Blog Tour for Your Own Worst Enemy by Gordon Jack (review and giveaway)

 

your own worst enemy

 

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Your Own Worst Enemy by Gordon Jack.  This tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.  I’ll be sharing my review and there will be a giveaway.

 

Your Own Worst Enemy

by Gordon Jack

Publisher: HarperTeen

Release Date: November 13, 2018

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

 

YOWE

 

Synopsis:

 

Three candidates, three platforms, and a whirlwind of social media, gaffes, and protests makes for a ridiculous and hilarious political circus in Gordon Jack’s second highly satirical novel. Perfect for fans of Andrew Smith and Frank Portman.

 

They say that with great power comes great responsibility. Unless you’re student body president at Lincoln High School. Then you get all the responsibility but none of the power. And the three candidates running for president know all about that.

 

Stacey Wynn is the front-runner, but she didn’t count on Julia Romero entering this race. Julia is challenging Stacey for the title while also putting the moves on Stacey’s campaign adviser and only friend, Brian. And then there is Tony Guo, the way outsider. Tony is usually oblivious to the school’s political campaigning, as he’s oblivious to anything that isn’t about getting high and drinking all the Space Cow chocolate milk he can stomach. But when his favorite beverage is banned at school, a freshman political “mastermind” convinces Tony to become the voice of the little guy. But what kind of voice is that, really?

 

If this were an ordinary high school election, the winner would be whichever candidate was the most popular. But this year, each candidate may have to sink to a new low to win an election that could change the course of…very little.

 

BOOK LINKS

 

 

My Review:

 

This book was surprisingly fun.  It’s very character driven, so that’s what I’m going to focus on for this review.   There were quite a few teens to keep track of.

 

Stacey has been in student government for 3 years and is running for class president.  She thinks she will be the only one until two other people sign up at the last minute.  She lives with her dad.  Her mom left and is now marrying Stacey’s martial arts teacher.  Stacey is still mad at her mom, but she does go to her for help with election issues.  Her mom is more ruthless than her dad is.

 

Brian is Stacey’s best friend.  He used to be heavy and lost a lot of weight after a health issue.  Stacey thinks he may be gay, but Brian hasn’t really felt any sexual attraction until he met the new girl.  Now his body responds to her all the time and it’s freaking him out.  Brian is very loyal to Stacey, but the girl he starts dating is her competition.

 

Julia is a new student from Canada.  She got in some trouble and was sent to live with her aunt in California.  Julia doesn’t know who her father is.  She has darker skin and most people assume she’s Latina.  Julia really likes Brian, but they keep their relationship hidden because of Stacey.  Julia decides to run for class president.  There is a club for Latin Girls and Julia starts spending a lot of time with them.  They’re all backing Julia in the race.

 

Kyle is Brian’s younger brother.  They are complete opposites.  Kyle is pretty anti-government.  He’s known as “mohawk” for part of the story.  He’s in therapy, but it’s not helping much.  One of his goals in life is to destroy his brother.

 

Tony is a tall Asian stoner.  He’s high all the time and mostly hangs out in the cafeteria with all the freshman boys.  He gets really upset when the school takes away his chocolate milk.  Kyle uses this to get Tony to run for class president.  Tony really has no idea what he’s doing, but Kyle helps him run his campaign.

 

James is running for VP uncontested.  He’s gay and runs a club at the school.  James and Brian used to be close.

 

Jenny is one of the Latin Girls and becomes close to Julia.  She is the only one that Julia confides in about her parental background (she eventually tells Brian, too).  Jenny helps Julia get a DNA test and says the girls will support her no matter what.

 

There are other characters, too, but those are the ones that seem pretty important.  The book covers a lot of things that are going on in our political world (in the US) right now.  They talk about racism and there is mention of the wall.  Most of the kids seem pretty liberal (it is California), but there are some that support Trump, too.  One of Julia’s posters gets racist graffiti written on it.

 

I found that the book had a fun take on running for class president while addressing some issues we see in real life right now.  I gave this one 4 stars.  Thank you to the publisher and Edelweiss for the review copy.

 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

 

15193008

Gordon Jack always wanted to be a writer. In third grade, he put that on his “What I want to be when I grow up” list, just behind astronaut and professional dog walker. While working towards this goal, he had jobs as an advertising copywriter, English teacher, librarian, and semi-professional dog walker. The Boomerang Effect was his first novel. He lives in San Francisco with his family.

 

 

Giveaway:

 

Rafflecopter Link

 

 

Follow the Tour:

 

Blog tour schedule link: http://fantasticflyingbookclub.blogspot.com/2018/10/tour-schedule-your-own-worst-enemy-by.html

 

 

Thank you for stopping by today!

 

 

 

Advertisements

Author: confessionsofayareader

I'm Kristi. I'm a wife, mom, and grandma. I have been breeding leopard geckos for ten years. I love to read and have been trying to review more books (the reason for this blog besides wanting to talk about books with everyone). I also love music and going to concerts, mostly punk and pop punk.

5 thoughts on “Blog Tour for Your Own Worst Enemy by Gordon Jack (review and giveaway)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s