Blog Tour for Teeth in the Mist by Dawn Kurtagich (digital arc review and giveaway)

 

TEETH IN THE MIST

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Teeth in the Mist by Dawn Kurtagich.  I was so thrilled to be chosen because this book was high on my anticipated list for 2019.  This tour is being hosted by Rock Star Book Tours.  I’ll be sharing my review and there will be a giveaway.

 

 

Kurtagich_TeethintheMist_HC

 

Title: TEETH IN THE MIST

Author: Dawn Kurtagich

Pub. Date: June 11, 2019

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Pages: 352

Find it: GoodreadsAmazonKindleB&N, iBooksKoboTBD

 

A genre-bending epic horror-fantasy, inspired by the legend of Faust, that spans generations as an ancient evil is uncovered–perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Ransom Riggs.

 

Before the birth of time, a monk uncovers the Devil’s Tongue and dares to speak it. The repercussions will be felt for generations…

 

Sixteen-year-old photography enthusiast Zoey has been fascinated by the haunted, burnt-out ruins of Medwyn Mill House for as long as she can remember–so she and her best friend, Poulton, run away from home to explore them. But are they really alone in the house? And who will know if something goes wrong?

 

In 1851, seventeen-year-old Roan arrives at the Mill House as a ward–one of three, all with something to hide from their new guardian. When Roan learns that she is connected to an ancient secret, she must escape the house before she is trapped forever.

 

  1. Hermione, a new young bride, accompanies her husband to the wilds of North Wales where he plans to build the largest water mill and mansion in the area. But rumors of unholy rituals lead to a tragic occurrence and she will need all her strength to defeat it.

 

Three women, centuries apart, drawn together by one Unholy Pact. A pact made by a man who, more than a thousand years later, may still be watching…

 

 

 

review

 

 

Oh my.  How do I review this book without giving away all the secrets and twists.  I’ll start by saying that I loved this book.  It was dark and different than anything I’ve read before.

 

Most of the book is told by Roan.  Roan’s father died and she was to be a ward of a doctor she never met or even heard of.  He lived on a mountain in a place called The Mill House.  Roan felt weird things right away while walking to the home.  Three wards were arriving that night.  The other two were Emma and her brother Seamus who was in a wheelchair.  It took awhile before the doctor showed up, so the wards became acquainted with each other, the help, and the house.  Mrs. Goode was the main help in the house.  Then there was Jenny and Andrew.  Plus, Rapley, a young man that Roan met the night she arrived.  He stayed outside most of the time.  We find out that he’s the adopted son of the doctor.

 

Strange things happen in this house.  Roan had been conjuring since she was a young child.  At night, she could see a ram watching her from outside, calling to her.  Jenny tells them a story about the house’s dark history.  According to legend, a couple, John and Hermione, built the house.  People started disappearing, including their own children.  Hermione was accused of being a witch and they burned her to death for it.

 

Hermione has a voice in the book in diary entries.  We see little bit and pieces of her life and how John changed.  He became violent.  He was obsessed with building this mill into a mountain where water wasn’t really expected to be found.

 

Our third pov is from Zoey.  This is modern time.  Most of Zoey’s story is told in notes and video footage.  It made me think of The Blair Witch while reading it.  She and her best friend, Pole, make the trip to the mill house.  Zoey’s dad was obsessed with the stories.  But they didn’t really find any information while researching it.  Zoey’s dad taught her magic, but it came at a price.  Zoey’s dad lost memories.  One day he decided to visit the house.  He made it back, but was violent and had no memories of his life.  So Zoey was determined to go there and figure out the mystery for her dad.  She felt the darkness on/in the mountain right away.  She found letters from someone named Roan and a diary from someone named Hermione.  There were carvings in the wall of one room.  Little crosses everywhere.  Zoey can feel that they’re not alone.  While there, Pole started to change.  They meet a girl there, Len, that tries to help Zoey end the darkness.

 

The stories throughout the book start to overlap and things all start to make sense.  We know early on that a man made a pact with the devil for immortality.  But he needs souls to feed the devil to keep on living.  Many lives were taken in this house throughout the years and the mountain itself seems to be alive.  It devours people.

 

That’s pretty much all I can share.  I was sucked into this story right away.  I loved the darkness.  The earc didn’t have all the artwork/designs, so I cannot wait to see those in the finished book.

 

Warnings for deaths, body parts, cutting (blood magic), incest, horrible things said about lesbians, sex, language, torture (water and branding), dark magic, and abuse.  There are probably more that I’m forgetting.  It’s a dark book, so just be prepared for that going in.

 

I gave this book 5 stars.  Thank you to the publisher for sending me an earc through netgalley for review.

 

 

author info

 

 

Dawn

 

Dawn Kurtagich is an award winning author of creepy, spooky, and psychologically sinister YA, where girls may descend into madness, boys may see monsters in men, and grown-ups may have something to hide.

Her debut novel, THE DEAD HOUSE, was a YALSA Top 10 Pick, An Audie Award Nominee and an Earphone Award Winner. It has been optioned for TV by Lime Productions. She is also the author of THE CREEPER MAN / AND THE TREES CREPT IN, NAIDA and the forthcoming TEETH IN THE MIST, published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers and Orion Children’s Books. If you enjoy a creeping chill along your spine, mystery and little bit of terror, then you’re in the right place!

 

By the time she was eighteen, she had been to fifteen schools across two continents. The daughter of a British globe-trotter and single mother, she grew up all over the place, but her formative years were spent in Africa—on a mission, in the bush, in the city and in the desert.

 

She has been lucky enough to see an elephant stampede at close range, a giraffe tongue at very close range, and she once witnessed the stealing of her (and her friends’) underwear by very large, angry baboons. (This will most definitely end up in a book . . . ) While she has quite a few tales to tell about the jumping African baboon spider, she tends to save these for Halloween!

 

When she was sixteen, she thought she’d be an astronomer and writer at the same time, and did a month-long internship at Cambridge’s prestigious Cavendish Laboratories.

 

Dawn vlogs on her youtube channel and can be found hanging around Twitter and Instagram.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Tumblr | YouTube | Pinterest |  Goodreads

 

 

giveaway

 

3 lucky winners will receive finished copies of TEETH IN THE MIST, US Only.

 

Rafflecopter Link

 

 

Follow the Tour:

 

Tour Schedule:

Blog Tour: 

Week One:

6/3/2019- She Dreams in Fiction– Excerpt

6/4/2019- Literary Meanderings – Excerpt

6/5/2019- Smada’s Book Smack– Review

6/6/2019- Book Briefs– Review

6/7/2019- 100 Pages A Day– Review

 

Week Two:

6/10/2019- A Dream Within A Dream– Review

6/11/2019- Book-Keeping– Review

6/12/2019- BookHounds YA– Review

6/13/2019- Confessions of a YA Reader– Review

6/14/2019- Two points of interest– Review

 

Instagram Tour:

Week One:

6/3/2019- fictitious.fox– Review

6/4/2019- jypsylynn– Review

6/5/2019- Riddle’s Reviews– Review

6/6/2019- Moonlight Rendezvous– Review

6/7/2019- Jena Brown Writes– Review

 

Week Two:

6/10/2019- PopTheButterfly Reads– Review

6/11/2019- The Pages In-Between– Review

6/12/2019- A Bookish Dream– Review

6/13/2019- Wonder Struck– Review

6/14/2019- Pink Polka Dot Books– Review

 

 

Signature

 

 

 

Advertisements

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

14 thoughts on “Blog Tour for Teeth in the Mist by Dawn Kurtagich (digital arc review and giveaway)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s