Review of A People’s History of Heaven by Mathangi Subramanian (digital arc)

 

 

40591946

 

A People’s History of Heaven by Mathangi Subramanian

 

A politically driven graffiti artist. A transgender Christian convert. A blind girl who loves to dance. A queer daughter of a hijabi union leader. These are some of the young women who live in a Bangalore slum known as Heaven, young women whom readers will come to love in the moving, atmospheric, and deeply inspiring debut, A People’s History of Heaven.

Welcome to Heaven, a thirty-year-old slum hidden between brand-new high-rise apartment buildings and technology incubators in contemporary Bangalore, one of India’s fastest-growing cities. In Heaven, you will come to know a community made up almost entirely of women, mothers and daughters who have been abandoned by their men when no male heir was produced. Living hand-to-mouth and constantly struggling against the city government who wants to bulldoze their homes and build yet more glass high-rises, these women, young and old, gladly support one another, sharing whatever they can.

A People’s History of Heaven centers on five best friends, girls who go to school together, a diverse group who love and accept one another unconditionally, pulling one another through crises and providing emotional, physical, and financial support. Together they wage war on the bulldozers that would bury their homes, and, ultimately, on the city that does not care what happens to them.

This is a story about geography, history, and strength, about love and friendship, about fighting for the people and places we love–even if no one else knows they exist. Elegant, poetic, bursting with color, Mathangi Subramanian’s novel is a moving and celebratory story of girls on the cusp of adulthood who find joy just in the basic act of living.

Continue reading “Review of A People’s History of Heaven by Mathangi Subramanian (digital arc)”

Review of 8 Souls by Rachel Rust (digital arc) plus some history of Villisca

 

 

44563453

 

8 Souls by Rachel Rust

 

All her life, seventeen-year-old Chessie has had recurring dreams about a little white farmhouse. Quaint? Not quite. The house is the site of the unsolved murders of Villisca, Iowa, where eight people were slaughtered in 1912. With her parents on the verge of divorce, Chessie is stuck spending the summer with her grandparents in Villisca—right across the street from the axe murder house.

She’s soon hearing voices calling out for help and begins unraveling a link between herself and the town’s bloody history. And when she falls for a cute boy harboring a big secret, the pieces fall into place as she at last discovers the truth of Villisca’s gruesome past…

Continue reading “Review of 8 Souls by Rachel Rust (digital arc) plus some history of Villisca”

Goodreads Monday 4/15/19

 

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

 

40652338

 

The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James by Ashley Herring Blake

 

Twelve-year-old Sunny St. James navigates heart surgery, reconnecting with her lost mother, first kisses, and emerging feelings for another girl in this stunning, heartfelt novel–perfect for fans of Ali Benjamin and Erin Entrada Kelly.
When Sunny St. James receives a new heart, she decides to set off on a “New Life Plan”: 1) do awesome amazing things she could never do before; 2) find a new best friend; and 3) kiss a boy for the first time.
Her “New Life Plan” seems to be racing forward, but when she meets her new best friend Quinn, Sunny questions whether she really wants to kiss a boy at all. With the reemergence of her mother, Sunny begins a journey to becoming the new Sunny St. James.
This sweet, tender novel dares readers to find the might in their own hearts.

 

I picked this one up last week and hope to read it soon.  Have you read it yet?  Have you read anything else by Ashley Herring Blake?

 

Signature

 

 

Down the TBR Hole #77

 

Down The TBR Hole is a meme created by lost in a story that revolves around cleansing your TBR of all those books you’re never going to read and sort through it all to know what’s actually on there.

Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when youre scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well thats going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 (or even more!) if youre feeling adventurous) books. Of course, if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go

 

I’m going to start doing these a little differently to save picture space/time.  I’ll still list all 15-20 books, but I’m only going to add a few pictures.  It will likely be the books I’m keeping unless there are none for the week.  Then I’ll add a few random ones so it’s not super boring.

Continue reading “Down the TBR Hole #77”

Blog Tour for Smoke and Key by Kelsey Sutton (review)

 

tour banner (1).png

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Smoke and Key by Kelsey Sutton.  This tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.  I’ll be sharing my review today.

 

 

3d cover

 

Smoke and Key

by Kelsey Sutton
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Release Date: April 2nd 2019

Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy, Mystery, Historical, Fiction, Paranormal, Magic, Horror

 

A sound awakens her. There’s darkness all around. And then she’s falling…

 

She has no idea who or where she is. Or why she’s dead. The only clue to her identity hangs around her neck: a single rusted key. This is how she and the others receive their names—from whatever belongings they had when they fell out of their graves. Under is a place of dirt and secrets, and Key is determined to discover the truth of her past in order to escape it.

 

She needs help, but who can she trust? Ribbon seems content in Under, uninterested in finding answers. Doll’s silence hints at deep sorrow, which could be why she doesn’t utter a word. There’s Smoke, the boy with a fierceness that rivals even the living. And Journal, who stays apart from everyone else. Key’s instincts tell her there is something remarkable about each of them, even if she can’t remember why.

 

Then the murders start; bodies that are burnt to a crisp. After being burned, the dead stay dead. Key is running out of time to discover who she was—and what secret someone is willing to kill to keep hidden—before she becomes the next victim…

Continue reading “Blog Tour for Smoke and Key by Kelsey Sutton (review)”

Review of Red, White, and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston (digital arc)

 

41150487

 

Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

 

A big-hearted romantic comedy in which First Son Alex falls in love with Prince Henry of Wales after an incident of international proportions forces them to pretend to be best friends…

First Son Alex Claremont-Diaz is the closest thing to a prince this side of the Atlantic. With his intrepid sister and the Veep’s genius granddaughter, they’re the White House Trio, a beautiful millennial marketing strategy for his mother, President Ellen Claremont. International socialite duties do have downsides—namely, when photos of a confrontation with his longtime nemesis Prince Henry at a royal wedding leak to the tabloids and threaten American/British relations.

The plan for damage control: staging a fake friendship between the First Son and the Prince. Alex is busy enough handling his mother’s bloodthirsty opponents and his own political ambitions without an uptight royal slowing him down. But beneath Henry’s Prince Charming veneer, there’s a soft-hearted eccentric with a dry sense of humor and more than one ghost haunting him.

As President Claremont kicks off her reelection bid, Alex finds himself hurtling into a secret relationship with Henry that could derail the campaign and upend two nations. And Henry throws everything into question for Alex, an impulsive, charming guy who thought he knew everything: What is worth the sacrifice? How do you do all the good you can do? And, most importantly, how will history remember you?

Continue reading “Review of Red, White, and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston (digital arc)”

Unboxing the March 2019 Unicorn Crate

 

 

DSC_0030

 

I knew I had to get the March Unicorn Crate when I saw the theme was “Witchy Women”.  I also knew which book it was, and I had really enjoyed the ARC of it I read.

 

There will be spoilers (photos) after this.  If you don’t want to see, stop reading here.

Continue reading “Unboxing the March 2019 Unicorn Crate”

Release Week for The Boyfriend Bid by Jodie Andrefski (excerpt and giveaway)

 

 

tBBBlitz

 

Happy release week to The Boyfriend Bid by Jodie Andrefski.  This blog tour is being hosted by Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours.

 

TheBoyfriendBid-500x750

 

The Boyfriend Bid by Jodie Andrefski

Publication Date:  April 8, 2019

Publisher:  Entangled Teen Crush

 

Sarah Campbell’s never bid in her high school’s charity auction to win a date with one of the school’s hottest guys. And she’s certainly not going to start now––when she’s still hurting over a bad breakup. The absolute last thing she’d ever do is bid on Mr. Ego himself, Chance DuPont.

Chance just wanted to help out a worthy cause, not get roped into not one but six dates with someone who seemingly can’t stand him. But when Sarah’s friends bid on him on her behalf, that’s exactly where he ends up. Now a local blog is covering the story by following them on all their dates, too? 

Seems like everyone loves a good love story––except the two living it.

Continue reading “Release Week for The Boyfriend Bid by Jodie Andrefski (excerpt and giveaway)”

March 2019 Book Haul

 

I did a little better for March!  By better, I mean that the books fit on one notebook page instead of two.  But still.  It’s less than February.  I’m already worried about April though…

 

 

Physical Books From Publishers:

 

Continue reading “March 2019 Book Haul”

Can’t Wait Wednesday 4/10/19

 

cant-wait-wednesday

 

Can’t Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Wishful Endings and was previously hosted by Breaking the Spine.   It was created to show off a future release that you are excited for.

Continue reading “Can’t Wait Wednesday 4/10/19”