I’m a new affiliate for Book of the Month YA. July Book choices.

 

I was recently contacted to become an affiliate for Book Of The Month YA.  Since I’ve heard nothing but good things about BOTM, I decided to give it a try.  Please note that this is not a website for Book of the Month.  I’m just promoting it.  You can follow the link below which will take you to the site.

 

I will be posting around once a month and the posts will always include my affiliate link.  Please know that I do get a commission for every new sign up using my link.  So thank you in advance to anyone who gives it a try.

Continue reading “I’m a new affiliate for Book of the Month YA. July Book choices.”

Down the TBR Hole #88

 

 

Down The TBR Hole is a meme created by lost in a story that revolves around cleansing your TBR of all those books you’re never going to read and sort through it all to know what’s actually on there.

Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when youre scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well thats going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 (or even more!) if youre feeling adventurous) books. Of course, if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go

 

I’m going to start doing these a little differently to save picture space/time.  I’ll still list all 15-20 books, but I’m only going to add a few pictures.  It will likely be the books I’m keeping unless there are none for the week.  Then I’ll add a few random ones so it’s not super boring.

Continue reading “Down the TBR Hole #88”

Review of Immunity by Erin Bowman (digital arc)

 

Please note that this is a book two.  The synopsis does have spoilers for book one, Contagion.  My review will, too, but no spoilers for Immunity.

 

33282104

 

Immunity by Erin Bowman

 

Survivors of a deadly planetary outbreak take on a new, sinister adversary in the white-knuckle sequel to Contagion, which New York Times bestselling author Amie Kaufman called “gripping, thrilling and terrifying in equal measures.”

They thought their nightmare was over, but Thea, Coen, and Nova’s rescue was only the beginning. After being imprisoned on a ship they thought was their ticket to safety, it’s clear that the threat they left behind isn’t as distant as they’d hoped—and this time the entire galaxy is at risk.

Now that threat is about to be unleashed as an act of political warfare. To prevent an interstellar catastrophe, the survivors must harness the evil they faced on the planet Achlys and learn to wield the only weapon they have left: themselves.

The first installment in Erin Bowman’s duology earned a starred review from Publishers Weekly, who called the plot “intricate and action-packed,” and fans of Jonathan Maberry, Rick Yancey, and Madeline Roux will relish in Bowman’s tense, high-stakes conclusion to the events of Contagion.

Continue reading “Review of Immunity by Erin Bowman (digital arc)”

Read Along Chapters 16-22 The Disasters by M.K. England (giveaway)

 

Author M.K. England decided to do something very cool to celebrate Pride month.  Four bloggers were chosen to post discussion questions for everyone to answer during a read along.  I have the final ones below, but make sure you check out the other blog posts.  The blogger names and dates are on the graphic.  There are also challenges and twitter chats.  Make sure you enter the giveaway,too!

 

Summer-Challenge

Continue reading “Read Along Chapters 16-22 The Disasters by M.K. England (giveaway)”

Mid-Year Freak Out Tag!

 

Thank you to Melanie and Mireille for tagging me.  Make sure you check out the TBR and Beyond blog (and check out the group on facebook, too).  I’m going to do my best on this one.  I always remember an answer a week after I do these types of posts and kick myself for forgetting something I loved.

 

What is the best book that you’ve read so far in 2019?

This question is always so hard for me.  Wicked Saints was a standout.  A few that aren’t out yet will be favorites.  I’ve read arcs of Swipe Right For Murder, Blood Heir, and Don’t Say A Word.  Those are high up on my list.  I struggle on this question and have a hard time picking a top ten at the end of the year.

Continue reading “Mid-Year Freak Out Tag!”

Across the Void by S.K. Vaughn (promo & book excerpt)

 

acrosss-the-void-book-cover

 

Across The Void by S.K. Vaughn

 

A visceral space thriller is the landscape for this complicated love story—perfect for fans of Arrival, The Martian and Passengers. Across The Void follows Commander Maryam “May” Knox – the First Rank space pilot chosen to lead the unprecedented research mission to one of Jupiter’s moons, aboard the most advanced vessel to enter space – The Hawking II.

She becomes the sole survivor of a catastrophic accident, leaving her adrift in the void. Depending on her top-notch super elite intelligence and skills, May must survive, with her A.I. companion, as long as possible until she can communicate back to Earth. It is the voice of her estranged husband, Stephen, the NASA scientist who built the ship, who must guide her back home.  The two must leave the past behind in order to survive the void that is now physically between them.

The year is 2067 and May awakens from a medically induced coma — alone, adrift in space on a rapidly failing ship. She has little to no memory of who she is or why she’s there.  Slowly, with the help of her A.I. companion EVE, she pieces together that she’s the captain of The Hawking II  — the innovative, first of its kind ship created by her husband Stephen. She was heading back from a successful first voyage on Europa only  to find that she is the sole survivor of either an accident—or worse, a sabotage —that has decimated her entire crew. With resources running low, and her physical strength severely compromised, May must rely on someone back home to help her. The problem is: everyone thinks she’s dead.

Back on Earth, it’s been weeks since the Hawking II has communicated with NASA, and Dr. Stephen Knox is hopeful that May (his estranged wife) and her crew, are still alive.  May’s decision to participate in the Europa mission, amongst other unfortunate circumstances, strained their marriage past the point of no return. But when he gets word that NASA has received a transmission from May, Stephen is among the first to head the rescue mission.

What he doesn’t know is that not everyone wants May to make it back alive. Featuring a twisting, suspenseful plot combined with relatable and compelling characters, Across the Void is a moving and evocative thriller weaving together space exploration with an entangled romance that readers won’t be able to put down.

Continue reading “Across the Void by S.K. Vaughn (promo & book excerpt)”

Review of Let’s Call It A Doomsday by Katie Henry (digital arc)

 

40942619

 

Let’s Call It A Doomsday by Katie Henry

 

There are so many ways the world could end. There could be a fire. A catastrophic flood. A super eruption that spews lakes of lava. Ellis Kimball has made note of all possible scenarios, and she is prepared for each one. What she doesn’t expect is meeting Hannah Marks in her therapist’s waiting room. Hannah calls their meeting fate. After all, Ellis is scared about the end of the world; Hannah knows when it’s going to happen.

Despite Ellis’s anxiety — about what others think of her, about what she’s doing wrong, about the safety of her loved ones — the two girls become fast friends. As Ellis tries to help Hannah decipher the details of her doomsday premonition, she learns there are secrets Hannah isn’t telling her. But with time ticking down, the search for answers only raises more questions. When does it happen? Who will believe them? How do you prepare for the end of the world when it feels like your life is just getting started?

Katie Henry, the author of Heretics Anonymous, delivers an engrossing and thoughtful tale about how people survive — with some faith in family, friends, and maybe a few prepper forums.

 

Expected publication: August 6th 2019 by Katherine Tegen Books

Continue reading “Review of Let’s Call It A Doomsday by Katie Henry (digital arc)”