

 

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.   You can find each week’s topic on her site.

 

This week’s topic is top ten favorite tropes.  I’m one of those people who doesn’t really hate tropes.  They don’t bother me, while I know other people who hate them.  I did a search to help me come up with some that I almost always enjoy.

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday 8/20/19”

Review of The Vanishing Stair by Maureen Johnson

 

This is a book two.  There may be spoilers for book one in the synopsis and my review.

 

39893545

 

The Vanishing Stair by Maureen Johnson

 

All Stevie Bell wanted was to find the key to the Ellingham mystery, but instead she found her classmate dead. And while she solved that murder, the crimes of the past are still waiting in the dark. Just as Stevie feels she’s on the cusp of putting it together, her parents pull her out of Ellingham academy.

For her own safety they say. She must move past this obsession with crime. Now that Stevie’s away from the school of topiaries and secret tunnels, and her strange and endearing friends, she begins to feel disconnected from the rest of the world. At least she won’t have to see David anymore. David, who she kissed. David, who lied to her about his identity—son of despised politician Edward King. Then King himself arrives at her house to offer a deal: He will bring Stevie back to Ellingham immediately. In return, she must play nice with David. King is in the midst of a campaign and can’t afford his son stirring up trouble. If Stevie’s at school, David will stay put.

The tantalizing riddles behind the Ellingham murders are still waiting to be unraveled, and Stevie knows she’s so close. But the path to the truth has more twists and turns than she can imagine—and moving forward involves hurting someone she cares for. In New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson’s second novel of the Truly Devious series, nothing is free, and someone will pay for the truth with their life.

Continue reading “Review of The Vanishing Stair by Maureen Johnson”

Goodreads Monday 8/19/19

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

It’s getting hard to remember which ones I’ve done already, so I’m sorry if you see a book pop up on these more than once.

This is a book two, so there are spoilers for book one in the synopsis. 

 

38880852

 

Soul of Stars by Ashley Poston

 

The highly awaited sequel to Heart of Iron, Soul of Stars is a thrilling sci-fi adventure packed with romance, shocking twists, and witty banter, perfect for fans of Six of Crows and Cinder.

Once, Ana was an orphaned space outlaw. Then she was the Empress of the Iron Kingdom. Now, thought dead by most of the galaxy after she escaped from the dark AI program called the HIVE, Ana is desperate for a way to save Di from the HIVE’s evil clutches and take back her kingdom.

Ana’s only option is to find Starbright, the one person who has hacked into the HIVE and lived to tell the tale. But when Ana’s desperation costs the crew of the Dossier a terrible price, Ana and her friends are sent spiraling through the most perilous reaches of the Iron Kingdom to stop the true arbiter of evil in her world: an ancient world-ending deity called the Great Dark.

Their journey will take the sharp-witted pilot, Jax, to the home he never wanted to return to, and the dangerous fate he left behind. And when Robb finds out who Jax really is, he must contend with his own feelings for the boy he barely knows, and whether he truly belongs with this group of outcasts.

When facing the worst odds, can Ana and her crew of misfits find a way to stop the Great Dark once and for all?

 

Have you read Soul of Stars yet?  Did you enjoy Heart of Iron?

 

Signature

 

 

Review of Final Girls by Riley Sager (physical book)

 

 

32796253

 

Final Girls by Riley Sager

Ten years ago, college student Quincy Carpenter went on vacation with five friends and came back alone, the only survivor of a horror movie–scale massacre. In an instant, she became a member of a club no one wants to belong to—a group of similar survivors known in the press as the Final Girls. Lisa, who lost nine sorority sisters to a college dropout’s knife; Sam, who went up against the Sack Man during her shift at the Nightlight Inn; and now Quincy, who ran bleeding through the woods to escape Pine Cottage and the man she refers to only as Him. The three girls are all attempting to put their nightmares behind them, and, with that, one another. Despite the media’s attempts, they never meet.

Now, Quincy is doing well—maybe even great, thanks to her Xanax prescription. She has a caring almost-fiancé, Jeff; a popular baking blog; a beautiful apartment; and a therapeutic presence in Coop, the police officer who saved her life all those years ago. Her memory won’t even allow her to recall the events of that night; the past is in the past.

That is, until Lisa, the first Final Girl, is found dead in her bathtub, wrists slit, and Sam, the second, appears on Quincy’s doorstep. Blowing through Quincy’s life like a whirlwind, Sam seems intent on making Quincy relive the past, with increasingly dire consequences, all of which makes Quincy question why Sam is really seeking her out. And when new details about Lisa’s death come to light, Quincy’s life becomes a race against time as she tries to unravel Sam’s truths from her lies, evade the police and hungry reporters, and, most crucially, remember what really happened at Pine Cottage, before what was started ten years ago is finished.

Continue reading “Review of Final Girls by Riley Sager (physical book)”

Down the TBR Hole #95

 

Down The TBR Hole is a meme created by lost in a story that revolves around cleansing your TBR of all those books you’re never going to read and sort through it all to know what’s actually on there.

Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when youre scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well thats going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 (or even more!) if youre feeling adventurous) books. Of course, if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go

 

I’m going to start doing these a little differently to save picture space/time.  I’ll still list all 15-20 books, but I’m only going to add a few pictures.  It will likely be the books I’m keeping unless there are none for the week.  Then I’ll add a few random ones so it’s not super boring.

Continue reading “Down the TBR Hole #95”

Blog Tour for When The Light Gets In by Katy Upperman (guest post and giveaway)

 

TOUR BANNER

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for How The Light Gets In by Katy Upperman.  This tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.  I have an author guest post to share and there will be a giveaway.

 

How the Light Gets In

by Katy Upperman

Publisher: Swoon Reads

Release Date: August 6th 2019

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Continue reading “Blog Tour for When The Light Gets In by Katy Upperman (guest post and giveaway)”

Review of Your Heart Is The Sea by Nikita Gill (physical copy)

 

 

42630586._SY475_

 

Your Heart Is The Sea by Nikita Gill

 

Let poetry help you examine the depths of your wounds. Let it remind you that no matter how deep it goes, you will be able to heal it because you have been able to heal every single wound inflicted on your heart and soul before. Let these words show you that you will be able to find the light at the end of the wound because you have always found your way before.

 

 

Continue reading “Review of Your Heart Is The Sea by Nikita Gill (physical copy)”

Most Anticipated September 2019 Book Releases.

 

I’m going to say it now.  September is insane!  WTH publishers?  I know there are slow seasons and busy seasons, but this is nuts.  I do not have every release listed.  I tried to choose the ones I’m looking forward to and the ones I know a lot of other people are excited for.

 

*read

$ordered

%have an arc I still need to read.

 

September 3rd:

 

 

Kingdom of Souls  *$

The Lady Rogue  *$

There Will Come A Darkness (reading now)  $

The Girl the Sea Gave Back *

Continue reading “Most Anticipated September 2019 Book Releases.”

Blog Tour For Color Me In by Natasha Diaz (excerpt and giveaway)

 

COLOR ME IN

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Color Me In by Natasha Diaz.  This tour is being hosted by Rock Star Book Tours.  I’ll be sharing an excerpt and there will be a giveaway.

 

Title: COLOR ME IN

Author: Natasha Diaz

Pub. Date: August 20, 2019

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook

Pages: 384

Find it: GoodreadsAmazonKindleAudibleB&NiBooksKoboTBD

Continue reading “Blog Tour For Color Me In by Natasha Diaz (excerpt and giveaway)”

Review of Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson

 

 

29589074._SX318_

 

Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson

 

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. “A place” he said, “where learning is a game.”

Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym, Truly Devious. It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder.

Continue reading “Review of Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson”